PDA

View Full Version : Single 12" in ext cab s-10



husker77
06-03-2012, 09:40 AM
This is my kid's 84 s-10. Simple build. Open to all constructive criticism, advice or any other comments.

This started it, found it at a garage sale for $25. For now it will be in the sealed prefab box it came in, but will start working on a new box to get more out of it. He paid the $25 for the sub, then I spent over $40 on hardware, gave him the 1/0awg wire, connectors, rca's and amp. Great deal for him!

http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/6255/0602022020.jpg

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/8677/0602022021a.jpg

Already had this installed with some 5.25 jl coax in qform kicks(6.5s wouldn't fit)

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/7631/0602022012c.jpg

Ran some 1/0 I had laying around.

From alternator, real close to touching alt housing, found a rubber sleeve that will fit to protect it from shorting.

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/9319/0602022010.jpg

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/259/0602022010a.jpg

I couldn't get the fuse holder to fit very good so I made a little block to space it up and then put a hurricane nut on it so one bolt holds it on.

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/8059/0602021945.jpg

http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/8224/0602021946.jpg

vvvvv fail vvvv

husker77
06-03-2012, 09:57 AM
Power and ground run under the cab. I have to find better clamps, do not really like these.

http://img825.imageshack.us/img825/7340/0602022010b.jpg

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/9229/0602022011.jpg

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/9476/0602022011a.jpg

Couple of grommets to run it through the floor. The 4awg is for the ground, going to run it to a bolt that the 1/0awg is ran to. Want to find a non fused distro block and run the 1/0awg into the cab.

http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/5875/0602022011b.jpg

http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/9792/0602022012.jpg

As far as we got.

husker77
06-03-2012, 10:25 AM
The amp bridged 400 watt rms @ 4 ohm.

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/9122/0602022021b.jpg

keep_hope_alive
06-03-2012, 02:03 PM
i like your plans so far.

i am fine with those wire clamp. they work just fine, i wouldn't change them. good use of grommets.

i think the wire terminal at the alt is the wrong kind for that terminal - as evidenced by the proximity to the housing. that is way to close, and even with some rubber, you risk a serious problem. i would replace the terminal with one that fits better for the task, ring terminals are cheap.

i understand why you are reducing the ground to 4awg, that amp will never need more than what 4 awg can provide, but i assume it's because you don't have another 1/0 grommet or enough wire length? your plan to bolt under the vehicle is ok, just make sure that connection is covered in silicone to prevent corrosion. in general, we want to keep any connection clean.

also keep the 1/0 fused at 150A since that is the effective ampacity of the circuit with a 4awg ground.

husker77
06-03-2012, 03:21 PM
I have a distro block that goes from 1 1/0 to 2 x 4awg, so I can add another amp or something later. I figure when I find one I will run the 1/0 ground into the cab to a non fused distro block so it matches the positive. I have plenty of wire and grommets, just didn't have a way to reduce the 1/0 down to 4 awg.

husker77
06-03-2012, 09:51 PM
Here is where I put a little protective sleeve on the alternator fitting. We also put a star washer on it so it was spaced out a little more. When he gets a h/o alt it should be more than ok.

http://img849.imageshack.us/img849/5914/0603021512.jpg

I changed the wire from the battery to fuse after this pic, about 3" longer.

http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/9021/0603021732.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/850/0603021732.jpg/)

One small problem I ran into was that both battery terminals were for positive posts, so the one I used on the neg was loose. I bought a little piece of copper tubing, cut it to length and put a slit in it and it made a perfect spacer.

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/5793/0603021503.jpg

Frame ground clean on both sides.

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/1485/0603021436.jpg

Grounding stud, star washers sandwiched between the frame and all the nuts.

http://img836.imageshack.us/img836/7264/0603021437.jpg


Ground junction, left the 1/0 a little long so that later I can run it into the cab eventually.

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/9379/0603021605.jpg

http://img84.imageshack.us/img84/2509/0603021605a.jpg

I couldn't run both the power and ground under the rear body mount, it wasn't quite as clean as I was hoping.

http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/126/0603021606.jpg

husker77
06-03-2012, 09:52 PM
Remote wire and stinger rca expert series interconnect. I used electrical tape to hold it in place, I would like to know what would be better. He is going to replace the rubber floor mat with carpet this summer so we will have to pull it back up again so we will fix it when we do that. Is it ok to run the remote turn on with the rca's, or is there a chance for noise? I assume since it is low power it should be ok.

http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/8021/0603021814.jpg

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/8784/0603021815a.jpg

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/9091/0603021815.jpg

http://img850.imageshack.us/img850/8021/0603021814.jpg

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/8784/0603021815a.jpg

http://img406.imageshack.us/img406/9091/0603021815.jpg

husker77
06-03-2012, 09:56 PM
Here is a little video. I am going to build a false floor this week to hide the extra wire, mount the amp and give the sub a flat place to sit. I like to have a little extra wire in case I want to move something.

s-10 stereo first play - YouTube (http://youtu.be/rFuH3-EQe9g)

I can't figure out how to post it so that it is in the thread(fail).

It isn't very loud unless I turn the gain all the way up, I need to get an oscilloscope. I think the sub must want more power. It does sound pretty good.

husker77
06-04-2012, 03:05 PM
My install is that good that after over 200 views no criticism, or so bad I got no compliments?

CAT MAN
06-04-2012, 04:49 PM
no post because you did everything better than 96% of us so no one felt like talking lol

09civic
06-04-2012, 04:55 PM
no post because you did everything better than 96% of us so no one felt like talking lol

This..sadly.

I still say that keep_hope_alive as the cleanest build I've seen.

husker77
06-04-2012, 05:02 PM
This..sadly.

I still say that keep_hope_alive as the cleanest build I've seen.

I pm'd him to look because I value his input greatly. I am a little disappointed in the bass output, but I think my son is pretty happy. http://www.caraudio.com/forums/general-discussion/548253-color-me-disappointed.html

This was the most I've enjoyed working on something in a long time, now I have to get back to my other Son's truck.

09civic
06-04-2012, 05:10 PM
I pm'd him to look because I value his input greatly. I am a little disappointed in the bass output, but I think my son is pretty happy. http://www.caraudio.com/forums/general-discussion/548253-color-me-disappointed.html

This was the most I've enjoyed working on something in a long time, now I have to get back to my other Son's truck.

It's just the box. Make or have him make a nice ported box.

husker77
06-04-2012, 05:42 PM
It's just the box. Make or have him make a nice ported box.

We will, but I think it is more than that. The sub doesn't even move much unless I crank the gain. I would love to get an oscilloscope, wish snap-on still made one.

09civic
06-04-2012, 06:07 PM
Are you sure it's wired properly?

mazdakid
06-04-2012, 06:22 PM
Better get used to it, every other week hes going to want louder.

keep_hope_alive
06-04-2012, 08:32 PM
Based on the sub pic, the coils are wired in series. Are they dual 2 ohm? How did you test the sub? Are you sure you bridged the correct terminals? Does it get louder if only one RCA is plugged in?

did you adjust sub level control on the HU? Sub level is just sub attenuation on Alpine decks, so full 15 level is fine.

Yes it is ok to run remote with RCA's. No noise with DC voltage.

I used aluminum foil tape to hold wires down. Comes in rolls like duct tape. Any hardware store will carry it. Sticks very well yet. Normally used for duct work. I love it.

keep_hope_alive
06-04-2012, 08:36 PM
This..sadly.

I still say that keep_hope_alive as the cleanest build I've seen.

Eh, I've seen better than kha. He just makes it up as he goes. :p:

husker77
06-04-2012, 09:43 PM
Based on the sub pic, the coils are wired in series. Are they dual 2 ohm?

Yes they are


How did you test the sub?

For the ohm load? I haven't yet, ran out of time.


Are you sure you bridged the correct terminals?
Pretty sure, I double/quadruple checked it. The bigger amp I changed to is just a 2 channel, and it can not be bridged. I mostly put the bigger amp in because I was worried about the heat the little one was producing. I need to get a battery for my temp gun.


Does it get louder if only one RCA is plugged in?

You mean only the red or only the white rca plug? Didn't try that.


did you adjust sub level control on the HU? Sub level is just sub attenuation on Alpine decks, so full 15 level is fine.

We did after setting gains, I set the gains at 0 because I thought that was the way to do it.


Yes it is ok to run remote with RCA's. No noise with DC voltage.

Cool thanks, that's what I was thinking but I have been out of this so long it's hard to remember what I used to know.


I used aluminum foil tape to hold wires down. Comes in rolls like duct tape. Any hardware store will carry it. Sticks very well yet. Normally used for duct work. I love it.

I know what you are talking about, do you tape the entire length down or just every few inches?

I have read your entire build log 2 or 3 times already, looks like I need to check it out again.

---------- Post added at 08:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:43 PM ----------


Eh, I've seen better than kha. He just makes it up as he goes. :p:

The secret is to act like you know what you are doing. And carry a clipboard, no one questions you if you have a clipboard.

keep_hope_alive
06-05-2012, 02:27 AM
The secret is to act like you know what you are doing. And carry a clipboard, no one questions you if you have a clipboard.

and a tie. wear a tie.



i just tape every few inches. whatever is needed based on routing. you'll see i use it on top of my split loom excessively.

http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e128/phat_funky_beats/Accord%202009/0610trunkIBwall/accordtrunk_IBwall016.jpg

husker77
06-05-2012, 05:33 AM
Ya he has no sound deadening yet, doesn't even have a headliner. There is a lot of bare metal showing in his cab, he wants to replace the rubber floor mat with carpet, get a headliner and do some sound deadening with his summer job money.

husker77
06-05-2012, 03:40 PM
I drove his truck to work today, listened to eminem, the eminem show. Sounded pretty good, about 20 on the volume it started to not sound real good, had the subwoofer on +13, but below that sounded good. It isn't real loud but not bad at all, I closed my eyes and couldn't really pinpoint were the sound was coming from, those q-forms must be decent enough. I'm sure someone with a real sq system or spl wouldn't be real impressed, but not bad considering.

stevew007
06-06-2012, 11:43 AM
Based on the sub pic, the coils are wired in series. Are they dual 2 ohm? How did you test the sub? Are you sure you bridged the correct terminals? Does it get louder if only one RCA is plugged in?

did you adjust sub level control on the HU? Sub level is just sub attenuation on Alpine decks, so full 15 level is fine.

Yes it is ok to run remote with RCA's. No noise with DC voltage.

I used aluminum foil tape to hold wires down. Comes in rolls like duct tape. Any hardware store will carry it. Sticks very well yet. Normally used for duct work. I love it.


I thought all electrical in vehicles was DC? and DC makes noise when you have enough flow right?
I talked with a home audio guy he told me that AC will make interference also noise and fuzzy video.

keep_hope_alive
06-06-2012, 04:29 PM
AC is at 60Hz and a higher voltage (120 and up) and also contains a ton of other higher frequency noise with it. home A/C wiring is basically large antennas. AC wiring can induce noise into low level audio cables, so in home and pro audio we take care to route cabling.

in a car, with DC voltage, the EMF is not only much lower due to lower voltage, but the field produced isn't rapidly changing. cars are less noisy than homes. you won't get noise on the RCA's when routing next to power wire. in the past, people have attributed noise from ground loops to RCA noise.

there may be some AC component to DC current from the amplifier demand varying with music. i still take care to route RCA's away from power wire not for noise, but for general organization. MECA and IASCA rules still say to do so. a remote turn-on has a constant current and DC voltage, it will not generate noise in RCA's. some RCA cables included a wire that could be used as a remote turn-on.

stevew007
06-06-2012, 05:10 PM
sorry but I've seen and fixed noise problems from power and rca's ran next to each other.the only thing that was changed was the route of the rca's and the noise went away.

husker77
07-29-2012, 08:39 PM
Some assembly required. I want to thank CAT MAN; and Flex68; RAM_Designs; for the help. The box is 14" x 14" x 48" with a 12" x 4" x 38" port. I used profuse amounts of liquid nails and 1 5/8 brads to assemble the box.

http://img689.imageshack.us/img689/5222/0729121656.jpg

The guy who cut the wood for me asked "what you building?" I said "a sub box for my boy's truck." He asked "what you putting in?" I said "Just one 12" eclipse." He then asked "titanium?" I was like whoa this guy knows at least a little something? He used to work in a stereo shop, he did a pretty nice job cutting my wood.

My boys first time using a jigsaw. And for all you pot smoking hippies, he is wearing a D.A.R.E shirt : )

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/3616/0729121711.jpg

Not to bad of a job, little jagged but not bad.

http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/5215/0729121716.jpg

husker77
07-29-2012, 08:43 PM
Second one was much better.

http://img215.imageshack.us/img215/7779/0729121733.jpg

Oh why a second one you ask? The first was to big for some reason, we traced the original box cutout. I think he just went to far on the outside of the line.

Here it is as far as I can get tonite. Since we had to cut a second subwoofer cutout we don't have a back piece anymore. Luckily had a piece left over just need to rip it down to the right width.

http://img812.imageshack.us/img812/4298/0729121833.jpg

A little weight till the glue dries.

http://img717.imageshack.us/img717/6760/0729121911.jpg

I did make a few mistakes, I put a nail in to close to an edge and split the wood a little, and a couple of the nails came through on the inside of the box. Nothing that should matter at all.

husker77
07-29-2012, 08:44 PM
This worries me a little, will it be a problem with the sub being that close to the port wall.

http://img696.imageshack.us/img696/2561/0729121833a.jpg

Opinions?

stevew007
07-29-2012, 10:33 PM
put some screws in it. if anything put some in the port board top and bottom because the sub will be loading off of it and it will come loose.also next time use good ol woodglue instead of liquidnails. cant remember who but they tested it along with screws and braids.

husker77
07-29-2012, 10:42 PM
I'm going to brace the port wall in a couple of places. Any time I have used the liquid nails, when I tried to break it apart it broke the wood and the glue joint was still together.

mazdakid
07-29-2012, 10:45 PM
Make the hole a little bigger on your first piece and use it as a flush mount. Cover your hole you have now with that flush mount piece, and put the sub away from the port mouth inside the box.

husker77
07-30-2012, 05:39 AM
Well this is the way that was recommended to me for an extended cab pickup. Port firing to the passenger side and sub forward as far to the driver side as possible.

Here is the discussion thread on the box design. http://www.caraudio.com/forums/enclosure-design-construction-help/550329-tell-me-if-i-got-right-please.html

Flex68
07-30-2012, 08:25 AM
Your son probably went to bed feeling as though he had the coolest pops, ever.....man, that's worth all the enclosures in the world!

Good job, Nebraska

CAT MAN
07-30-2012, 11:23 PM
ahhhhh i shouldhave went over a little bit more than i did.... you should be fine with that but it will unload pretty easily. thats the only issue with it. had i been thinking i wouldhave had you do a zig zag port near the pas. side.

CAT MAN
07-30-2012, 11:26 PM
Make the hole a little bigger on your first piece and use it as a flush mount. Cover your hole you have now with that flush mount piece, and put the sub away from the port mouth inside the box.

then it wouldnt be even sounding for both pass/driver. i kow my trucks.....just didnt go over this precise design

husker77
07-30-2012, 11:29 PM
ahhhhh i should have went over a little bit more than i did....

Which way? Also it could have gone a lot further to the driver side, but the seat belt was in the way.


you should be fine with that but it will unload pretty easily. that's the only issue with it. had i been thinking i would have had you do a zig zag port near the pas. side.

Well he will be running quite a bit of power, if it doesn't work we can always build another box.

CAT MAN
07-30-2012, 11:31 PM
Which way? Also it could have gone a lot further to the driver side, but the seat belt was in the way.



Well he will be running quite a bit of power, if it doesn't work we can always build another box.
ill get on it for you after i do murderlaunche's box....

husker77
07-30-2012, 11:34 PM
ill get on it for you after i do murderlaunche's box....

Unless it is terrible I probably wont do anything with it for a while. I HAVE to get my other boy's truck going before doing anything else.

mazdakid
07-31-2012, 12:12 AM
then it wouldnt be even sounding for both pass/driver. i kow my trucks.....just didnt go over this precise design

Your sub is firing right into the port opening.

husker77
07-31-2012, 05:27 AM
Your sub is firing right into the port opening.

No it is firing into the port wall, or at least about 2/3rds of it. I think the entire motor was in front of the port wall, if that makes sense. I was more worried about the fact there is only about 3" of clearance btw the sub and the port wall. Maybe I need to take a pic from a better angle.

husker77
07-31-2012, 05:43 AM
then it wouldn't be even sounding for both pass/driver. i know my trucks.....just didn't go over this precise design

Well I didn't pay you to design me a box, you guys just helped me sort out a few things, all on me. I should have looked at it a little better myself. I didn't even think of it when I was marking where to put the sub.

husker77
08-01-2012, 11:02 PM
http://img546.imageshack.us/img546/2416/portwall.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/546/portwall.jpg/)


So what if I put another board at the end of the port at an angle(see red line), should help with the unloading, but what would it do to the tuning?

CAT MAN
08-01-2012, 11:28 PM
http://img546.imageshack.us/img546/2416/portwall.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/546/portwall.jpg/)


So what if I put another board at the end of the port at an angle(see red line), should help with the unloading, but what would it do to the tuning?

could but it wouldnt load the port correctly and could throw off tuning. that box should be fine though.... or you coule flop it around and have sub/port on the driver if its that much concerning.

husker77
08-02-2012, 05:24 AM
could but it wouldnt load the port correctly and could throw off tuning.

That's what thought.


that box should be fine though.... or you coule flop it around and have sub/port on the driver if its that much concerning.

Not to concerned about it just thinking, inside the box I guess.

JimmyHelu
08-03-2012, 04:20 PM
Wh1teboy- did you use one of the computer program to design that box? the reas im asking is because i want to build something similar but i dont want to do the math to figure out the interior volume if the box.

CAT MAN
08-03-2012, 04:23 PM
Your sub is firing right into the port opening.
no port pas sub drivers. it works best for numbers and even sound. never have i had the port that close to the sub i usually use aeros.

Wh1teboy- did you use one of the computer program to design that box? the reas im asking is because i want to build something similar but i dont want to do the math to figure out the interior volume if the box.i tossed it into torres for him

husker77
08-03-2012, 04:26 PM
Hopefully get it finished up tomorrow afternoon, this week has been terrible busy. Been home for about 3 hours all week, at least waking hours.

mazdakid
08-03-2012, 04:31 PM
no port pas sub drivers. it works best for numbers and even sound. never have i had the port that close to the sub i usually use aeros.
i tossed it into torres for him

what?

CAT MAN
08-03-2012, 04:33 PM
what?

i read your quote wrong i guess. thought you were questioning the positioning of the port and sub. i didnt do this design fully or i woulda went another route...

CBeck
08-03-2012, 04:34 PM
2 things, first: nice work, second: lucky kid, wish somebody gave me stereo stuff haha

husker77
08-03-2012, 04:53 PM
2 things, first: nice work, second: lucky kid, wish somebody gave me stereo stuff haha

I didn't really give him anything, he bought the sub and will have to buy an amp or buy that one from me. I guess the wire but I had that laying around.

All three of my kids work during the summer, it is about a solid month of work, no days off, around 6-7 hour days in the field. They aren't home yet today so it has been almost 10 hours. It is called detassling, basically pull the tassle off all the female corn in a field of seed corn. They start the year they are 12 as of Jan 1st.

CBeck
08-03-2012, 04:59 PM
good stuff!

husker77
08-04-2012, 07:54 PM
I was going to put a couple of window braces in where btw the baffle and port wall(again see red lines), but I screwed up and put the back on so now I can't get to the port wall to attach the braces to it. What should I do, not worry about bracing, just nail where I can and use only glue where I can't nail?

http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/4995/braces.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/152/braces.jpg/)

travicles
08-04-2012, 08:36 PM
You really don't need any bracing for this particular application. The port already provides enough bracing.

husker77
08-04-2012, 08:40 PM
I am a afraid of the baffle flexing.

travicles
08-04-2012, 09:21 PM
Hmmm you will be fine since you're only running 400 watts. If it is really going to bother you though, you can just use a wooden dowel or two.

husker77
08-04-2012, 09:23 PM
He is running like 2000 watts.

husker77
08-05-2012, 09:35 PM
Some more box build pics.

http://img33.imageshack.us/img33/9398/0805121524a.jpg

Did end up putting in a brace btw the baffle and the port wall. Router ed the edges of the openings. I'm sure overkill and a waste of time, but oh well. I figured between nailing three edges and a couple nails in the fourth it should do a little something.

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/648/0805121523a.jpg

45s in all the corners.

http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/3503/0805121523b.jpg

5/16 brass ready rod for through box wiring.

http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/2764/0805121523.jpg

http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/1492/0805121523c.jpg

Got the top on

http://img140.imageshack.us/img140/3859/0805121604.jpg

Ran the router over every edge of the box.

http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/5752/0805121604a.jpg

husker77
08-05-2012, 09:46 PM
Made a piece to mount the amp and fuse holder to. It isn't screwed down or anything but it doesn't seem to want to move around. Cleaned up the wiring a little. 2 feet of 8awg short of getting it done today.

http://img23.imageshack.us/img23/7508/0805121827.jpg

http://img580.imageshack.us/img580/4470/0805121827a.jpg

http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/6174/0805121828.jpg

Put a couple of pieces on the bottom to raise it up a little to put a little space btw the amp and the box.

http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/5506/0805121948.jpg

husker77
08-06-2012, 08:44 PM
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/9747/0806121920.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/267/0806121920.jpg/)


http://img513.imageshack.us/img513/9066/0806121920a.jpg (http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/513/0806121920a.jpg/)

All done, except for finishing the box, gonna try it for a while and see how it is. I don't know it doesn't sound quite right to me, but I haven't really listened to a good stereo in a while. It is a lot louder, and sounds better than the prefab box it was in. I might run by the local shop and have a couple guys there take a listen and see what they think. I do think he needs to get a powered eq for the front speakers. One thing about the way it is all mounted is it is hard to adjust the amp, but I knew that when I was doing it, there just wasn't a lot of options, I didn't want it on top of the box. When his seat is in the normal position you can't see any of the components, only the top of the box, so it shouldn't draw to much attention.

CAT MAN
08-06-2012, 08:45 PM
hows it sound

husker77
08-06-2012, 08:56 PM
hows it sound

Pretty good, I think maybe there is something wrong with the sub itself, once in a while I think I hear some sort of mechanical noise. It might be the truck, it has zero sound deadening. But the box is tons better than the old one. It plays a lot louder and wider range. I might be expecting to much also, my last system was 2 15" ti.

He is very happy with it...



for now!

CAT MAN
08-06-2012, 08:57 PM
Pretty good, I think maybe there is something wrong with the sub itself, once in a while I think I hear some sort of mechanical noise. It might be the truck, it has zero sound deadening. But the box is tons better than the old one. It plays a lot louder and wider range. I might be expecting to much also, my last system was 2 15" ti.

He is very happy with it...



for now!

its prob unloading

husker77
08-06-2012, 09:01 PM
its prob unloading

I thought that was when the sub basically "lost control" of itself? I don't see the cone doing anything abnormal.

husker77
08-06-2012, 09:19 PM
So how did I do?