PDA

View Full Version : two hdc3 18's on kx2500



raptor727
06-07-2012, 11:37 PM
Well today i got through building my second box for my other hdc318 and it is insane in my truck! I know alot of people will say ok whatever but I have no friends around here that appreciate the beauty of audio so I figured I'd share with you guys! with one it was defintly loud tuned to 32hrtz box was built to 6cu ft 4" port with around 74" of port area, I am happy with the results everyone says tune high with them but I took a chance and do not regret at all. Any guesses what it will hit on a termlab legal all sealed up?? I'm hoping for at least 148 it's in a 2002 dodge ram quad cab stock 140amp alt with big 3 all zero gauge drops to about 12.0 full tilt getting a h.o. soon and two xsd3100's

myjaja
06-07-2012, 11:49 PM
Sounds nice but why so little port area? You only have a single 4"??

raptor727
06-07-2012, 11:52 PM
4" slot port 18.5 inches tall not a aero port lol

Davecubs14
06-08-2012, 12:01 AM
AQ's sound real nice in any kind of box imo. I bet if you get a chance to make that box bigger with more port, you won't be dissappointed. But tuned in for numbers for sure. AQ/SQ ftw.

raptor727
06-08-2012, 12:04 AM
Really bigger?? I heard 6 cubes is as big as I should go with these what do you think I love hearing other peoples ideas and opinions so fire away!

Weeznur32
06-08-2012, 12:08 AM
I have had this EXACT set up walled in a 91 legend. This was back in 2009 though and i dont remember what the box dimensions were or the tuning but it slammed. Should be nice man.

Davecubs14
06-08-2012, 12:17 AM
Really bigger?? I heard 6 cubes is as big as I should go with these what do you think I love hearing other peoples ideas and opinions so fire away!

Well, with my 15, my daily box for it is 4.25 tuned to 40. With 90 sq in of port. Just a tad bigger than yours. Lol. I've had multiple amps on it, aq 1200, 2200, Ab amps, m3a. It's over 3 years old and still pounds.

It's been in so many boxes, lol. But there is a big difference on the low end everytime I put it in a bigger box. And it didn't lose any range on the upper end. My opinion, if you ever feel like building a new box, go with between 8-10 cubes with ~120 sq in of port. But i'm sure you love the way it sounds right now, which is awesome! Good luck!

bgowdy31
06-08-2012, 12:24 AM
my box is 7+cubes and i only have 1 hdc3

bgowdy31
06-08-2012, 12:26 AM
well my other box i have is 7+cubes lol... its out right now. im trying out a 4th order. not sure what the cubes are on it lol..... but yea my other is a 7.1 cubes(i think) after sub and port displace.

raptor727
06-08-2012, 01:02 AM
**** it yall talked me into bigger boxes im thinking 8.2 after displacement and around 90" of port area for each sub i'm going off of you guys reccomendations so chime in if you feel like it

mlstrass
06-08-2012, 05:14 AM
well my other box i have is 7+cubes lol... its out right now. im trying out a 4th order. not sure what the cubes are on it lol..... but yea my other is a 7.1 cubes(i think) after sub and port displace.

GL with that, tried my HDC's in a 4th. Didn't work well at all, so I went to a 6th order and they're much happier

mlstrass
06-08-2012, 05:16 AM
**** it yall talked me into bigger boxes im thinking 8.2 after displacement and around 90" of port area for each sub i'm going off of you guys reccomendations so chime in if you feel like it

I like 6^3 net with 96^2 port area tuned around 35-36 for AQ/DD subs. Did a daily box around those specs for 2 18" HDC's in a Tahoe off 2 3500's that does a 54 legal and 56 outlaw.

bgowdy31
06-08-2012, 05:23 AM
GL with that, tried my HDC's in a 4th. Didn't work well at all, so I went to a 6th order and they're much happier

Why didnt it work?

raptor727
06-08-2012, 04:27 PM
I keep on hearing 6cu ft is the magic # but i dunno i just got through building these boxes and got some money tied into them im just gonna roll woth them for a while broke my **** heads up display in my truck today and did my first hairtrick so im happy!

mlstrass
06-09-2012, 06:31 AM
bigger boxes can work, just depends upon the power level. Guys I build for tend to run a lot over RMS to their subs and play stupid low **** at full tilt...

dbeez
06-09-2012, 07:53 AM
6-7 is where the hdc's liked when I played with them with a rather large port like 15 sure inches per cube.

dbeez
06-09-2012, 07:55 AM
Now that's per 18subs up port side usually work best but ext. Cab trucks are not sealed up friendly metering vehicles.

raptor727
06-09-2012, 08:03 AM
I see you are running nightshades now how big of a difference is there i plan on two nightshade 18's next with around 6k

RAM_Designs
06-09-2012, 08:03 AM
In that quad cab(I have an '04), you also might be able to keep it under the window line with both subs in there.

raptor727
06-09-2012, 08:05 AM
No it definitly gets a hell of alot louder with all windows down and rear window open as soon as you shut it up if gets quiet lol thats why i guessed around 148 only legal sealed

raptor727
06-09-2012, 08:12 AM
LOL!!!!! I have both boxes 38" wide so they are both standing up right behind seats lol I wish it was under the window i did not take this into account when designing boxes haha next time though I'm going for what you mentioned

dbeez
06-09-2012, 08:26 AM
You really need a common chamber box under window line subs up port side.

raptor727
06-09-2012, 08:30 AM
ports to the side??? really never tried or heard of that but I suppose you would know having a truck almost identical to mine I'm gonna try that.