PDA

View Full Version : Building new substage in the Taurus looking for suggestions on box config.



SomeguyinPDX
11-16-2012, 03:04 PM
I'm getting ready to start buying components for my new sub stage. Before I start buying gear I wanted to check with the builders out there and get your opinion on what's going to give me the most output and air movement. The absolute biggest box that can fit is around 6-7 cu. ft. gross. I am not set on sub brand (Sundown,AB,Fi,SSA,Skarr,DC ect.) or number of speakers but I was thinking maybe 1-18", 2-15's or 4-12's or whatever works best out of the trunk. I will be running two RF T1500bdcp's (3000-3300rms total) My main goal is to bring out the lows as loud as possible, 28-34hz is the tuning range. I want it to just devastate me and my passengers. My last two substages have been 2-15's L7's sealed 1.8cu ea. then 2-10" vvx's ported with 1.8cu each. Although the ported 10's equaled the output of the sealed 15's it still wasn't enough for me. Any input or experience you can suggest is appreciated. Thanks

mylows10
11-16-2012, 03:07 PM
2 lvl 4 15's will be loud as hell

Dtrom
11-16-2012, 03:17 PM
For a trunk I'd do 2 15s. Sundown Zv3's or IA death penalty's.

pro-rabbit
11-16-2012, 03:42 PM
I would do a pair for 12s honestly. The likely hood of squeezing 2 15s in there is pretty minimal with out shorting the air space some in most cases. You could have a rather intricate enclosure designed/built to make it work though. Which is why I would stick with 2 12s. Far easier build and should net a very nice response for you.

SomeguyinPDX
11-17-2012, 12:50 AM
Two votes for 15's one vote for 12's. Looks like the 15's win! (with the right enclosure)

gckless
11-17-2012, 01:01 AM
I would do a pair for 12s honestly. The likely hood of squeezing 2 15s in there is pretty minimal with out shorting the air space some in most cases. You could have a rather intricate enclosure designed/built to make it work though. Which is why I would stick with 2 12s. Far easier build and should net a very nice response for you.

DC's like small boxes, you think he could fit a pair in 3ft net each? Might not be super optimal, but could he make it work?

OP, I'd listen to this guy, he builds boxes for a living. If you can fit the 15's, by all means do that ish!

SomeguyinPDX
11-19-2012, 01:37 PM
2653766315's will work. I have a good sized trunk, it's the trunk opening that is my only issue. The largest box that I can get through the trunk opening is 32" wide, 27" deep, 16" tall. If I slant/angle the face of the box back I can reduce the height and increase the depth conciderably. Here is a pic of another taurus 15" box (rough looking) but gives an idea of size and 8" aero port placement. The box in the pic was ran with subs forward port on drivers side.

Any suggestions to improve this setup are very welcome. (usually subs back, port back is optimal in my experience)

mklett33
11-19-2012, 01:58 PM
I have personally done, 2 - 15's with 3 cubic ft each (6 total) in a Taurus, it was nice but a HUGE, (let me say that again) HUGGGGGEEEEE pain in the :moon: . Do 2 -12's and give them all the room in the world to breathe. Again, like everything this is an opinion but I have had experience with this, and it was rough! If you do go the 2-15's route get lets of plastic sheeting because your going to be building within the trunk!

pro-rabbit
11-19-2012, 02:02 PM
2653766315's will work. I have a good sized trunk, it's the trunk opening that is my only issue. The largest box that I can get through the trunk opening is 32" wide, 27" deep, 16" tall. If I slant/angle the face of the box back I can reduce the height and increase the depth conciderably. Here is a pic of another taurus 15" box (rough looking) but gives an idea of size and 8" aero port placement. The box in the pic was ran with subs forward port on drivers side.

Any suggestions to improve this setup are very welcome. (usually subs back, port back is optimal in my experience)

The enclosure specs you listed only offer up a 6.5ft3 gross volume which is not all that much. I honestly think you would be happier with a pair of 12s in optimum space and port area.

---------- Post added at 01:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:01 PM ----------


I have personally done, 2 - 15's with 3 cubic ft each (6 total) in a Taurus, it was nice but a HUGE, (let me say that again) HUGGGGGEEEEE pain in the :moon: . Do 2 -12's and give them all the room in the world to breathe. Again, like everything this is an opinion but I have had experience with this, and it was rough! If you do go the 2-15's route get lets of plastic sheeting because your going to be building within the trunk!

That is what I was getting at. Not that it is impossible, but that it is a pita to try and make it fit while still having the correct volume for the enclosure.

mklett33
11-19-2012, 02:07 PM
That is what I was getting at. Not that it is impossible, but that it is a pita to try and make it fit while still having the correct volume for the enclosure.

Yes, ultimately I was disappointed, and wished I had gone the 2-12's route.

slim2fattycake
11-19-2012, 02:36 PM
12s. don't forget room for batteries and your amps.

SomeguyinPDX
11-19-2012, 08:55 PM
A bit off topic but, I was looking at Fi's website and saw they had the IB subs. Has anyone had any success mounting subs to a heavy duty baffle using the whole trunk as the enclosure? My trunk is 17cubes according to Ford.