PDA

View Full Version : Alpine Imprint VS. Pioneer's Auto-EQ

groundpound4200
09-28-2012, 02:29 PM
Who has had experience with both? I've used Imprint several times and there's things I like and things I hate. Who has heard both and which did you like better? I'm in the market for a new CD player and not sure if I want to go Alpine or Pioneer.

TaylorFade
09-29-2012, 06:25 AM
I just Auto EQ'ed my 80prs like yesterday. It got it pretty close. The T/A was off center left, but that's an easy fix and the EQ was a little flat for my taste, but again, easy fix.

I was going to RTA my "ear tune" and then RTA the auto tune to compare them if you're interested.

I have no experience with Imprint though. Sorry.

whitedragon551
09-29-2012, 08:57 AM
With Imprint the issue is once it Imprints you cant change the settings.

What I have read is people will use Imprint to get a base line, make the changes manually to the settings and use it again to get closer. Then they will make changes manually again, and on the 3rd time they let Imprint save.

groundpound4200
10-01-2012, 01:32 PM
Interesting... anyone else have input. Taylor, I would be very interested in seeing your results.

Shinju
10-01-2012, 02:07 PM
You are better off using a RTA and centering your frequencies on your own.

Auto EQ is meh at best.

groundpound4200
10-01-2012, 02:38 PM
No access to an RTA.

Here's my thought process. I had an Alpine CDA-9887 w/ Imprint in the past and really liked it. I got a Honda Pilot w/ factory Nav which didn't allow me to install a CD player so I sold it and bought an OEM integration unit w/ Imprint again. Now, I bought a second vehicle (2008 Maxima) cuz I'm ballin and want to put a deck in it. I've narrowed it down to buying a used CDA-9887 w/ Imprint or a brand new DEH-80PRS. The DEH comes with everything for Auto EQ, buying the Alpine would mean I'd have to find the deck and the IMPRINT module.

Shinju
10-01-2012, 02:59 PM
No access to an RTA.