PDA

View Full Version : using sketchup...



RangerDangerV2
07-20-2012, 04:49 AM
so im starting to really get sketchup down.. but im having issues.. when I draw my sub cutouts they still stay part of the plane... so if I want to add color to the plane that the cut outs are on they take the color too... or if I want to see the inside of my box... its the same thing for my port openings... how do I fix this..

Bettr n' Revrse
07-20-2012, 08:25 AM
Go to school and learn CAD ;)

Phoenix Risen
07-20-2012, 08:35 AM
do it the right way...

sbelew
07-20-2012, 12:10 PM
Did you make that plane part of a group? If so, try exploding it first, add color then remake the group.

RangerDangerV2
07-20-2012, 12:11 PM
do it the right way...

and what way would that be???

audiobaun
07-20-2012, 12:40 PM
Go to school and learn CAD ;)

^^ THIS^^:santa:

Phoenix Risen
07-20-2012, 06:25 PM
well start off building each panel as in sketch up as you would in the real world one of them at a time.

for the holes all you have to do is use the height adjustment tool and hit the middle of the circle and start pulling it down, then enter .75 and it should drop down and be gone as needed.

Phoenix Risen
07-20-2012, 06:25 PM
well start off building each panel as in sketch up as you would in the real world one of them at a time.

for the holes all you have to do is use the height adjustment tool and hit the middle of the circle and start pulling it down, then enter .75 and it should drop down and be gone as needed.

nutxo
07-24-2012, 05:42 PM
ya gotta explode the thing or create the holes before you make it a group. This gave me fits when I very first tried sketchup. Im still a total noob but I can make a hole now :-p

RangerDangerV2
07-24-2012, 05:43 PM
ya gotta explode the thing or create the holes before you make it a group. This gave me fits when I very first tried sketchup. Im still a total noob but I can make a hole now :-p

drag the push pull tool sideways when you are trying to make a hole.

wenn_du_weinst
07-24-2012, 05:48 PM
I have no idea what your problem is? I have used sketch up forever and it never did that for me.
try tracing the line see if it separates.

wenn_du_weinst
07-24-2012, 05:50 PM
I have yet to need to pay for a cad program when sketch up is free and will do as much as you need for an enclosure.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o296/wenn_du_weinst/37.png
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o296/wenn_du_weinst/klipschclonetower1.png
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o296/wenn_du_weinst/livingroomthree1.png

RangerDangerV2
07-24-2012, 05:53 PM
I have yet to need to pay for a cad program when sketch up is free and will do as much as you need for an enclosure.
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o296/wenn_du_weinst/37.png
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o296/wenn_du_weinst/klipschclonetower1.png
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o296/wenn_du_weinst/livingroomthree1.png

sweet! how did that project turn out?

wenn_du_weinst
07-24-2012, 05:55 PM
just bored doing stuff I havn't built any of those

nutxo
07-24-2012, 05:57 PM
drag the push pull tool sideways when you are trying to make a hole.

I tried it all after watching the basic tutorial. To the side, to the backside. I tried everything and the only thing that worked was exploding or creating the hole before I made my baffle a group. Im not complaining. I got that part down now :-) Now Im workin on making pvc elbows :-p

wenn_du_weinst
07-24-2012, 06:05 PM
don't make anything a group

nutxo
07-24-2012, 06:10 PM
don't make anything a group


Lol. I been pratcicing that but sometimes its easier to copy and paste stuff and i still gets hairy for me when making a box that isnt just a basic cube.

wenn_du_weinst
07-24-2012, 06:12 PM
I build everything off the previous panel, only thing I have as groups are previous made object such as subwoofers or amps.

bubbagumper6
07-24-2012, 07:34 PM
Go to school and learn CAD ;)

lol, you don't need school to learn CAD ;)

Bettr n' Revrse
07-25-2012, 11:53 AM
lol, you don't need school to learn CAD ;)

To do anything more then the basic you do...

shpatb
07-25-2012, 12:13 PM
I like my solidworks.

bubbagumper6
07-25-2012, 10:54 PM
To do anything more then the basic you do...

Meh, I disagree

cyn
07-25-2012, 11:25 PM
Turbo Cad... takes about 2-3 hours to figure out the basics.... a week to get more in depth in it... easiest to use for people that hasn't went to school for drafting

RAM_Designs
07-26-2012, 12:06 AM
don't make anything a group

This.

Bettr n' Revrse
07-26-2012, 01:11 AM
Meh, I disagree

I guess if you have the books you can figure it out or read the tutorials on the program itself... I have dont it for a couple years and I know I couldnt have understood it with out at least reading...

cyn
07-26-2012, 01:29 AM
I guess if you have the books you can figure it out or read the tutorials on the program itself... I have dont it for a couple years and I know I couldnt have understood it with out at least reading...

Took me about 3 months of self learning to get more in depth with AutoCad and AutoCad Mech and so forth.. still a pain in the butt sometimes.. Its easier to just take a drafting class for 6 weeks and be done with it.

Bettr n' Revrse
07-26-2012, 01:49 AM
Took me about 3 months of self learning to get more in depth with AutoCad and AutoCad Mech and so forth.. still a pain in the butt sometimes.. Its easier to just take a drafting class for 6 weeks and be done with it.

I was doing 3D stuff at the end of my 2 years so it got to be pretty fun