PDA

View Full Version : Mechman 220 Amp Alt for Rockford T2500??



bigtrav101
09-19-2012, 09:45 PM
Will a Mechman 220 Amp alternator be enough for the Rockford T2500-1bdcp? Just want to be 100% sure before I buy it. The birthsheet says the amp will do 3532 watts @ 2ohms and thats the ohm level I'm running it at. Thanks everybody.

rebelfromva
09-19-2012, 09:49 PM
Couple extra batts too. What's the bs say @1?

bigtrav101
09-19-2012, 09:51 PM
@ 1ohm it is 3617...I was thinking on one kinetik 2400...so I should get more than 1 of those?

Dtrom
09-20-2012, 12:39 AM
That amps rated 1500 rms @ 2 ohm and 2500 @ 1. I know it's underrated but it is not putting out 3.5k.

mylows10
09-20-2012, 12:50 AM
what is your stock alt size ?

serjr711.
09-20-2012, 02:47 AM
That amps rated 1500 rms @ 2 ohm and 2500 @ 1. I know it's underrated but it is not putting out 3.5k. Are you for real smart guy? This amp puts out that same power @ 1 and 2 ohm.

rebelfromva
09-20-2012, 03:04 AM
Are you for real smart guy? This amp puts out that same power @ 1 and 2 ohm.

This. Bdcp. Constant power series.

bigtrav101
09-20-2012, 09:03 AM
The amp does 2071x1 @ 4ohms, 3532 x1 @ 2ohms, and 3617x1 @ 1ohm...got the birthsheet right here...my alternator right now is 55 amps (1972 Cutlass Supreme) so I def know I have to upgrade it either way...

NoLoud4U
09-20-2012, 09:20 AM
The amp does 2071x1 @ 4ohms, 3532 x1 @ 2ohms, and 3617x1 @ 1ohm...got the birthsheet right here...my alternator right now is 55 amps (1972 Cutlass Supreme) so I def know I have to upgrade it either way...

Thats in a perfect world, pefect voltage, playing a freq you never will with the amp.

bigtrav101
09-20-2012, 09:35 AM
If you say so...thats why I'm trying to upgrade...the amp is going to give me 3k at 2 Ohms and thats what I need.

Julian
09-20-2012, 09:44 AM
You should get around 2700-2800w with a good amount of power supply. We clamped ours around 2700 watts dropping to 11v and 2800 at 12v. I would not expect a whole thousand watts out of it though.

bigtrav101
09-20-2012, 09:48 AM
@ Julian...thanks, thats plenty enough for me...3000 watts is the total rms for my subs...

Dtrom
09-20-2012, 09:54 AM
Are you for real smart guy? This amp puts out that same power @ 1 and 2 ohm.

Didn't know they did the same at 1 and 2.. Still, it's not gonna put out 3 k regardless.