PDA

View Full Version : Alpine IVE-W535HD Install Question



VaiFanatic
11-01-2012, 01:28 PM
Hey all, new member here,

I bought the Alpine IVE-W535HD yesterday to put into my 1984 Mercedes-Benz 500SE.

My question is, can I bypass the brake-safety features by simply not wiring them up?

Thanks!

ETA: I don't intend to watch any movies, so that's not the reason. It's a 28 year old car, and I'd rather not wire it up to the parking brake, and from what I've heard, you won't be able to adjust the equalizer (Bass, fade, balance, etc.), without this particular circuit being completed. Apparently you can't ground it out anymore due to an internal gyroscope.

If the video aspect was the only thing I'd be losing, then that would be quite okay with me.

VaiFanatic
11-01-2012, 07:42 PM
Just going to wire it up the normal way. Thanks though!

nas2344
12-12-2012, 08:18 AM
id love to know this is as well, i'm installing the same unit and was wondering what i could use to wire that parking brake? could i use a relay or hook it to the remote wire?

nas2344
12-14-2012, 02:41 PM
yeah i got the PAC Tr7 works like a charm and took like 10 minutes to wire up!

seatown1two
01-26-2013, 02:37 PM
Did anyone ever figure this out? Seems ridiculous that you wouldn't be able to adjust the sound settings.. I want this head unit but if it's not possible to bypass the brake safety thing I might have to look else where.

nas2344
01-26-2013, 02:45 PM
Yup all you need is the PAC TR7 to bypass the brake procedure, it's such an easy hook up

seatown1two
01-26-2013, 04:00 PM
So with the PAC TR7 hooked up, its like the brake procedure doesn't even exist? Also, how are you liking that unit?? Any pros/cons? Are there delays in the mp3 tag info/album art loading when you change tracks?

pickup1
01-26-2013, 04:26 PM
tr7 is the easy way...i used a momentary and a toggle cause im cheap.

codeman00
02-08-2013, 11:51 PM
The PAC TR7 Unit replaces any connection to the parking brake, etc. It works great.