PDA

View Full Version : my box?



Colossus281
06-20-2012, 05:30 PM
Hey guys I need to find out my cubic feet. And what it is tuned to. Subs displacement is .15 I have two so .30. The box is 32w 14.5h 21.5d with port 2w 13h 18d. Thanks

ryanthie
06-20-2012, 05:49 PM
Box volume after subwoofer displacement is 4.28 cubes.
And with the calculator I used, I figured you're tuned to around 26.5 hz which is a very low tuning. Not sure if it was accurate with the calculators I used...

Box Volume = Subwoofer Enclosure Calculators, Fraction to Decimal, Parallel, Series, Port Length and Volume Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp)

Port Tuning = Port Length Calculator (http://www.mobileinformationlabs.com/HowTo-1Woofer-Box-CAL%20Port%20lenth%201.htm)
And I just kept typing in different frequencies until it said a port length of 18.1 which is right at 26.5hz. This number seems low as hell and I might have just put something in wrong, lol.

dbeez
06-20-2012, 06:24 PM
Your box is 3.89 tuning I haven't messed with yet but probably a little higher tuning than you thought

Colossus281
06-20-2012, 07:45 PM
Your box is 3.89 tuning I haven't messed with yet but probably a little higher tuning than you thought

Ya I got 3.78 after displacement of subs and port. Tuned at 28.88hz.
Its a box that I got with my skar audio subs. Its supposed to be tuned to 32hz. And I would think it should be at 4 cubic feet.
if I cut my port back so its at 32hz would that help with the higher bass?

Colossus281
06-20-2012, 07:51 PM
If I cut it back to 12.25 I should be at 32.82hz. And 3.95ft right?

SMS
06-20-2012, 08:22 PM
make a new box. you only have 26 sq" port area. you should have about 14-16 sq in per cu ft. thereby a a 4 cube box should have around 60 sq inch of port area- so a 15" x 4" slot would work much better, also the port would get longer the more area it is.

dbeez
06-20-2012, 08:44 PM
That box is as said above basically junk trash it and build a new better one or have one of us builders build you an accurate box.

Colossus281
06-20-2012, 09:38 PM
That box is as said above basically junk trash it and build a new better one or have one of us builders build you an accurate box.

I can build one I just need help with the design.

DoesDad
06-20-2012, 09:40 PM
pro-rabbit or any of the other box guys will sell you plans for around 15 bucks.

Nut Hair Trick
06-20-2012, 09:52 PM
I got 3.91 cuft tuned to 27.78 hz. Port area is extremely small at 6.65" / ft

Colossus281
06-21-2012, 12:15 AM
Can someone check this for me? Box for two vvx 12. 37w 17h 21d
port 4w 15.5h 32d. Port in the middle of the subs. 45 in port. I got 32.64hz and after all displacement 4.07cuft. 62.0in port area.

Colossus281
06-21-2012, 08:19 AM
Someone? Is that right?

Colossus281
06-21-2012, 01:36 PM
Bump

Colossus281
06-22-2012, 09:14 AM
make a new box. you only have 26 sq" port area. you should have about 14-16 sq in per cu ft. thereby a a 4 cube box should have around 60 sq inch of port area- so a 15" x 4" slot would work much better, also the port would get longer the more area it is.

What should the port area be for round ports?