PDA

View Full Version : HDC3 Box and tuning for explorer



sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 09:19 AM
Next week I will be building a box for my explorer with two 18' HDC3's. Running a VLF 400.1 so these will get everything they can handle.

I don't have to much room to work with but it should do. 44.5 W 30 D 23 H. Was thinking of using aero ports and tuning to 39hz.

After searching the interwebz and seeing vids with these subs I wasn't very impressed by most setups. I guess that's what one gets with a pair of semi budget subs.

Anyway I would like some suggestions if you have experience running these in an SUV. From what I hear these need a lot of room and high tuning.

Thanks much

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 09:41 AM
12ft3 is the min but will work pretty good. I wouldn't go much over 23 ft3 for the max. If you are wanting max output go slot port and use a large amount of port area. The tuning is up to and your goals.


YouTube is not something you should base your expectations on. There is no way to tell truelly whatvs system sounds like or anything from s video.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 09:42 AM
from what I have learned with explorers, they like to be tuned around 48-52Hz. Aero port would be the way to go because you can adjust it to be tuned anyway you want really. I would deff say go with at least 3 1/4 cubes of internal air space per sub though. There is a guy on here named Bill Lolo a.k.a psychoacoustics ; who makes custom 8" aero ports out of welded steel that slid in and out to make it fully adjustable without cutting or adding anything. http://www.caraudio.com/forums/subwoofers/550511-where-buy-aeroports.html#post8080998

aeroports pictures by psychoacoustics - Photobucket (http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go&key=56dc43104c73c7f00b5cb285494df832&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.caraudio.com%2Fforums%2Fsubwo ofers%2F550511-where-buy-aeroports.html%23post8080998&v=1&libid=1344256853646&out=http%3A%2F%2Fs232.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fe e266%2Fpsychoacoustics%2Faeroports%2F&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.caraudio.com%2Fforums%2Fsearc h.php%3Fsearchid%3D1562394&title=where%20to%20buy%20aeroports%3F&txt=aeroports%20pictures%20by%20psychoacoustics%20-%20Photobucket&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_13442569523294)

dbeez
08-06-2012, 09:50 AM
from what I have learned with explorers, they like to be tuned around 48-52Hz. Aero port would be the way to go because you can adjust it to be tuned anyway you want really. I would deff say go with at least 3 1/4 cubes of internal air space per sub though. There is a guy on here named Bill Lolo a.k.a psychoacoustics ; who makes custom 8" aero ports out of welded steel that slid in and out to make it fully adjustable without cutting or adding anything. http://www.caraudio.com/forums/subwoofers/550511-where-buy-aeroports.html#post8080998

aeroports pictures by psychoacoustics - Photobucket (http://api.viglink.com/api/click?format=go&key=56dc43104c73c7f00b5cb285494df832&loc=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.caraudio.com%2Fforums%2Fsubwo ofers%2F550511-where-buy-aeroports.html%23post8080998&v=1&libid=1344256853646&out=http%3A%2F%2Fs232.photobucket.com%2Falbums%2Fe e266%2Fpsychoacoustics%2Faeroports%2F&ref=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.caraudio.com%2Fforums%2Fsearc h.php%3Fsearchid%3D1562394&title=where%20to%20buy%20aeroports%3F&txt=aeroports%20pictures%20by%20psychoacoustics%20-%20Photobucket&jsonp=vglnk_jsonp_13442569523294)

Umm lot of fail in that post.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 09:51 AM
Umm lot of fail in that post.

:uhoh:

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 09:53 AM
Umm lot of fail in that post.

sure, enlighten us then

dbeez
08-06-2012, 09:55 AM
Let's just point out your 3.25 cubes per 18" hdc comment really they are not a small box sub at all.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 09:56 AM
mind you the size of an explorer rear cargo. just built a box for a friends explorer and it's 6cuft including port. There is maybe 3 inches left from side to side after the box was done, port and all. I will tell you one thing though sleez, my explorer loves loading off of the hatch. I've tried port firing off passenger side, driver side and port facing windshield and my highest meter read was off the hatch.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 09:57 AM
Let's just point out your 3.25 cubes per 18" hdc comment really they are not a small box sub at all.

Dude I know you have a ton of experience with explorers so why don't you just drop some knowledge and stop flaming.

dbeez
08-06-2012, 09:58 AM
Yes I know its small however doesn't mean to advise on a box will will lead to horrible results.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 09:59 AM
mind you the size of an explorer rear cargo. just built a box for a friends explorer and it's 6cuft including port. There is maybe 3 inches left from side to side after the box was done, port and all. I will tell you one thing though sleez, my explorer loves loading off of the hatch. I've tried port firing off passenger side, driver side and port facing windshield and my highest meter read was off the hatch.

when you say loading do you mean ports about 8 inches from the hatch?

dbeez
08-06-2012, 09:59 AM
Tonight when I get on a computer and pull all my old data up.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 10:01 AM
when you say loading do you mean ports about 8 inches from the hatch?

I would say more around 5 to 6 inches from hatch. Mind you, if my previous post was read correctly, I said minimum 3 1/4 cubes of internal airspace per sub

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 10:03 AM
Tonight when I get on a computer and pull all my old data up.

That would be cool cause I'm lovin' that box in your sig:)

---------- Post added at 07:03 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:02 AM ----------


I would say more around 5 to 6 inches from hatch.

cool... that gives me 2 more inches then:)

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 10:06 AM
i also would like to see where the "lots of" fail is. you might not of agreed with the size I said, doesn't mean it's wrong though. sleez, i'd put money on your explorers vehicle tuning being within the freq range I mentioned

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 10:11 AM
i also would like to see where the "lots of" fail is. you might not of agreed with the size I said, doesn't mean it's wrong though. sleez, i'd put money on your explorers vehicle tuning being within the freq range I mentioned

I figured it was high from my experience with my old hcca's being around 42hz.

Also, does it make a difference if I split the box but still keep the subs touching on the inner sides?


From what I know about pro audio this is the way to go:/

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:14 AM
That box is long gone will post new pics later.

Flastrongman
08-06-2012, 10:15 AM
dude i have the same amp. you should give me yours so I have 2 lol

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 10:17 AM
I figured it was high from my experience with my old hcca's being around 42hz.

Also, does it make a difference if I split the box but still keep the subs touching on the inner sides?


From what I know about pro audio this is the way to go:/

every aero box I have ever seen done, there was never a divider splitting up the subs, there were all open with just some 45's added in

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:30 AM
dude i have the same amp. you should give me yours so I have 2 lol

Who me.

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 10:30 AM
Sleaz, listen to those who have done this several times over for many many years. You will have a much better result.

If you put those AQ subs in a tiny enclosure like suggested you will hate yourself. I have tried just about every enclosure option for those subs and the only way you get by with a small enclosure is to have an over the top amount of port area...and even then it is a waste of space do to the lack of output.

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:34 AM
I will say this hope your willing to lose your backseat for a pair of 18's or you better be trying to trade them for a pair of 15's.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 10:38 AM
like i said previously, MINIMUM 3 1/4 cubes each of internal airspace. which means the lowest to go, not the actual maximum size. jesus, people need to learn how to read. we are on a forum, right?

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 10:38 AM
I will say this hope your willing to lose your backseat for a pair of 18's or you better be trying to trade them for a pair of 15's.

Indeed. If not the net volume, the port volume will kill you. You can go crazy high but if you get to high you won't load correctly of the top and back of the truck.

---------- Post added at 08:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:38 AM ----------


like i said previously, MINIMUM 3 1/4 cubes each of internal airspace. which means the lowest to go, not the actual maximum size. jesus, people need to learn how to read. we are on a forum, right?

Your 3.25ft3 wont' work so please do us a favor and stop suggesting it. It is not even a "min" option.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 10:38 AM
I will say this hope your willing to lose your backseat for a pair of 18's or you better be trying to trade them for a pair of 15's.

Is it worth it?

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 10:40 AM
Is it worth it?

Honestly, if you want to lose your back seats I always suggest a wall lol...

For me to personally take out a back seat or fold them down for no more use..It has to be for something very very worth it... So for me a wall is the only way I would do it.

I know you can get some crazy numbers with 4 12s or a couple 15s back there.

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:41 AM
In my opinion yes but what are you trying to accomplish here that will be what determines if its worth it to you.

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 10:42 AM
In my opinion yes but what are you trying to accomplish here that will be what determines if its worth it to you.

That is the question really. We all have different views on the back seat lol....

Flastrongman
08-06-2012, 10:43 AM
Who me.

no sleaze has an AB 400.1 too

Flastrongman
08-06-2012, 10:45 AM
why not just 1 of those hdc3 18's? I ran a hdc3 15" off the same amp and was doing 149's on music@40hz

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Honestly, if you want to lose your back seats I always suggest a wall lol...

For me to personally take out a back seat or fold them down for no more use..It has to be for something very very worth it... So for me a wall is the only way I would do it.

I know you can get some crazy numbers with 4 12s or a couple 15s back there.

Very true but a wall is not easy to remove as just a big old box when you go to sale the explorer.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 10:45 AM
In my opinion yes but what are you trying to accomplish here that will be what determines if its worth it to you.

I will end up another 400.1 and 2 more subs so the back seat is coming out regardless.

In the meantime I'm just trying to have some fun and push some air... maybe go to my first show.

After this truck is done I'm pretty sure I'm done with CA (due to hearing problems) so I wanna go out in style. Plan on using some plugs for this last round:)



btw, could I please see these 4 18's of yours in action.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Your 3.25ft3 wont' work so please do us a favor and stop suggesting it. It is not even a "min" option.

I suggested it 1 time dude.

Sleez, just about 90% of people on here over analyze everything and usually provide bad info. Not saying that DC is but, ive seen the same subs in the same same vehicle with same MINIMUM specs up close and personal doing work for over a year straight with no issues. ive also seen American Bass HD's in the same application which are **** near the same thing as the HDC3. but what do I know, my post count isnt over 7,027,489,034 and I must not own the same vehicle or win every show I compete in

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 10:45 AM
Very true but a wall is not easy to remove as just a big old box when you go to sale the explorer.

very true indeed!!

It just takes a lot for me to want to take out a back seat...then again I use it from time to time though.

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:47 AM
Well do a big box now and wall when the other amp and subs come into play.

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 10:50 AM
I suggested it 1 time dude.

Sleez, just about 90% of people on here over analyze everything and usually provide bad info. Not saying that DC is but, ive seen the same subs in the same same vehicle with same MINIMUM specs up close and personal doing work for over a year straight with no issues. ive also seen American Bass HD's in the same application which are **** near the same thing as the HDC3. but what do I know, my post count isnt over 7,027,489,034 and I must not own the same vehicle or win every show I compete in

Suggesting one has more knowledge based on post count is a bit over the top to be honest. I worked for AQ (in R&d, Customer Service, and Marketing) and did compete for a long time and I would think it would be safe to say..yes I did well enough.

I have tons of experience with these subs and explorers as does dbeez. We have both built several variations for those trucks over the years. For AQ I have tested 100% every possible option for them from sealed to band pass, to horn, to bass reflex to everything.. net volume alterations and port area alterations of all kinds..I would like to think I would have a general grasp (more then most) on just about any AQ thread at the least.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 10:56 AM
Suggesting one has more knowledge based on post count is a bit over the top to be honest. I worked for AQ (in R&d, Customer Service, and Marketing) and did compete for a long time and I would think it would be safe to say..yes I did well enough.

That is just the generalization the majority of people on this site believe to be true. Higher post count = more knowledge. Again I didn't say you.


I have tons of experience with these subs and explorers as does dbeez. We have both built several variations for those trucks over the years. For AQ I have tested 100% every possible option for them from sealed to band pass, to horn, to bass reflex to everything.. net volume alterations and port area alterations of all kinds..I would like to think I would have a general grasp (more then most) on just about any AQ thread at the least.

You need to read what I said man. People tend to over analyze and I made sure to note that "I'M NOT SAYING DC IS". I trust your work because you obviously run a business off of it. I was just letting him in on the obvious with bulk of people on this site.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 11:08 AM
Suggesting one has more knowledge based on post count is a bit over the top to be honest. I worked for AQ (in R&d, Customer Service, and Marketing) and did compete for a long time and I would think it would be safe to say..yes I did well enough.

I have tons of experience with these subs and explorers as does dbeez. We have both built several variations for those trucks over the years. For AQ I have tested 100% every possible option for them from sealed to band pass, to horn, to bass reflex to everything.. net volume alterations and port area alterations of all kinds..I would like to think I would have a general grasp (more then most) on just about any AQ thread at the least.

Edit: Post deleted.... I need to think about this and calculate the cost of 4 18's and batts

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 11:14 AM
If I'm gonna do this I might as well do it right. I'll get the other three 18's and have you design the box. I really don't want a wall though so I hope we can build a good window line box(or above if need be) but it would be nice to pull into the lanes without having a van on the other side. lol

btw, I also don't want another alternator so do you think that 7 spv70's on a 250amp mechman will be enough to run 8k

Hopefully you don't have a sun roof LOL your roof is going to hate you

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 11:15 AM
Hopefully you don't have a sun roof LOL your roof is going to hate you

fuuuuuu

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 11:25 AM
my sunroof likes to vibrate and rattle like no tomorrow on 2k rms and 2x 12's. that's even with the cover closed

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 12:03 PM
Edit: Post deleted.... I need to think about this and calculate the cost of 4 18's and batts

The electrical is what will get you over just about anything else. I can get a good deal on Deka's if need be or I can get Batcaps new if you got deep pockets lol.

pro-rabbit
08-06-2012, 12:05 PM
That is just the generalization the majority of people on this site believe to be true. Higher post count = more knowledge. Again I didn't say you.



You need to read what I said man. People tend to over analyze and I made sure to note that "I'M NOT SAYING DC IS". I trust your work because you obviously run a business off of it. I was just letting him in on the obvious with bulk of people on this site.

I did read it, but I happen to know that dbeez is a good guy and knows what he is talking about. Thank you for giving me some credit for what I have done and continue to do. I was mainly trying to point out that dbeez should get some credit as well, as he has a good background around this topic as well.

xSPLoder
08-06-2012, 12:09 PM
I did read it, but I happen to know that dbeez is a good guy and knows what he is talking about. Thank you for giving me some credit for what I have done and continue to do. I was mainly trying to point out that dbeez should get some credit as well, as he has a good background around this topic as well.

That's cool and all but dude said everything I said was "a lot" of fail when just 1 thing out of the multiple things I said, he didn't agree with. Pretty much trying to make me look and sound stupid and I have no clue what i'm talking about

dbeez
08-06-2012, 12:45 PM
I come off abrasive some times I hate trying to use this site on my phone but basically you said tune around 48-52hz that's a no his truck will peak around that range yes you would be correct I don't hold back my thoughts I say exactly what I mean so you never have to read into anything i post. Aq subs in my testing from subs to ext. Cab trucks to cars dominate in larger enclosure with large ports. 6-7 cubes per 18 is needed at a minimum no less as it will hamper the subs out put by quite a bit from a 4.5-5.5 cube box the output difference ranged about 2.5 DB's and continued to go up as volume increased port area per cube remained the same to keep variables down then taking port area up it really woke up.

dbeez
08-06-2012, 12:47 PM
Also I keep my answers short when I am on my phone as it takes a while for me to type that last post .

dbeez
08-06-2012, 10:49 PM
are you rethinking this or still on to buildthe 2-18 box.

sleazebagger
08-06-2012, 11:45 PM
As for now I dont want to give up my back seat till I get another vehicle so I sold the AQ and am now looking for the best 15's I can find.

I have about 700.00 to spend on a pair.

---------- Post added at 08:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:44 PM ----------


are you rethinking this or still on to buildthe 2-18 box.

As for now I dont want to give up my back seat till I get another vehicle so I sold the AQ and am now looking for the best 15's I can find.

I have about 700.00 to spend on a pair.

wes669
08-07-2012, 12:06 AM
I've got a 2000 exploder with 2 hdc3 18s.

http://i1265.photobucket.com/albums/jj504/wes669/2012-08-02_18-48-51_473.jpg

http://i1265.photobucket.com/albums/jj504/wes669/2012-08-02_20-37-58_694.jpg

http://i1265.photobucket.com/albums/jj504/wes669/2012-08-02_20-37-44_82.jpg

bgowdy31
08-07-2012, 12:43 AM
ok i have a blazer so its a difference in size of space. but ill say this my box is 7.5 cubes after sub displacement. i first tested my hdc3 with the aero ports firing externaly and got a base meter reading. then i started puting stuff in the box to bring down the size of box. so i started with adding 1, 2 liter bottle and my score improved. i think we got up to 3 2-liters before my score started to decrease again. and our math may have been alil wrong but we got down to about 6.5 or 6.6 cubes if not mistakin. so with that being said the best numbers came around there. so your easily looking a a 12cube min box honestly

basscort2009
08-07-2012, 12:57 AM
In explorers best numbers setup with 2 18 setups is sub Foward port up slid all the way back to hatch. I did 155.4 with 2 18s sub up port back, flipped the box to sub Foward port up and bam 156.0.

mlstrass
08-07-2012, 03:59 AM
Guy on my team had a single HDC3 18 in a sploder, daily tuned set up. Did 151+ sealed up and played down low quite well. He was at the Radio Doctor show in April, up in madison.

You should have kept 1 of the subs...

sleazebagger
08-07-2012, 09:27 AM
ok i have a blazer so its a difference in size of space. but ill say this my box is 7.5 cubes after sub displacement. i first tested my hdc3 with the aero ports firing externaly and got a base meter reading. then i started puting stuff in the box to bring down the size of box. so i started with adding 1, 2 liter bottle and my score improved. i think we got up to 3 2-liters before my score started to decrease again. and our math may have been alil wrong but we got down to about 6.5 or 6.6 cubes if not mistakin. so with that being said the best numbers came around there. so your easily looking a a 12cube min box honestly

This^.... cant fit 12 cubes in the rear with going over the back seats and I'm not ready to do that. I'd rather have a better pair of 15's and have a little room for batteries.

RangerDangerV2
08-07-2012, 09:45 AM
throw them in a DD spec box.

pro-rabbit
08-07-2012, 12:48 PM
throw them in a DD spec box.

Not what I would suggest actually... of course I don't suggest that for DD.

dbeez
08-07-2012, 01:21 PM
Face palm