PDA

View Full Version : review my build with me. new guy :)



95batmobile
08-15-2012, 12:55 PM
Ok so my build is in a 92 bronco with a 5.0.

Amp: a brutus(or watever that brand is). On ebay thats 2400 rms
SUbs: 2 15in kickers with 1000rms.
Wiring. Some 0 guage kit fron ebay thats a hundred bucks
Box: an ebay ported box.
Battery: yellow top optima
Altrrnator is a 200-220a

And i.think thats it. Any advice or inputwould be greatly Appreciated

OmegaBunny
08-15-2012, 01:00 PM
No to the box right off the bat.

shpatb
08-15-2012, 01:01 PM
Shouldn't of got a box off ebay... probably not the best for those subs... pro-rabbit ;

OmegaBunny
08-15-2012, 01:04 PM
The Hifonics amp shold be fine, but i don't think you will see the full 2400 but it should be close. Are the subs d2 or d4?

What wiring? You can get enough Knu or Audio Technix for that price. Battery and Alt shold be fine.

Throw a designer $20 and have then design you a proper box and build it yourself. It will out perform and prefab you can buy and probably be cheaper.

Jerhemy
08-15-2012, 01:04 PM
box and wire, def get a box at built/designed and build it yourself. just make sure you get good wire, not some 4 ga labeled as 0 gauge.

pro-rabbit
08-15-2012, 01:10 PM
What Kicker subs? I would ditch the enclosure as well and get one designed for you to build or have one custom built.

Be sure you are using good wiring and have it wired properly.

Other then that..meh, looks ok I suppose.

Flex68
08-15-2012, 01:34 PM
Ok so my build is in a 92 bronco with a 5.0.

Amp: a brutus(or watever that brand is). On ebay thats 2400 rms As has already been noted, don't count on ever actually seeing 2400 watts out of it, but Hifonics is okay

SUbs: 2 15in kickers with 1000rms. Regardless of what Kickers these are, they are meh

Wiring. Some 0 guage kit fron ebay thats a hundred bucks Kits... meh

Box: an ebay ported box. Nope!

Battery: yellow top optima Good batts, depending on whether or not they are sufficient for actual needs. Big Three first and foremost

Altrrnator is a 200-220a Nice

And i.think thats it. Any advice or inputwould be greatly Appreciated


Read and research, and ask moar questions, before you drop a load of $$ , especially on eBay ****

Paulspikey
08-15-2012, 01:37 PM
First step. Sell the Bronco.

95batmobile
08-15-2012, 02:05 PM
... why cant i put up urls....................

---------- Post added at 01:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:04 PM ----------

but thanks for all the responses guys, im am trying to put up exactly what im buying.. but its not letting me

and ill build my own box. also ill prob put up a WTB thread incase anyone might have something i need for cheaper

95batmobile
08-15-2012, 02:07 PM
Ford 3G Large Alternator 200A w/ Wiring Harness Natural | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Ford-3G-Large-Alternator-200A-w-Wiring-Harness-Natural-/380346654604?pt=Motors_Car_Truck_Parts_Accessories&hash=item588e6d5f8c&vxp=mtr)


KICKER 2010 CVX15 15" SUBWOOFER CAR STEREO CVX SUB | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/KICKER-2010-CVX15-15-SUBWOOFER-CAR-STEREO-CVX-SUB-/330766546646?pt=Car_Subwoofers_Enclosures&hash=item4d0338f6d6&vxp=mtr)

Hifonics Brutus BRZ2400.1D 2400 Watt RMS Class D Mono Car Amplifier Power Amp | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/Hifonics-Brutus-BRZ2400-1D-2400-Watt-RMS-Class-D-Mono-Car-Amplifier-Power-Amp-/300695090798?pt=Car_Amplifiers&hash=item4602d2f66e&vxp=mtr#ht_4347wt_1135)

http://www.ebay.com/itm/TSUNAMI-AMP01BL-1-0-AWG-GAUGE-WIRING-INSTALL-AMP-KIT-/350586090979?pt=US_Car_Audio_Video_Amplifier_Kits&hash=item51a08f35e3&vxp=mtr#ht_3198wt_1135

relaxin612
08-15-2012, 03:39 PM
what head unit are you using? tsunami wire is ok to use. those subs and that amp should match up well wired to 1ohm but if your still using your factory highs off the oem deck that bass is gonna dround them out terribly also look into doing the big three (research it) good luck with the build

OmegaBunny
08-15-2012, 03:49 PM
2 AQ HDC3 15d2's - Car Audio Classifieds (http://www.caraudioclassifieds.org/forum/15-subwoofers/129957-2-aq-hdc3-15d2s.html)

What about these?

OmegaBunny
08-15-2012, 03:50 PM
KnuKonceptz KCA 1/0 Gauge Power Amp Install Kit w/ Fuse | eBay (http://www.ebay.com/itm/KnuKonceptz-KCA-1-0-Gauge-Power-Amp-Install-Kit-w-Fuse-/390407976514?pt=US_Car_Audio_Video_Amplifier_Kits&hash=item5ae620f642)

OmegaBunny
08-15-2012, 03:52 PM
Two dc level 2 15's - Car Audio Classifieds (http://www.caraudioclassifieds.org/forum/15-subwoofers/81302-two-dc-level-2-15s.html)

95batmobile
08-15-2012, 06:23 PM
for ur wiring kit that you posted. i noticed there is no speaker wire? i do have 16 guage laying around, would that be fine to use or do i need big speaker wire for the subs

95batmobile
08-15-2012, 06:25 PM
we are not sure on a head unit yet.. but something with a usb connection. also, i will do the big three, got that part down :)

pro-rabbit
08-15-2012, 06:28 PM
for ur wiring kit that you posted. i noticed there is no speaker wire? i do have 16 guage laying around, would that be fine to use or do i need big speaker wire for the subs

I would use larger wire.

As for the products I posted some links in your other thread. I would be happy to offer services for designs or building an enclosure for you. However, a dual 15" enclosure would need to be a DIY do to the size of the enclosure it would not be cheap to ship even if it was freighted. The proper size enclosure that you will need for two 15s ported is well...pretty big. 8ft3 net volume would be about the average.

95batmobile
08-15-2012, 06:37 PM
ok ill prob have you design one for me then. so if i got that wiring kit, i would need speaker wire, remote wire (just basic wire from anywhere), and just basic RCA cables?

also what is a capacitor and why would i need one?

pro-rabbit
08-15-2012, 06:39 PM
ok ill prob have you design one for me then. so if i got that wiring kit, i would need speaker wire, remote wire (just basic wire from anywhere), and just basic RCA cables?

also what is a capacitor and why would i need one?

you won't need a cap at all. With your upgraded alt you may end up needing to upgrade your front battery and adding one in the back just to keep from having any issues, but that is less then likely with the minimal power you will be running.

Knu tends to be the big favorite for all your wire needs, AudioTechnix and XS Power also have some wire that you can check out.

95batmobile
08-15-2012, 06:54 PM
im planning on keeping the normal battery upfront and running the yellow top in the rear...

pro-rabbit
08-15-2012, 06:58 PM
Are paying retail for the Optima?

I would swap out your front battery with an upgrade as well.

relaxin612
08-15-2012, 07:33 PM
if you add a battery make sure the front battery is the same at least spec and age wise. research everything before you do it and make sure you get creditable advice. good luck