PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer 80prs is garbage.



TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 07:50 AM
Finally went active with my 80. Had been rather enjoying it on HU power running the OEM fronts in standard mode. Got my 4 channel in, installed my Rainbows, sealed and deadened doors, blah blah blah. Spent some real time in the car.

Switched to network mode, powered it up and got settled in to do some critical listening and tune the crap out of it when BAM!! Unbelievable, overwhelming, ferocious engine noise. What... the... ****.

Me being me, I go back over everything hoping against hope that it's not the HU. Everything looks good. I know immediately what to do. Lame *** garbage Pioneer needs the stupid fuckin RCAs grounded to the chassis. Really?

And it's still not completely gone. And let me just say that I have NEVER had engine noise in any car I've ever had in any of the installs that I've done. None. Daddy don't roll like that. So, ANY engine noise is unacceptable to me.

And even if one of you knows how to get rid of the rest of it, I thnk it's pretty lame that I have to utilize band aid fixes to eliminate it.

I want a refund for this piece of junk. Not a satisfied customer.

CAT MAN
08-25-2012, 08:01 AM
meh

Flex68
08-25-2012, 08:05 AM
rubbish

05fronty
08-25-2012, 08:09 AM
stinky cheese

PHD - USA
08-25-2012, 08:18 AM
must have blown the pico somehow, and grounding the rcas doesn't completely fix it, you need to open er' up and solder that pico fuse lol

TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 08:23 AM
must have blown the pico somehow, and grounding the rcas doesn't completely fix it, you need to open er' up and solder that pico fuse lol

If I open it up, I'm going "Office Space" on it and getting the drz9255 like I should have in the first place.

... but just for shits and giggles... where is this *******, lame ***, bullshit, god foresaken pico fuse and what the **** do I need to do with it?

Imtjnotu
08-25-2012, 08:23 AM
80prs doesnt have a pico....and i have 0 engine noise from this deck....taylor fail again

TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 08:34 AM
80prs doesnt have a pico....and i have 0 engine noise from this deck....taylor fail again

Bet you your Clarus that if I do a direct swap with a Walmart HU that I would have zero noise.

Imtjnotu
08-25-2012, 08:39 AM
Bet you your Clarus that if I do a direct swap with a Walmart HU that I would have zero noise.

only if ur willing to come pull the set out urself....

TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 08:52 AM
only if ur willing to come pull the set out urself....

Deal. You think I'm skeerred of the 619/858? Sheeeeeit. I'm a PB OG.

Boomsday
08-25-2012, 09:11 AM
pico fuse is 100% of the time user error

TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 09:16 AM
pico fuse is 100% of the time user error

If, in fact, the 80 has a pico fuse and "user error" means plugging in RCAs, then yeah... totally my fault for hooking it up the same way I did the other 100 HU installs I've done that didn't have noise. The 100% user error is my buying Pioneer in the first place.

whitedragon551
08-25-2012, 09:31 AM
If I open it up, I'm going "Office Space" on it and getting the drz9255 like I should have in the first place.

... but just for shits and giggles... where is this *******, lame ***, bullshit, god foresaken pico fuse and what the **** do I need to do with it?

Its not a fuse. Its a small diode that pops. It has a P next to it on the circuit board. You just need to drop a dab of solder on it to bridge the connections.

http://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/pioneer-headunit-pico-fuse-fix-*56k*-75438/

Husker
08-25-2012, 01:28 PM
Alpine ftw

Suicide Bobb
08-25-2012, 02:02 PM
Taylorfail, v.5

TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 02:38 PM
Alpine ftw

:nod:


Taylorfail, v.5

Pioneer fail v.infinty

audiobaun
08-25-2012, 02:44 PM
Eclipse FTW:)

pro-rabbit
08-25-2012, 02:45 PM
This is exactly why I don't personally run Pioneer units.

cyn
08-25-2012, 02:54 PM
Every Pioneer I have ever own has had engine noise... the cheap $40 dual decks from walmart doesn't even have engine noise. I threw out 5 pioneer decks about a year ago because of that... they was cheaper ones but, even the one high end one i've owned did the same thing.

hispls
08-25-2012, 03:16 PM
ALL head units these days are cheaply made in China/Taiwan, and disposeable. I buy them with full intention that they'll be worthless in a year or less.

That being said, I've been doing Kenwoods for 4-5 years and just got into a Pioneer last fall and I'm really enjoying it.

chillin
08-25-2012, 06:18 PM
ALL head units these days are cheaply made in China/Taiwan, and disposeable. I buy them with full intention that they'll be worthless in a year or less.

That being said, I've been doing Kenwoods for 4-5 years and just got into a Pioneer last fall and I'm really enjoying it.

I just switched to a kenwood excelon x995 after getting pissed off about the pico in my 880. Haven't had a chance to install it yet, but i bet the lack of alt whine will more than make up for any loss of sq.

splwj47
08-25-2012, 06:27 PM
my 80prs did the same thing, engine noise like a b1tch, so i sent it in for warranty. got my new one a month or so ago havent installed it yet but apparently you have to disconnect the battery to install it so you dont fry the headunit while hooking everything up. kinda of a crappy deal and is a joke. but the headunit is pretty sweet. if my new 80 has the same issue i wont ever run pioneer again.

TheUnderFighter
08-25-2012, 06:39 PM
my 80prs did the same thing, engine noise like a b1tch, so i sent it in for warranty. got my new one a month or so ago havent installed it yet but apparently you have to disconnect the battery to install it so you dont fry the headunit while hooking everything up. kinda of a crappy deal and is a joke. but the headunit is pretty sweet. if my new 80 has the same issue i wont ever run pioneer again.

Uhm... yea. You should always have the battery disconnected when doing wiring.

DonH
08-25-2012, 06:44 PM
Welcome to pioneer... Luckily my 4200 doesnt have it. Sorry to hear it!

Kangaroux
08-25-2012, 06:55 PM
I never disconnect the batt when doing headunit installs, just unplug the harness and wire it up that way then plug it all in at once. With that being said, I've had this pioneer for months and I've pulled it out and switched around numerous plugs yada yada and don't have the slightest bit of engine noise...you're just doing it wrong :fyi:

Dr. Slam
08-25-2012, 07:09 PM
No engine noise coming from mine either. I grounded the rcas and ran a second ground from a screw on the head unit to the frame of the car.

TaylorFade
08-25-2012, 07:55 PM
I knew I would catch some shiz for "doing it wrong," but IMO... Pioneer is doing it wrong.

I'm not a noob. I've never had engine noise problems. Other fantastic HU have no noise issues. And some of them happen to be competively priced. Pioneer is not the only dog in the fight with features and quality at this price point.

40oz
08-25-2012, 08:25 PM
Kenwood :peace:

Dr. Slam
08-25-2012, 08:36 PM
I knew I would catch some shiz for "doing it wrong," but IMO... Pioneer is doing it wrong.

I'm not a noob. I've never had engine noise problems. Other fantastic HU have no noise issues. And some of them happen to be competively priced. Pioneer is not the only dog in the fight with features and quality at this price point.

I agree with you. Why wouldn't they fix this issue since its been a common problem for them for years. They have to know about it but just don't give a ****

thevic24
08-25-2012, 09:07 PM
No more Pioneer HU's for me now because of this. I do actually like them and they way they sound but they just seem to be way to temperamental
in this regard. My last Pioneer did this even with the harness disconnected!

Gave it to my pop's for his truck....sounds just fine on HU power though but don't try and use the RCA's...

Back to Alpine now and it will stay that way until Pioneer fixes this issue....this lame picco fuse is not needed....and IS a problem...

Jdm94Coupe
08-25-2012, 10:01 PM
i really enjoyed my eclipse head unit when i had it, i think im going to upgrade my alpine iva-205 to a eclipse double din when i get the money. i just love their units and features.

oh yea, and i LOVED my alpine 9887 when i had it too, great HU!

Why So Cereal?
08-25-2012, 10:10 PM
Guess I'll stick to stock HU's and external processing then.

Never really cared much for other HU's than Pioneer.

Bettr n' Revrse
08-25-2012, 10:22 PM
Mehhh Id probably only get a P99 if I go Pio

West
08-25-2012, 10:23 PM
Mehhh Id probably only get a P99 if I go Pio

no pico on the p99

Bettr n' Revrse
08-25-2012, 10:24 PM
no pico on the p99

Yep

gunz4me2
08-25-2012, 10:28 PM
Grr, I did not want to hear this. Guess what HU I am still waiting on to arrive?

Also, I was riding passenger in a friend's Tahoe when his Pico fuse popped. Want to know what caused it? His faulty AC clutch that was cycling like a mofo. The shop that installed his HU didn't believe it either...

splwj47
08-25-2012, 10:38 PM
Uhm... yea. You should always have the battery disconnected when doing wiring.

lol to isntall a head unit..... iv installed lots of headunits the same way and never had the same issue. and with any other unit iv ever ran i could swap rcas without frying something internally.

hispls
08-25-2012, 11:56 PM
My last 3 Kenwood's all developed some sort of internal issue after a year or so, caused horendous noise. The first one that went took down my tweets and 4" mids with it.

RAM_Designs
08-26-2012, 12:06 AM
Eclipse FTW:)

Bingo, Rockwall peeps know what's up.

Suicide Bobb
08-26-2012, 04:43 AM
I hate on Pioneer all the time for the Pico. You know what's funny though? I used to run a high end Eclipse, had some engine noise. I swapped it for the Pioneer P1R, engine noise disappeared. Still doing fine to this day. But for the most part, Pioneer kinda ***** when it comes to making reliable headunits. I'll stick with Alpine/Eclipse/Clarion

subzero
08-26-2012, 04:48 AM
MEH. that pico fuse does its job, vs having to replace the whole rca pre out board. I just had a pico fuse fixed on a deck I bought. and also had a workover on it to make sure all is well and it only cost $35. not too shabie eh....

mlstrass
08-26-2012, 05:21 AM
Installed PRS80 about a month ago and it's working just fine. I do prefer the 880 though as it's a little more user friendly when setting things up...

West
08-26-2012, 08:51 AM
Installed PRS80 about a month ago and it's working just fine. I do prefer the 880 though as it's a little more user friendly when setting things up...

How does the sound compare?

keep_hope_alive
08-26-2012, 04:58 PM
Alpine has never given me issues. Granted, they offer fewer features for the same price... which should tell you something about how much money they spend making the Pioneer HU's.

you get what you pay for. $300 for a HU that should cost $900 means a lot of corners were cut. A good example is the Alpine PXA-H701. Awesome features, awful power supply and output section. Noisy, not in an alt-whine way, but in digital processing noise and general hiss. A poor-man's F#1. I sound better without the H701, despite losing the EQ and extra T/A channels. Course, I spent more time on speaker enclosure and acoustics - to fix what I didn't like with the install and not an EQ band-aid.

wenn_du_weinst
08-26-2012, 05:08 PM
pioneer is garbage.
problem solved
DENON CAR CD PLAYER DCT-A100 STEREO DCT-A1 DCT-Z1 | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/DENON-CAR-CD-PLAYER-DCT-A100-STEREO-DCT-A1-DCT-Z1-/230831584534?pt=Car_Audio_In_Dash_Receivers&hash=item35bea27516)

TaylorFade
08-26-2012, 05:10 PM
pioneer is garbage.
problem solved
DENON CAR CD PLAYER DCT-A100 STEREO DCT-A1 DCT-Z1 | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/DENON-CAR-CD-PLAYER-DCT-A100-STEREO-DCT-A1-DCT-Z1-/230831584534?pt=Car_Audio_In_Dash_Receivers&hash=item35bea27516)

I've been eyeing that deck. Sick. Anybody order from over there before?

Doesn't really matter. I'm getting a 9255.

West
08-26-2012, 05:13 PM
I've been eyeing that deck. Sick. Anybody order from over there before?

Doesn't really matter. I'm getting a 9255.

That deck looks neat, wish it had 3 sets of RCA outs.

wenn_du_weinst
08-26-2012, 05:13 PM
those sound good as well. I believe McIntosh oem'd them

West
08-26-2012, 05:19 PM
Im sure they do.
I like time alignment and other new features. If I had a car with awesome acoustics I would prefer a deck like that.

kramer_212
08-26-2012, 06:16 PM
80prs doesnt have a pico....and i have 0 engine noise from this deck....taylor fail again

yep ^

Julian
08-26-2012, 06:24 PM
I have noise with my 880PRS..but granted EVERY headunit I've had has made noise but it's not horrible.

most newer fords share a common ground with everything wired up front which can cause a good deal of noise.

05fronty
08-26-2012, 07:37 PM
love my excelon

gunz4me2
10-02-2012, 02:15 AM
My DEH-80PRS is going back tomorrow. I did the textbook perfect install, and I STILL got noise from the HU. Until Pioneer fixes the pico fuse problem, I'm crossing them off my list. Then there is the issue of the face washing out in the glare of an overcast day as well as that annoying beep every time I do something from the steering wheel controls. Either I expected too much or disabling that GD beep is too much to ask.

Oh well, I will chalk the restocking fee up as a mistake and a lesson learned. Stay away from Pioneer decks!

RAM_Designs
10-02-2012, 02:27 AM
pioneer is garbage.
problem solved
DENON CAR CD PLAYER DCT-A100 STEREO DCT-A1 DCT-Z1 | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/DENON-CAR-CD-PLAYER-DCT-A100-STEREO-DCT-A1-DCT-Z1-/230831584534?pt=Car_Audio_In_Dash_Receivers&hash=item35bea27516)

Now that I'm seriously thinking of ditching active setups for good, I need to buy one of these raw old school gems.

Julian
10-02-2012, 02:36 AM
Switched to the KDC-996 and it has worse noise than the 880prs ever had. The BT is a cool addition, but the noise is 10x worse now.Worst alt whine I've had in my car ever.

gunz4me2
10-02-2012, 02:45 AM
I have a Clarion DXZ785USB that I am going to put in tomorrow, just to have some tunes while I figure out what I am going to do next. If the noise turns out to be the Alpine PDX V9, you can bank on me pointing blame at the appropriate culprit!

EDIT: A cliffs for anyone who doesn't know me... The only thing I hate worse than the Pioneer Pico fuse would be the first generation PDX amplifiers that were noisier than whistle in a wind tunnel.

cyn
10-02-2012, 03:00 AM
Now that I'm seriously thinking of ditching active setups for good, I need to buy one of these raw old school gems.

Got an eclipse 5303R for sale man lol

Imtjnotu
10-02-2012, 04:25 AM
Wait Taylor ur from Pacific Beach!!??!?!?

ewadz3006
10-02-2012, 07:38 AM
Switched to the KDC-996 and it has worse noise than the 880prs ever had. The BT is a cool addition, but the noise is 10x worse now.Worst alt whine I've had in my car ever.

Mine too.
You also mentioned fords having a common ground? Is there a way to rectify this?

shadow
10-02-2012, 08:43 AM
Don't use the autos wire'n harness ground... Run a ground from ur head unit to say ur firewall...
Thats what I do... Too much stuff ran to those common grounds...
Mine too.
You also mentioned fords having a common ground? Is there a way to rectify this?

xmakeafistx
10-02-2012, 10:11 AM
didn't realize I was browsing old bread.

d77543020
10-02-2012, 11:06 AM
must have blown the pico somehow, and grounding the rcas doesn't completely fix it, you need to open er' up and solder that pico fuse lol
anybody has pics on how to do this

PHD - USA
10-02-2012, 12:03 PM
There is a thread somewhere on diyma on how to do it on an 880prs, but I doubt it on the 80

bhsdriller
10-02-2012, 12:08 PM
search

thegreatestpenn
10-02-2012, 12:13 PM
MEH. that pico fuse does its job, vs having to replace the whole rca pre out board. I just had a pico fuse fixed on a deck I bought. and also had a workover on it to make sure all is well and it only cost $35. not too shabie eh....

x 1million. you thinking from a consumer perspective and that is normal. Now look from pioneer's persective: whole boards for HUs are shorted out from stupid customers that plug/unplug rcas all crazy and leave bare rca ends to touch grounds and such. It is a SAFETY PRECAUtioN AND if you made it pop you could have just as easily shorted out your whole deck. I'm assuming they started this once they brought decks to Walmart since Pioneer knew more wannabe installers would be messing up their products. THE PICO IS A GOOD THING. it is annoying BUT SO WHAT? FIX AND KEEP SQING

NFrazier
10-02-2012, 12:33 PM
Even if it was the Pico fuse, it blows due to an error on the installer. I've installed countless Pioneers over the years and have NEVER blown a pico fuse on a unit.

SourDeez
10-02-2012, 01:08 PM
You know what else I hate about these headunits? How ******* slow the menu's are. I cant stand the menu lag, or navigating the menus at all.

bhsdriller
10-02-2012, 01:11 PM
You know what else I hate about these headunits? How ******* slow the menu's are. I cant stand the menu lag, or navigating the menus at all.

I thought they were quick

wickedwitt
10-02-2012, 01:18 PM
I thought they were quick

I can pick the exact song I want out of 16,000 in about 10 sec. Yeah, I'd say that's quick.

SourDeez
10-02-2012, 01:18 PM
Well I have the P9400BH. Same internals/software/ I assume menu wise as the 80prs and I ******* hate the menus compared to my old pioneers

Looks nice though.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/PUSA/Images/Product%20Images/Car/DEH-P9400BH_angle1.jpg

treesive
10-02-2012, 04:26 PM
I love pioneer decks. I have owned around five of them with the current being the 80prs and have only had the pico blow on one of them which happened to be the first deck I ever installed and bought (P8MP)

gunz4me2
10-04-2012, 06:22 PM
Well, I must correct my previous statement. There is absolutely NOTHING wrong with my Pioneer DEH-80PRS. After lots, and lots of troubleshooting, ALL noise issues point to the Alpine PDX V9. I swapped HUs, still had the hiss and turn on/off pop. I put a switch between the +12v and the remote turn-on lead, still had the pop with absolutely nothing else connected to the PDX V9 (Edit: except the speakers that is). Connected an iPod to the RCAs and as soon as it got a little signal, the amplifier began to hiss. Replaced the PDX V9 with a known working 4 channel Lunar L450, no more hiss or turn on pop. There is an ever so slight turn off click, but I think that is the HU shutting down before the amp.

I have to give credit where credit is due, the pico fuse didn't actually pop like I initially thought it had.

NFrazier
10-10-2012, 11:40 AM
Well, I must correct my previous statement. There is absolutely NOTHING wrong with my Pioneer DEH-80PRS. After lots, and lots of troubleshooting, ALL noise issues point to the Alpine PDX V9. I swapped HUs, still had the hiss and turn on/off pop. I put a switch between the +12v and the remote turn-on lead, still had the pop with absolutely nothing else connected to the PDX V9 (Edit: except the speakers that is). Connected an iPod to the RCAs and as soon as it got a little signal, the amplifier began to hiss. Replaced the PDX V9 with a known working 4 channel Lunar L450, no more hiss or turn on pop. There is an ever so slight turn off click, but I think that is the HU shutting down before the amp.

I have to give credit where credit is due, the pico fuse didn't actually pop like I initially thought it had.

Wish I knew you had a V9, coulda told you to check that first. :) I am proud of you that you actually came on and admitted that it wasn't the radio. Most wouldn't.

Iosias
10-10-2012, 12:16 PM
Good to know considering I plan to order one soon.

PHD - USA
10-22-2012, 11:33 AM
I didn't read through the whole thread, but just in case not everybody knew, they did away with the pico fuse on the 80prs, instead they put a capacitor in line with the ground that would hopefully eliminate that horrid noise, yet still have the same effect as the fuse. It didn't work, it still has that noise, though it is far less than the normal pico sound. I took my unit apart this weekend and found this out.

Dirtrider4eva
10-22-2012, 12:08 PM
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/general-discussion/526316-check-headunit-ish-out.html revert to the first two pics. pico fuse. ended up dropping a bead of sodder over it and no issues.

PHD - USA
10-22-2012, 12:19 PM
The 80 is different than previous pioneer units....

HCCA
10-26-2012, 11:17 PM
ThegreatestPenn, is right on. I had noise froma Kraco unit in the '80's. Poor grounding. I've had everything from a Yamaha
YCT-925, Alpine 7909, Kenwood, pioneer, etc, etc, etc....the only time I have EVER had noise problems is when I don't have proper grounding. I have a Pioneer DEH-P800PRS...no noise. No Pico fuse issue, nothing. It's been operating for 3 years without issue. Even through 3 months of 100+ degree heat!

I don't know how bad people must be F'ing up, but I can't seem to make the same kind of mistakes.