PDA

View Full Version : Anyone ground the HU twice?



butterMilk
07-21-2012, 03:22 PM
Wound there be any benefit of grounding the HU to the stock wiring harness, and then also grounding it to solid metal behind the dash somewhere. By just splicing the ground on the back of the HU. Maybe it would help reduce any chances of engine whine or static?

wenn_du_weinst
07-21-2012, 03:24 PM
nope, just added wire and complexity. The stock wire grounds to metal inside the dash anyway.

VWBobby
07-21-2012, 03:33 PM
Some of the factory harnesses just wire into a common ground. This is the type that would give you noise, or sometimes clicking when various devices kick on.

If you have noise, then I would switch your ground from the harness ground to a dedicated ground to bare steel behind the dash.

keep_hope_alive
07-21-2012, 05:29 PM
i ground my HU's to the chassis floor. the stock wiring is very small, and metal in the dashes of modern cars are thin and bolted = more resistance.

mdiscala
07-21-2012, 05:43 PM
Ground it well ground it once

butterMilk
07-21-2012, 11:56 PM
Yeah theres not much mounting locations to chose from behind the HU (inside the dash) Guess I'll just have to run a long wire down to the floor somewhere.