PDA

View Full Version : what would you do?



Ryde _Or_Die
04-01-2004, 11:24 PM
Well I have a set of CDT components up front and a set of CDT coaxials in the rear. I have a 4 channel amp thats not strong enough for the components or clean enough. So I am going to get a better amp for the components. Now keep in mind that in the rear I found the sound to be coming TOO much from the front only. I am thinking of adding another set of coaxials in the rear and running all those off the 4 channel amp and using the better amp for the front. Or I might just get a better 4 channel and stick with what I have? What would you do? Also, the 4 channel can be taken back to the zeb if I want.

Moe Lester
04-02-2004, 12:05 AM
I say return your not so great 4 channel, and buy a really nice one that does maybe 75x4 or 100x4 and set the gains properly and get it all sounding how you want it.

nweibley
04-02-2004, 12:19 AM
Tampa, FL eh?

I just put eurofits (CL-61s but shollower) and CL-5X coaxials in a ML330 last weekend, with an Avionixx Class T 125x4 amp, and it freaking screams!

If the owner wouldn't mind, I could let you listen to it if it would help you decide.

Ryde _Or_Die
04-02-2004, 12:33 AM
Well my current amp is a profile CA640 (75x4rms) but it isn't clean enough because my x-overs are cutting out my tweeters real quick. I am looking for a 100+rms x 4 amp right now. Was looking at the RF 801x or maybe the 850x. How much is that Avionixx?

Ryde _Or_Die
04-02-2004, 12:37 AM
What about this amp? Is it clean and put out at least the rated RMS power?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3088494768&category=4950

nweibley
04-02-2004, 12:47 AM
http://www.avionixxusa.com/ep/products.htm

Yes, that avionixx amp will sound very clean and do at least it's rated power.

Thomas (my friend) has an AXT 800.4 (Class T, the early tripath chips were considered noisy, but not so now).... his speakers get loud, very loud. I wish he had a better deck, but as is: using no additional daplifiers his car sounds clean and crisp. He is probably adding a sub in a little while, but for now, it is a HUGE improvement over the premium mercedes premium speakers.

nweibley
04-02-2004, 12:51 AM
What do you mean your x-overs are cutting out your tweeters real quick? If you are speaking of distortion when trying to gain the system up a bit, make sure there isn't a strand of copper on your equalizer jumpering the tweeter and the woofer's signal. I had this problem on the CDT X-overs, and I need to wrap each wire in electrical tape or solder them, but I haven't had time yet. You may want to check on that though, if it seems like the tweeters are breaking up at too low of volumes.

Ryde _Or_Die
04-02-2004, 09:52 AM
If I have it turned up very loud it will sound nice (still not loud enough for me) for a couple minutes and then I lose my high highs. Someone told me if the gains were too high or the amp wasn't clean enough the CDT's x-over will cut out the tweeters to protect them. I was only giving the components 75rms at the most. I turned the gains down some and it still did it so I figure the amp isn't clean enough.

Moe Lester
04-02-2004, 11:13 AM
That avionixx is the amp ive got and it is unbelievable. Ive got it hooked to some focal polyglass speakers and it is VERY clean, VERY loud, and definately does AT LEAST its rated RMS power. Its very solid and pretty heavy too. I bought it from the same guy on ebay actually, good service.

Bavarian3
04-03-2004, 02:51 AM
If I have it turned up very loud it will sound nice (still not loud enough for me) for a couple minutes and then I lose my high highs. Someone told me if the gains were too high or the amp wasn't clean enough the CDT's x-over will cut out the tweeters to protect them. I was only giving the components 75rms at the most. I turned the gains down some and it still did it so I figure the amp isn't clean enough.

what do u mean the amp isnt CLEAN enough. hooking up another amp to ur system isnt going to make a difference. u will still haev the same problem. figure out ur problem and fix it. try turning the treble down on ur head unit. I run a profile amp to my crystal componenet and have never had such problems.

Ryde _Or_Die
04-03-2004, 01:57 PM
Why should I have to turn down the treble? I only want highs from my components. I think if I get an amp that puts out more power and turn the gains down I should be fine, right?

tobz
04-04-2004, 06:03 PM
Ok.. first off, if you reply to someone smarter than you.. use a little more respect.

Capone knows his stuff.

I too run profile amps for my comps, and they get really loud and sound incredible. When you run a high quality component set... you WILL get a lot of highs.. by putting your treble up to the max (or even close), you are probably still getting TOO Much high pitched noise and it probably sounds like crap.

The profile amps (or just about any amp for that matter) puts out power that is "plentY clean" a watt is a watt. As long as the THD is low enough (which it is), you're giving it clean power, and your problem is elsewhere.

You are probably underpowering your components, yes... but there is also functions called "fade" built into your head unit that can help .....

Ryde _Or_Die
04-04-2004, 08:20 PM
Well first off I was having an attitude by any means. I am just wondering why I need to turn down the treble or anything else really since I'm not giving the components enough power even. I really just want more power to work with I think. Then I can turn the gains down and still get plenty of power to the comps and not work the amp too hard. Does that sound good?

tobz
04-04-2004, 08:25 PM
Yeah, no worries, I'm just a crabby college student that works too much. It's all good. Yeah, it usually doesn't hurt to have an amp with plenty of power, and keep the gains way, way down. That's the way I personally run my stuff, it sounds better and I don't "blow" things very often that way.

T.J.

Ryde _Or_Die
04-05-2004, 01:18 PM
Yeah, no worries, I'm just a crabby college student that works too much. It's all good. Yeah, it usually doesn't hurt to have an amp with plenty of power, and keep the gains way, way down. That's the way I personally run my stuff, it sounds better and I don't "blow" things very often that way.

T.J.



Thats what I'm talking about.

Man I was looking at your setup and its pretty close to what mine will be. I have the CDT comps, CDT coaxials, 2 profile amps (CA640, CA600) and I'm waiting on my e12k.44 right now. How many watts are you giving it and how does it sound?

Bigrick31
05-09-2004, 06:55 PM
hey i got a question sorry dont mean to jack your thread or anything but i was wondering im running 2 cdt hd 6.5 components up front and will be running eith cdt hd 4x6 or 6x9 3 ways in the back those 4 speakers are for my mids i want 4 speakers for my highs i was gunna stick with cdt if i were to use a lower class cdt component set for my highs would it affect the sq of my vehicle or should i get some hds for the highs as well?

Ryde _Or_Die
05-09-2004, 08:51 PM
I don't understand, how are components and 3 ways for mids only and not highs?

sumone
05-09-2004, 10:31 PM
ryde_or_die, you still having problems with the tweeters cutting out? got a question for you - how are you connecting your wires (from the amp->speaker wire->crossover)?

sumone
05-10-2004, 02:58 PM
underpowering them is not the problem. the problem is distortion.

Ryde _Or_Die
05-10-2004, 04:49 PM
To be honest I think the problem is solved. I found that one of the woofers from the components wasn't putting out anything so I took the door panel off and one of the wires was off and touching the other terminal and cutting my amp out. I don't know why, but now the tweeters don't cut out. I really think it has something to do with something else I read on here about only using one high pass filter, from the amp OR from the HU. I was using both to get just highs and it apparently doesn't work well. Everything is fine now, just would like the highs/mids to be louder. I have a kicker comp vr and it is pretty loud and almost over powers the highs.