PDA

View Full Version : tc 5200



mazdakid
06-23-2012, 11:00 PM
Has anyone ever tried the rec. Box specs by tc for the 5200 series?
They say 3.4-5 cubes and 37.5" of port for either one. For an 18.

mazdakid
06-25-2012, 10:51 PM
Well i tried about 4.2 with an 8" sono with flares on it. Probably the loudest on the lowend so far but i switched it again today and have it at 3.75 with a slot and will listen to it on my drive to work tomorrow.

mazdakid
06-26-2012, 05:23 PM
Didnt like the slot port as much as the sono so i took it back out. If i could make the box a little shorter and maybe cut off a fee inches of the rear deck i think it would work better. Sub fires up into the shell and sub is only 2.25" away from the top so i think its too close.
Turned my shell into a box for the tsns 15 so ill see how i like that tomorrow.

mlstrass
06-27-2012, 05:21 AM
set it on the back seat FTW...

mazdakid
06-27-2012, 09:55 AM
Kids cant ride in the front yet. Gotta keep it in the trunk.

I think im going to go back to just everything firing forward with the 5200 if i dont like how the tsns is.

mazdakid
08-01-2012, 10:05 PM
Build another box a few weeks ago. Got the sub firing forward and 2 6" aeros firing sideways into a 6.5" wide slot.
Dropped the amp down to .3 also for daily.
Highest score with last boxes was a 144.x at 32hz i think it was?
New box i got up to 148.4 at 30hz.
Also got a 139.x or 140 at 19hz.

Still looking for an 8" aero to try in place of the 2 6".

Last goal was a 145 from the trunk and i finally got it in the civic, gonna try for 150 under 30hz now

kushy_dreams
08-02-2012, 01:36 AM
I would go with a 10in port, but the length needed to tune low might be a limiting factor.

Some plumbing supply places will sell 10in pvc by the foot, but it still gets a lil pricey, but you can flare it on your own.

How much power are you running to it? I usually build my boxes on the large side because of imp rise, so I try to make up for it with an efficient box

mazdakid
08-02-2012, 12:11 PM
Ya if i used a 10" it would definately be too long to get it even close to a tuning i would like, but ive definately thought about it.
Im guessing im putting close to 3000 to it running the m3a at .3

Im pretty happy with it how it is now and i think if i raised my tuning just a few hz id get the 150 im looking for but i like it peaking at 30hz.
I need to find another 5200 motor or trf motor so i can finally run 2 15's in the trunk and be done with it for a few months.

mazdakid
08-03-2012, 03:21 PM
Just messed up the sub on my ride home.

snoopdan
08-03-2012, 03:48 PM
Not surprised. The 5200's were terrible subs, built shotty and only has two spiders.

mazdakid
08-03-2012, 03:57 PM
http://img560.imageshack.us/img560/5204/imag0260z.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/560/imag0260z.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)
http://img816.imageshack.us/img816/6821/imag0261i.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/816/imag0261i.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

gonna throw the tsns back in until i get it fixed

mazdakid
08-09-2012, 10:49 PM
Bought a new cone and surround. Thinking about getting rid of it and finding a pair of 15s.

armykyle1
08-09-2012, 11:09 PM
I was running two custom 4hp 15s in my car for a while. 3 cubes each, port was too small(like 11ish sqin percube) but it was amazing low end and sounded great.

Shirt Trick? Yesssssssss- YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBHAQ6OJT8E)

****** flex with custom 15's - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o5ol9E1mkbU)

***** about the top assembly. Have you thought about making some custom recones?

mazdakid
08-09-2012, 11:17 PM
Ya id like to get another 5200 motor and build 2 15's out of those, but that would cost probably atleast $750 for another motor and 2 recones and baskets.
Im going to put the 18 back together probably next week when the kit gets here and maybe try to get rid of it for some 15's.

Ill post a pic of the kit i bought when i get on my laptop.

armykyle1
08-09-2012, 11:20 PM
I'll be looking for it. I believe there's a 5200 or two on caco fs.

any videos of that **** thing in action?

mazdakid
08-09-2012, 11:34 PM
Nope never taken videos of the civic yet.
Theres 3 of then on caco now. I offered 275 to the guy i got my 18 from but hes firm at $300.
If i knew i could find matching 15" tops real soon for a good price id probably buy it for $300.
I was going to buy the complete sub from him and run 2 18's but he sold the other top a day earlier.

mazdakid
08-09-2012, 11:44 PM
http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/5092/20066296.jpg

armykyle1
08-10-2012, 12:08 AM
ribbed for your pleasure! is that a new style?

goingdef
08-10-2012, 12:16 AM
what the hell happened to the other one?

mazdakid
08-18-2012, 07:35 AM
shes ready to go again. already put a few small dents in the cone after having it for 10 minutes :(
http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/8/imag0290uj.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/853/imag0290uj.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

mazdakid
08-18-2012, 09:35 PM
:(
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/8233/imag0293k.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/525/imag0293k.jpg/)

Uploaded with ImageShack.us (http://imageshack.us)

mazdakid
08-22-2012, 09:26 PM
Pushed the cone back down and reglued, sub is working again so far.

PurpleDiesel
08-22-2012, 10:10 PM
Pushed the cone back down and reglued, sub is working again so far.

Good luck the structural integrity is compromised
This is why i've always liked the titanium cone ;)

mazdakid
08-22-2012, 10:17 PM
Ya i get worried every time i turn it up now but so far so good.