PDA

View Full Version : A 4th order I designed

husker77
07-11-2012, 09:01 PM
for my pair of 15 ti's. Thinking about building this to put in my 91 lesabre daily driver. I know most of you are thinking "he's gotta be full of crap, no way his kid has a 86 s-10 and him a 91 lesabre, no one rolls that deep". But I assure you we have both of those fine automobiles in our fleet. The lesabre has a huge trunk, but to do this I would have to build it in 3 sections and assemble it in the trunk. The sealed sections and the ported section would all be separate, then bolted or screwed together in the trunk. I just kind of like playing around on sketchup, I'm not very good at it but like learning. I wish I could figure out how to move components you import, more practice.

I have no idea how good this box would be but I figured it would be a learning experience more than anything.

http://img822.imageshack.us/img822/1167/topview4thorderh.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/822/topview4thorderh.jpg/)

It is right at 1.7 ^3 on each sealed section and then right around 6.5 on the ported(kinda hard to figure with the little air diverted I put in). So a little over a 3:1 ratio. I could make the sealed a little bigger, therefore shrinking the ported section. Then I figured use 2 6" aero ports up through the rear deck of my car, should even be able to hide them in the original speaker area. I thought I would start at about 8" long, which should be right around 40 hz if I am doing anything right. I thought I could make them adjustable so I can play with the tuning.

Like I said I want to learn and the only way is to do. Any advise or criticism is welcome.

RAM_Designs
07-11-2012, 09:09 PM
It'd actually be less than a 2:1 ratio since you have 3.4ft^3 sealed and 6.5ft^3 ported.

husker77
07-11-2012, 09:18 PM
It'd actually be less than a 2:1 ratio since you have 3.4ft^3 sealed and 6.5ft^3 ported.