View Full Version : plate amp?

07-10-2012, 01:42 AM
I was just wondering does a plate amp act like a car audio amp in the aspect of if you cut the ohm load you increase the output, the reason I ask is I have a powered sub that runs 36w rms @ 4ohms and for fun I hooked it to my HX2's at 2ohms and it gets a little warmer then normal but it's pushing 1000watt subs with authority, not near full output but loud enough to rumble the room with some realistic effect(thunder/explosions) much more then the ported 6 1/2 if was paired with before I frankinstiened it up!

07-10-2012, 02:04 AM

07-10-2012, 07:12 AM
yeah let me know on this too, i had a paradigm pdr amp pushing rated 400 rms, to a klipsch 12 and two 10's and sounded pretty **** good.

07-10-2012, 09:07 AM
Yes it will put out more power if it is capable of doing so. It is also harder on the amp, as it is being asked to put out more current.

07-11-2012, 03:31 PM
Won't that hurt the amp in the long run?

07-11-2012, 03:37 PM
it depends on the amp. some will do it with no problem, and some will just not. i have a "200w" dennon mono amp that will push well over 1k. thing is a real beast. i have also gone through plenty little powered subs that use an ic amp, like the one in your head unit...

07-11-2012, 04:16 PM
here's u plate amp if you want some real window flex in u house
Crown XLS 1000 Power Amp, 1000 Watts at zZounds (http://www.zzounds.com/item--CWNXLS1000)

07-11-2012, 04:26 PM
here's u plate amp if you want some real window flex in u house
FP 14000 - The FP+ Series flagship | Lab.gruppen (http://labgruppen.com/products/fp_plus_series/c/fp_14000/)


07-11-2012, 04:26 PM
This is just a little yamaha plate amp I really don't care if this kills it or not, but I can tell you it will not do 1/2ohm! I just noticed it really seemed to move these 12's harder at 2ohm then it's actual woofer at 4ohm and I watched two movies in a row last night and it really wasn't all that hot so it's handling it pretty well for what it is.