PDA

View Full Version : Input sensiivity on processors?



fish1234
09-30-2012, 09:04 PM
I use the 3sixty.2 and was wondering. When setting up the input gains from the setup disk, it seems like I have to have the inputs on the 3sixty.2 very high. Is this common on all processors or just on the 3sixty.2?

quackhead
09-30-2012, 09:22 PM
it is just gain matching to your HU. If the Hu output voltage is low, you will be using a higher input gain. The good news is you should have enough output voltage from the 3Sixty to drive your amp(s) and you can get by with minimal gain on that end. Ample Headroom is a good thing.

fish1234
10-01-2012, 11:26 AM
My h/u has 4 volt pre-out and just figured it would be set a lot lower than where it appears to be now.

Another question I have is:

Amplifier: Arc Audio KS900.6, input sensitivity is 220mA - 3.5V
3sixty.2 has 5 V output, so would the 3sixty.2 output be too much for my amplifiers input after I match my h/u voltage to my input to my 3sixty.2?

maylar
10-01-2012, 12:41 PM
Yes. In your case you'll need to have the amp gain all the way down and use the processor's level controls to keep below 3.5V.

fish1234
10-01-2012, 12:54 PM
Yes. In your case you'll need to have the amp gain all the way down and use the processor's level controls to keep below 3.5V.

Which way/method would you suggest on finding 3.5V on the output of the 3sixty.2?

maylar
10-01-2012, 05:34 PM
Which way/method would you suggest on finding 3.5V on the output of the 3sixty.2?

You adjust the output of the processor for whatever power level you need from the amp. Basically using that instead of the amp's gain control. The same adjustment procedures apply (DMM, 'scope, bleeding ears, whatever your criteria is).