PDA

View Full Version : Help with utimate SQ build

jvrtaboli
06-10-2012, 08:30 PM
Hi, I drive a 2000 Acura Integra Hatchback. I'm a novice when it comes to choosing hardware for a Sound Quality setup. I currently have JBL P662 door speakers powered by a JL Audio JX360/4 amp. The music sounds good, but I think it can sound better. I want the ultimate, mind-blowing sound quality setup. What door speakers, subwoofer(s), and amps do I need?

wenn_du_weinst
06-10-2012, 08:32 PM
I hope you have 20-30grand to spend.

keep_hope_alive
06-10-2012, 08:36 PM
yep.

8-10 grand gets you a very good system. nothing mind blowing, but still very good.

an example budget would be
$1500 for front speakers.
$1000+ per amplifier. 2-3 needed.
$1200 or more for the head unit and processing.
$1000 for sub and custom enclosure
$1000 in accessories and deadening
and 200 or so hours of installation

in the end, SQ is all about the installation.

you could spend 3x that just as easily but the increase would be incremental and still heavily dependent on installation. for a 20k+ investment, the vehicle should be fully customized.

jvrtaboli
06-10-2012, 08:48 PM
ok, well thats quite a bit more than i was expecting, maybe a setup thats somewhere in between what I have now and what you guys are describing, 1-2 grand maybe. ignore the "ultimate mind-blowing setup" part lol Im really just looking for a good, simple setup with door speakers, amps, and subwoofers that are sq oriented.

wenn_du_weinst
06-10-2012, 08:52 PM
thats what I figured
Multi-Channel Amplifiers (http://www.zukiaudio.net/)
the 4channel and the 2 channel
Imagine I61-2 6.5" Component / Coaxial Speaker Set - 12v Electronics (http://store.12velectronics.com/imagine-i61-2-6-5-component-coaxial-speaker-set/)
Dayton Audio RSS315HO-4 12" Reference HO Subwoofer 4 Ohm 295-466 (http://www.parts-express.com/pe/showdetl.cfm?Partnumber=295-466)
and then spend the rest on deadener.

Chad1
06-10-2012, 08:54 PM