PDA

View Full Version : Build For Chevy S10 Extendcab Ported Box for SWS-12D4



Erichhart
09-18-2012, 09:42 PM
Hey guys, New to the forum.

Im going to be doing a build tommmorrow on my free time. I've been trying to design a sub box for my truck.

Its an extend cab S10 and Has a 12" Sealed box but I want to go ported. I have the demmsions I Couldn't figure it out using the REaudio box calculator to fit nicely in my Truck.

I plan on building to the stock specs for this Type S. I wanted to know if anyone has built a box for this sub. Its the newer version. I think has almost the specs of the old type R's

Here is what the recommend

External Box Dimensions 22.5" x 12.5" x 14"
Gross Internal Volume 1.67 ft
Vent Area 12.5²ft (12.5" x 1")
Vent length 18"
Vent Displacment 0.22 ft
Net Internal Volume 1.4 ft
D2 :32 hz, 4.4dB

I would give you the link to it but it doesn't allow me to :( sorry






Heck I would be willing to force that square box in there too. Any help would be appreciated.

mylows10
09-18-2012, 09:46 PM
i have built over 11 different boxes for my old 95 s10 and was the loudest in the states with out a wall or cut thru.you got one or two subs ,or have you bought them yet,also how much power you wanna run and do you want just loud bass or it to sound good too. what year s10

Erichhart
09-19-2012, 01:24 AM
I got 1 12" Type S, Its being powered up at on a 2ohm load at 680 RMS The amp is a JBL 2 channel Amp (I'll get the specs in the morning.)

I also have an alpine M500 that I can use from my other car.

Its a 2000 Chevy S10

I like my loud bass to show off. But I got to have my sound quality.

I already have my Mids and High's done (Pioneer 2 way 6 1/2 door speakers and 3 way dash 4x6's) Powered by a 4 channel pioneer 760w amp.

I'll send pics in the morning

Erichhart
09-19-2012, 03:20 PM
I just purchased some MDF. I will post pics in a bit

mylows10
09-19-2012, 03:29 PM
dump the 2 ways , get components .do a ported box 34 hertz subs up port up to the drivers side will be the loudest and sound the best.also i'd do aero ports not a slot.

Erichhart
09-19-2012, 06:12 PM
Ok so I got a tube from my pop's today. Its about 1.25" diamater and about a foot long.

I made a box earlier with these dimensions but because of the L port I lost Internal Volume so right now here are my specs.


W 24"
H 14.5"
Top Depth 8"
Bottom Depth 12"

3/4 MDF

Internal Volume is about 1.269 ft

But I removed the L port just now and used a box calculator and found it to be 1.439.

Should I just make this box sealed and make another or could I use this tube that my dad gave me to fix it?

If I do I place it on the side or just shoot up ward?