PDA

View Full Version : Help A Noob Out! Please :)

Quick
05-14-2012, 08:39 PM
Alright so I want to make a box. The box I have now is particle board so that is really bad I hear lol. I know I need to buy some MDF wood from Home depot, and that I have to make a rectangle, but that's about all I got lol. IM A COMPLETE NOOB. Let me get that out of the way so please have some patience with me. I don't really know the lingo for stereo's so it trips me up, and if I do know the abbreviation for it, doesn't mean I know what it does. I see the words your box is tuned to say 50 hz, I don't really know what that means.

My setup is a Kicker 250.2 amp and I have 2 Volfenhag 500RMS 12" subs. They are 6 and a half inches deep. I really need help on a good dimension, and whether it should be ported or not, I need help from people that know what they're doing, like all of you! I would like some dimensions if you guys could help me with that, and some clues on what to do with tuning and stuff. Let me know the dimensions and I'll see if I can make it fit in my trunk.

Thanks for reading and hopefully you can help me out!

Here are my Subwoofer specs:
12" Dual 4 ohms Competition Subwoofer
Power Handling:
Peak: 1000 watts
RMS: 500 watts
Impedance: Dual 4 ohms
Reinforced aluminum curvilinear woofer
Oversized butyl rubber surround
5 spoke Die-cast aluminum basket
2 Flat ultra excursion
Double damper magnetic motor assembly
4 Layer Dual 4 Ohm high temperature black aluminum voice coil
160 oz. Double stacked ferrite magnet structure
Sensitivity: 90 dB
1-year Manufacturer's warranty

Here are my Amps specs:
RMS Power @ 4 ohms 85 watts x 2 channels
RMS Power @ 2 ohms 125 watts x 2 channels
RMS Power @ 1 ohm N/A
Bridged RMS Power 250 watts x 1 channel
Peak Power Output N/A
Amplifier Specifications
Amplifier Class AB
Number of Channels 2
Total Peak Power Output N/A
Total RMS Power Output 250 watts
Maximum Input Gauge Size 8 AWG
Minimum Impedance Unbridged 2 ohms