PDA

View Full Version : fuse discussion



kushy_dreams
06-03-2012, 04:36 AM
For all those that run small fuses for competitions to get in to as low of a class as possible, what size fuse/s are you running and how long do you have before it blows?

I was messing around with 30a fuses to get down to AS1 or S1 in Meca and it was blowing in about 10-15secs, I was hoping to get more out of it like around 30secs. Now I will have to go up to DB2 for Park and Pound because there's no way I can get a 30a fuse to last 30secs.

NoLoud4U
06-03-2012, 08:07 AM
I could burp a 30amp on ZX2500. The 30 second run needed a 60

CAT MAN
06-03-2012, 08:14 AM
I could burp a 30amp on ZX2500. The 30 second run needed a 60

exactly what i do. double fusing for the 30 second round. i run 60 and 120.

kushy_dreams
06-03-2012, 06:01 PM
Well if I'll have to double it to make it last 30 secs, I can go up to 70a to stay in DB2.

NoLoud4U
06-03-2012, 06:33 PM
Well if I'll have to double it to make it last 30 secs, I can go up to 70a to stay in DB2.

Test it out. The amps eff is going to be the deciding factor. Make sure you try at least three times to make sure it won't blow in the lane

keep_hope_alive
06-03-2012, 06:46 PM
Is there a rule for the type of fuses you can use? Come into the AC world and you can get long delay fuses that would last longer before blowing. You would just need to change the fuse holder.

Kangaroux
06-03-2012, 06:53 PM
Is there a rule for the type of fuses you can use? Come into the AC world and you can get long delay fuses that would last longer before blowing. You would just need to change the fuse holder.

I don't compete in MECA but iirc there is some sort of restriction about slow blow fuses. thegreatestpenn could tell you.

kushy_dreams
06-03-2012, 10:49 PM
Yep no slow blow fuses are allowed in Meca.

kushy_dreams
06-10-2012, 05:43 PM
so where's the best (cheapest) place to buy fuses from? specifically 30a agu fuses :D

kr15
06-10-2012, 05:51 PM
I was burping a cresendo 2k on 40a fuses, was getting about 5 seconds, which is plenty. I am now s2 and use 60a on a DD m3 at .5 and I get at least 10 seconds. I had good luck with AGUs last year in AS class. I am doing mini anl's this year. I dont do DB, so Im not sure about that, but 2x sounds like a good place to start

keep_hope_alive
06-10-2012, 08:41 PM
go to a junk yard. you can usually pull hundreds for free.

CAT MAN
06-10-2012, 11:31 PM
i need some 70 amp anl's.

keep_hope_alive
06-11-2012, 01:11 AM
ANL's are hard to come by in a junk yard. plenty of MAXI 60A fuses in the buicks and caddys.

kushy_dreams
06-11-2012, 03:41 PM
does anyone know if you can run more than 2 fuse inline in amateur street? like 2 15a fuses

Davecubs14
06-11-2012, 09:36 PM
ANL's are hard to come by in a junk yard. plenty of MAXI 60A fuses in the buicks and caddys.
Can't run maxi fuses in meca anymore:(

does anyone know if you can run more than 2 fuse inline in amateur street? like 2 15a fuses

If you're planning on running in AS 1 or S1, you can only run one fuse, in case you didn't know that.

But I would try agu fuses too. Some people have good luck with install bay. But not me.

keep_hope_alive
06-11-2012, 11:03 PM
you mean two fuses in parallel? that is how two 15A would be similar to one 30A.

AGU fuses are unreliable.

why no MAXI fuses? they are great!

Davecubs14
06-12-2012, 12:23 AM
you mean two fuses in parallel? that is how two 15A would be similar to one 30A.

AGU fuses are unreliable.

why no MAXI fuses? they are great!

You'd be surprised how many people in meca run agu fuses and have success. Maxi fuses used to be used.....until a few years ago. I'm pretty sure they caught on that they don't blow too easy. I personally like to use anl fuses. I had my run with mini anl's, pretty much a fail.

keep_hope_alive
06-12-2012, 12:50 AM
I'm not saying AGU fuses can't work, just that they aren't a reliable design. The solder holding the fuse element can fail before the element does.

Davecubs14
06-12-2012, 03:32 PM
I'm not saying AGU fuses can't work, just that they aren't a reliable design. The solder holding the fuse element can fail before the element does.


Ah, gotcha. Well...I haven't messed with every kind of fuse. But in this situation (trying to cram as much power through a fuse for at least 3-5 seconds), which kind of fuse would you look more into?

kushy_dreams
06-12-2012, 05:09 PM
After hours of research, Crutchfield has the fuses I need for .99/ea with free shipping so thats the best deal coupled with super quick shipping. I'm looking into marine/boat fuse gangs to run a bunch of small fuses in line to get as much surface area for the current to travel over. A competitor at the last show I went to was burping 8 dc 5ks on 99 3a atc fuses.

Davecubs14
06-12-2012, 07:44 PM
After hours of research, Crutchfield has the fuses I need for .99/ea with free shipping so thats the best deal coupled with super quick shipping. I'm looking into marine/boat fuse gangs to run a bunch of small fuses in line to get as much surface area for the current to travel over. A competitor at the last show I went to was burping 8 dc 5ks on 99 3a atc fuses.

99 3 amp fuses? That's crazy. It might have looked cool, but kind of pointless, lol. That'll put you in street or mod 5, so in that case, run 10 300 amp fuses or whatever and be done with it, lol.

CAT MAN
06-12-2012, 08:02 PM
99 3 amp fuses? That's crazy. It might have looked cool, but kind of pointless, lol. That'll put you in street or mod 5, so in that case, run 10 300 amp fuses or whatever and be done with it, lol.
well the more you can spread it out the longer it will last.

will3
06-13-2012, 10:43 AM
Try using the cheaper AGU fuses , most guys here are using Audiopipe, Install Bay , XXX, etc. and have pretty good luck with them, and running 99 fuses would be pointless because it should put you in a S-M 5 class where fuses aren't required anyway
In 2 class where you can run a max of two fuses, try running a large ANL (300amp) in series into a smaller fuse (60 amp AGU/ANL) only the last fuse will count as long as they are wired in series, start by using the fewest fuses as possible, the more fuses you run the more resistance you will have.

kushy_dreams
06-13-2012, 11:54 AM
99 3 amp fuses? That's crazy. It might have looked cool, but kind of pointless, lol. That'll put you in street or mod 5, so in that case, run 10 300 amp fuses or whatever and be done with it, lol.

Well I'm not saying I would run that many fuses, but I'd like to be able to adapt the same concept. The guy was in radical x1 doing 164s and in db5 park and pound he did 133.

kushy_dreams
06-14-2012, 12:25 AM
I'm not saying AGU fuses can't work, just that they aren't a reliable design. The solder holding the fuse element can fail before the element does.

I was playing around on the meter today for maybe an 30-45mins or so and it was real hot out...I pull out of the parking lot I was in and the bass cuts out. At first I thought I put the amp into thermal protect because it was pretty hot to the touch....turns out the solder came loose on my fuse at the battery up front. Only took a few hours of taking the amp out and giving it to an electrical engineer to test the circuits, only to find out the power wires had no power. The fuses looked perfect too, that why I didn't check them beyond a visual inspection. Macro mode on my Epic ftw. This thing takes excellent detailed shots up close.

http://img37.imageshack.us/img37/9381/20120613180334.jpg

kr15
06-14-2012, 12:35 AM
5 class is unlimited on fuse count, lower classes are allowed the total # of fuses to equal their class #, so long as that rating value with cone area does not exceed the specific class limits. I like AGUs, and I have definately seen cheaper fuses do better. I saw an audiopipe 300a fuse have the filament turn red hot and smoke, but not pop

keep_hope_alive
06-14-2012, 05:59 PM
I Macro mode on my Epic ftw. This thing takes excellent detailed shots up close.



that is an awesome close-up pic. nice camera!

CAT MAN
06-14-2012, 07:37 PM
ive always wanted to put 100a in a 70a case for an agu....