PDA

View Full Version : Are there really none?



Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 07:53 PM
SQ Double Dins?
I would like a double din for da looks and touch screeniness, but I need activeness and T/A...
Should I just stick with what I got and **** it up, or what? I'm not familiar at all with external active xovers or if you can have T/A outside of the hu as well...

Imtjnotu
11-29-2012, 08:00 PM
lol ofcourse not why do u think the mark up on them is so huge...fill it with cheap junk sell it for $800???????????????????????????



PROFIT

whitedragon551
11-29-2012, 08:03 PM
Alpine W200, W500, W900 plus the external processor that can be mounted in the dash board. There are some Japanese Alpine/Eclipse decks that you can get on eBay and have imported that have those options. However, you will need an FM expander as they wont get FM stations here.

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 08:10 PM
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/panny.jpg

Imtjnotu
11-29-2012, 08:16 PM
http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/panny.jpg

lol u kno he is talking about adouble din with a screen

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 08:20 PM
lol u kno he is talking about adouble din with a screen

Lol. I know. I was just throwing some DD SQ goodness out there.

Do want.

dragnix
11-29-2012, 08:22 PM
Alpine W200, W500, W900 plus the external processor that can be mounted in the dash board. There are some Japanese Alpine/Eclipse decks that you can get on eBay and have imported that have those options. However, you will need an FM expander as they wont get FM stations here.

yep, the add-ons are relatively cheap too. The units themselves however, are not

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 08:23 PM
Eff touchscreens.

Or here's one from my personal collection...



http://i848.photobucket.com/albums/ab45/taylorfade/1ba2a642.jpg

Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 08:28 PM
One day ill have to find out what the deal with vacuum tubes is...

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 09:32 PM
One day ill have to find out what the deal with vacuum tubes is...

Warmth, bro! Warmth!!!!

Honestly... just grab whatever DD that has the features you want and get an external DSP. That's what I'd do.

Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 09:45 PM
what kind of DSP? is it simple to use both a hu and a dsp, as in bypassing the hu's processing?

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 09:49 PM
what kind of DSP? is it simple to use both a hu and a dsp, as in bypassing the hu's processing?

It'll be laptop tuning, but it's easy once you learn the interface of whichever you go with. A 2 way active miniDSP (2x4) is only $99. What you'd do with the mini is use the front set of RCA's for the DSP and the sub out of the HU straight to the sub amp. Tune the fronts with the laptop and since you probably fiddle with the sub level the most, you can use the sub level on the HU or your remote or PAC knob.

So HU fronts -> miniDSP -> 4 channel
HU sub out -> sub amp.

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 09:52 PM
Just in case you're wondering...

miniDSP Kits | miniDSP (http://www.minidsp.com/products/minidspkits/2-x-in-4-x-out)

Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 10:03 PM
Just in case you're wondering...

miniDSP Kits | miniDSP (http://www.minidsp.com/products/minidspkits/2-x-in-4-x-out)

very cool thanks, is there anyway to have T/A?

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 10:12 PM
very cool thanks, is there anyway to have T/A?

For sure. That mini has time alignment in .5 millisecond incriments, iirc. Crossover points, selectable slopes, 31 band graphic or 7 band PEQ, polarity swap, switch back, independant driver control... I mean a crap ton of control for 99 friggin bucks.

Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 10:19 PM
and u set it all on the laptop? thats pretty cool, it would be a pain to change any settings but still pretty cool thing

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 10:23 PM
and u set it all on the laptop? thats pretty cool, it would be a pain to change any settings but still pretty cool thing

It's the nature of the beast, unfortunately. But honestly, how often are you like... "Oh, I think I need another millisecond on my passenger mid."? Lol.

You can make small adjustments on the fly from the HU if you need to. But I only ever mess with the sub level on a daily basis.

Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 10:34 PM
LOL ya T/A usually stays the same, and if i decide to go this route, i will write down all of my xovers pts, slopes, and t/a settings before hand. whats the difference between the balanced and unbalanced one?

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 10:43 PM
LOL ya T/A usually stays the same, and if i decide to go this route, i will write down all of my xovers pts, slopes, and t/a settings before hand. whats the difference between the balanced and unbalanced one?

RCA or speaker level inputs.

Of course... I'm sure there's more to it than that. Lol. I never did get the balanced vs unbalanced thing.

Fi-brations
11-29-2012, 10:49 PM
RCA or speaker level inputs.

Of course... I'm sure there's more to it than that. Lol. I never did get the balanced vs unbalanced thing.

ya looking at that all those specs is confusing lol, but i would much rather work with rcas than a million freaking speaker wires, so going from a hu with all these capabilities to this, did u notice any change in sound quality, pos or neg?

mylows10
11-29-2012, 11:05 PM
take a look at the clarion 702

TaylorFade
11-29-2012, 11:11 PM
ya looking at that all those specs is confusing lol, but i would much rather work with rcas than a million freaking speaker wires, so going from a hu with all these capabilities to this, did u notice any change in sound quality, pos or neg?

Used the mini on an OEM HU. It was truly night and day (obviously). I just run an 80prs active now. I'm considering going back to OEM + mini though.


take a look at the clarion 702

That's a nice deck. But single din.

mylows10
11-29-2012, 11:21 PM
Used the mini on an OEM HU. It was truly night and day (obviously). I just run an 80prs active now. I'm considering going back to OEM + mini though.



That's a nice deck. But single din.

the nx 702

GLN305
11-29-2012, 11:38 PM
the nx 702

x2...has all the features you need...T/A, EQ, 3-way Xover

Fi-brations
11-30-2012, 06:51 AM
the nx 702

looks really cool actually, definitely worth looking into...Why the hell does crutchfield have it for $230 more than sonic electronix, that seems like an even larger gap than usual

Bettr n' Revrse
11-30-2012, 06:59 AM
looks really cool actually, definitely worth looking into...Why the hell does crutchfield have it for $230 more than sonic electronix, that seems like an even larger gap than usual

Because Crutchfield...

zako
11-30-2012, 08:01 AM
SQ Double Dins?
I would like a double din for da looks and touch screeniness, but I need activeness and T/A...
Should I just stick with what I got and **** it up, or what? I'm not familiar at all with external active xovers or if you can have T/A outside of the hu as well...


JVC KW-R900BT is the closest thing new. It has time alignment, but no active crossover. Average equalizer. Alpine units that are compatible with imprint are probably your best bet for this.

mylows10
11-30-2012, 09:28 AM
Because the free stuff they say they are giving you isn't actually free I can prolly beat sonics price too

Fi-brations
11-30-2012, 09:44 AM
I think i would prefer to hunt for a Iva-w205 or 505 and a pxa-h701

trumpet
11-30-2012, 12:18 PM
looks really cool actually, definitely worth looking into...Why the hell does crutchfield have it for $230 more than sonic electronix, that seems like an even larger gap than usual

Because Crutchfield understands the race to 0 profits is not worth it, not just for their bottom line but for the industry as a whole.

I second the recommendation of the Clarion NX702. It's loaded to the max with features.