PDA

View Full Version : Help with my Sub box, Please.



ponchobot
12-06-2012, 12:34 AM
So i'm in the process of designing a box for my 3 Cerwin Vega Vmax 12"s. I have it down to the port now because all the sizes are the max that they can possibly be (33.5,27,15). I'm trying to tune my box currently to around 37hz and i have a port that is 4"x8" and it's 6.25in deep. Do i need the port to be larger? or is it alright at the size it is at now. This will be my first box. I'll try to post a picture.
Well, it won't let me post pictures because i'm new.

dragnix
12-06-2012, 12:53 AM
at 32sq. in. of port I would say you're on the low side of things.

mklett33
12-06-2012, 02:41 PM
Take the time to review this: http://www.caraudio.com/forums/enclosure-design-construction-help/560833-about-make-thread-about-box-design-read-first.html

Should help tons.

husker77
12-06-2012, 06:40 PM
I get 35.66hz for a tuning freq, but I don't have sub or brace displacement figured in, which a little less volume would raise the tuning some.