PDA

View Full Version : Adcom turn on/off pop



PHD - USA
06-20-2012, 02:33 PM
I have both an Adcom 4404 and 4304, and both of the amps have a turn on/off pop, is this normal for these amplifiers? My AudioArt 140.4 and my Sony Mobile ES 2100g both do not have the turn on/off pops. I have my turn on wire on my ignition wire and everything seems to be grounded correctly. Is there any way to remedy the pops without switching amplifiers?

CAT MAN
06-20-2012, 02:35 PM
some amps just do it. try putting them on a toggle switch to turn them on after the h/u comes on or put a delay in the remote wire.

PHD - USA
06-20-2012, 02:36 PM
Already have a relay, so that is not the problem.

CAT MAN
06-20-2012, 02:37 PM
Already have a relay, so that is not the problem.

grounded rca's yet?

PHD - USA
06-20-2012, 02:38 PM
When you ground the rcas in more than one place, you run the risk of creating a ground loop, the rcas are grounded in the head unit, so there is no need for that.

CAT MAN
06-20-2012, 02:42 PM
When you ground the rcas in more than one place, you run the risk of creating a ground loop, the rcas are grounded in the head unit, so there is no need for that.
i never grounded any other rca than the h/u anyways. i may go fool around with my 4 chan til it pops real quick to try and help. the only thing i can think of if it was just a quick swap is maybe a lose wire but i know you wouldnt overlook that.

PHD - USA
06-20-2012, 02:44 PM
I've been looking and working on it for a bit and can't figure it out for the life of me unless it is just the amplifier build design since they are both pretty much the same design.

CAT MAN
06-20-2012, 02:46 PM
I've been looking and working on it for a bit and can't figure it out for the life of me unless it is just the amplifier build design since they are both pretty much the same design.

it seems an amp like that would have a soft start system. maybe it doesnt but im outside now playing with ish. ill let you know if i fool with anything where it popss.

PHD - USA
06-20-2012, 02:54 PM
I just got an idea from a member on diyma that said use relays on the speaker wire lol. Going to give this a shot tonight lol.

CAT MAN
06-20-2012, 02:58 PM
I just got an idea from a member on diyma that said use relays on the speaker wire lol. Going to give this a shot tonight lol.

looks like that wouldnt be a bad idea but might mess with sound imaging. never tried it.

PHD - USA
06-20-2012, 03:00 PM
The gentlemen told me that a lot of home audio amplifiers use them like this. I might just put more of a delay on the tweeters and sub lol.

CAT MAN
06-20-2012, 03:16 PM
The gentlemen told me that a lot of home audio amplifiers use them like this. I might just put more of a delay on the tweeters and sub lol.go for it. i still cant find anything to make mine pop. my sub amp used to pop but quit so ill start on it next

jteske88
06-21-2012, 07:27 AM
uhm not a pro on car audio but i am good with home audio. Adcom in particular. i have a few adcom amps and all mine have a turn on thump. From my understanding it is a dc offset in the amp, but either way being that there high current amps they have a thump no matter what you do so just think as it as knowing your **** works.

keep_hope_alive
06-21-2012, 09:06 PM
Best test is a toggle switch on the turn on. Amp on last, off first. If that doesn't help, nothing will.

If it does, you need a true remote turn-on. Most people using ignition for turn one get pops because the amps are on while the source switches.