PDA

View Full Version : 8in vs 2-6in aeroport for 18



bgowdy31
08-17-2012, 09:44 PM
As title says.... I jus got ahold of a 8in aero.
Just looking for some input. I was told 2 6s is probly to much and 1 8 would be better...

Jus curious...
Thanks

pro-rabbit
08-17-2012, 09:47 PM
2 6" was said to be to much? Who is telling you that?

bgowdy31
08-17-2012, 09:58 PM
Just people talking. It might have been that 1 big 8" would be more efficient. If thats wrong pls inlightin me

bgowdy31
08-17-2012, 10:12 PM
2 6" was said to be to much? Who is telling you that?

School me pls

kushy_dreams
08-17-2012, 10:32 PM
I would do a 10in port for an 18, I'm gonna use an 8in for my dd 2515

mazdakid
08-17-2012, 10:37 PM
Just switched out my 2 6" aeros for an 8". Just fixed my 18 a few minutes ago though so havent gotten to try it yet.

bgowdy31
08-17-2012, 10:50 PM
Just switched out my 2 6" aeros for an 8". Just fixed my 18 a few minutes ago though so havent gotten to try it yet.

Kewl... Let me kno how it turns out

bgowdy31
08-18-2012, 04:06 AM
Bump

Kangaroux
08-18-2012, 04:19 AM
1 8" > 2 6's. Single port is more efficient both acoustically and space-wise. To achieve the same tuning with 2 6's you would need the 2 6's to be longer by a couple inches. Plus you can just pick up an 8" sono tube from lowes/hd for like $5. And for an 18 I would use a 10" port.

bgowdy31
08-18-2012, 04:44 AM
1 8" > 2 6's. Single port is more efficient both acoustically and space-wise. To achieve the same tuning with 2 6's you would need the 2 6's to be longer by a couple inches. Plus you can just pick up an 8" sono tube from lowes/hd for like $5. And for an 18 I would use a 10" port.

Hm.... **** a 10 inch port seems so big for 1 18

bgowdy31
08-18-2012, 05:18 AM
1 8" > 2 6's. Single port is more efficient both acoustically and space-wise. To achieve the same tuning with 2 6's you would need the 2 6's to be longer by a couple inches. Plus you can just pick up an 8" sono tube from lowes/hd for like $5. And for an 18 I would use a 10" port.

I gues im going to try out the 8in port to see if it makes a difference

Kangaroux
08-18-2012, 05:39 AM
8" port = ~50 in^2 of port area. 10" port = ~79 in^2 of port area. A 10" port is about the max I would use for an 18 if you wanted to do a daily setup that wasn't too peaky. If it was a slot port I wouldn't go over around 90-100 in^2 of port. An 8" port should be very musical though it might not have the loudness you're looking for, in which case you could bump it up to the 10".

bgowdy31
08-18-2012, 06:08 PM
8" port = ~50 in^2 of port area. 10" port = ~79 in^2 of port area. A 10" port is about the max I would use for an 18 if you wanted to do a daily setup that wasn't too peaky. If it was a slot port I wouldn't go over around 90-100 in^2 of port. An 8" port should be very musical though it might not have the loudness you're looking for, in which case you could bump it up to the 10".

Idk... I guess ill try out the 8in..... But Were the heck can i get a 10in port

ssteele18
08-18-2012, 06:12 PM
Idk... I guess ill try out the 8in..... But Were the heck can i get a 10in port

Home depot or Lowes. Its with the concrete mix. Sono tube... $5 somethin for 4 feet of it at mine.

pro-rabbit
08-18-2012, 06:15 PM
Personally I would keep the dual 6" setup, if you have access to a cheap way to try out a single 8" port then go for it, but you will likely have a drop off in "SPL" in most cases but not all.

However, a single 10" wold be a nice setup and would be very fun to play around with if done properly.

The real issue with flared round ports and output is that there are many different views on it. I don't know to many people that actually agree. Most result to testing and then just use what works best your particular application.

bgowdy31
08-18-2012, 07:02 PM
Personally I would keep the dual 6" setup, if you have access to a cheap way to try out a single 8" port then go for it, but you will likely have a drop off in "SPL" in most cases but not all.

However, a single 10" wold be a nice setup and would be very fun to play around with if done properly.

The real issue with flared round ports and output is that there are many different views on it. I don't know to many people that actually agree. Most result to testing and then just use what works best your particular application.

Yea i already have the 8inch aero. It was free so i didnt see anyharm in trying it out. But if im going to lose on spl numbers id rather not waste thr time to test it.

dbeez
08-18-2012, 07:43 PM
You never know til you test hell loved mine daily but huge slot does much better for me.

pro-rabbit
08-18-2012, 07:47 PM
You never know til you test hell loved mine daily but huge slot does much better for me.

indeed, and that is the beauty of this hobby. There are literally no rule books or guide books(physics or other wise) that you can follow when chasing numbers, and even less when your idea of "good sound" is what you are after.

Buck
08-18-2012, 09:32 PM
I would do a 10in port for an 18, I'm gonna use an 8in for my dd 2515

This

Buck
08-18-2012, 09:33 PM
indeed, and that is the beauty of this hobby. There are literally no rule books or guide books(physics or other wise) that you can follow when chasing numbers, and even less when your idea of "good sound" is what you are after.

:suave:

dbeez
08-18-2012, 10:16 PM
If your gonna keep competing and chasing numbers the best place for you to spend money is on a termlab it will save you a ton of headache. And its the best place to spend money honestly it will save you a lot of time and money later on.

pro-rabbit
08-18-2012, 10:24 PM
If your gonna keep competing and chasing numbers the best place for you to spend money is on a termlab it will save you a ton of headache. And its the best place to spend money honestly it will save you a lot of time and money later on.

After that, buy wood in bulk if you can :D

dbeez
08-18-2012, 10:31 PM
No doubt cause there's gonna be a ton of building boxes in your future.

bgowdy31
08-19-2012, 04:40 PM
ok im about to start doing testing see a teamate got a term lab and a friend also has one. so i ll have partial access to one now. im not today because i have to work. but i was talking to some about the tuning of my box. i was teling him what my enclosure is actually tuned to. he said that my a big problem. currently my box is abour 7.75 cubes(before displacement). and tuned to 33hz. if im not mistakin my blazers resin freq is about 53hz. he was saying that if we can get your box closer to your blazers resin freq you could probly get better score on TL.

dbeez
08-19-2012, 05:20 PM
There are no guarantees your blazer peaks the same as another has.

bgowdy31
08-19-2012, 05:56 PM
There are no guarantees your blazer peaks the same as another has.

this is true.i have read others undeadened like mine is now peaking around there, but i have a gut feeling thats about what it peaks at as well. out of the last few boxes i have had every time i swept on a TL i was peaking the same thing no matter what my enclosure was tuned to. i had a 2 15 box with aeros, a 2 diff boxes for a kicker l7 15 both were slot port, the previously box i had was a slot port built for the aq 18, and now i have this current one. all have peaked between 51hz - 53hz.

bgowdy31
08-20-2012, 04:16 AM
Bump for late night thoughts

goingdef
08-20-2012, 04:30 AM
I like cake!