PDA

View Full Version : Port Questions



SaginawBum
07-25-2012, 12:10 AM
I started building a box and have all the pieces cut with the exception of the port walls and one other. My question is when tuning the box does it make a difference how wide the port is. Meaning if the port is thin can't you compensate by making it longer. I'm asking because I was going to have the port be 3 inches wide but it seems kind of small. The box is going to be tuned around 34 and be roughly 3.7 cubic feet.

Kangaroux
07-25-2012, 12:22 AM
What are your box dimensions and what are your port dimensions?

duanebro
07-25-2012, 12:25 AM
The area (h x w) of the port is important. The three things that change tuning are port area, port length, and NET box volume. As you increase the port area the length of the port must also increase to keep the same tuning. I use WinISD to let it calculate this.
If you give details of the box, sub, and amp. I can help you with how big the port needs to be.

Sonic.
07-25-2012, 12:30 AM
I started building a box and have all the pieces cut with the exception of the port walls and one other. My question is when tuning the box does it make a difference how wide the port is. Meaning if the port is thin can't you compensate by making it longer. I'm asking because I was going to have the port be 3 inches wide but it seems kind of small. The box is going to be tuned around 34 and be roughly 3.7 cubic feet.

Stop cutting, stop building, until you understand... guys are willing to help .

audio141
07-25-2012, 12:38 AM
hey could you help me with my design?

SaginawBum
07-25-2012, 12:38 AM
The box is Width:34 Height:15 Depth:20 The port dimensions are Height: 13.5 Width: 3 Length: 18. According to the torres calculator that would give me 34 Hz Since it is an L port does that mean one of the cuts will be 13.5 by 17 and then the other would be 13.5 by 1. That just seems weird to me that I would screw 1 inch of mdf to make an L.

SaginawBum
07-25-2012, 12:40 AM
I tried Winisd but it was pretty confusing and I was unable to fill in all the boxes for the specs of the subwoofer.

duanebro
07-25-2012, 01:02 AM
You have to let it calculate most of the specs. Try entering everything in the top block EXCEPT Qts. Then enter re and sd. The only things that should not be filled in is xmax and pe.

Also I don't know about torres, but slot ports need to be shorter than most calculators say. This is because only one side of the port actually ends.

SaginawBum
07-25-2012, 02:03 AM
I guess instead of an L port could I just put the port going the length of the box or does the port have to curve. I made a quick drawing of it using the windows paint accessory.