PDA

View Full Version : Amp rack help!



rdlyn13000
05-03-2012, 08:37 AM
I built this box for my 10 which im pretty happy with the sound, I still think it could be better but will do for now. yesterday I built a quick amp rack which im kinda happy with but at the same time not happy with (if that makes sence)

So Im looking for recommendations on how to either finish this off or change it up a little? What do you all think, how can I make this look better? And I know my power wire looks like **** but its just a little to short to hide it :(

http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/5b955622.jpg
http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/22cb0fb3.jpg

rdlyn13000
05-03-2012, 03:54 PM
ttt

jaeguerra909
05-03-2012, 04:08 PM
Does the seat fold down? If so why dont u just mount it on the back seat

rdlyn13000
05-03-2012, 04:12 PM
It dies fold down but I want to see it when I open the trunk and be ablw to tune it there. And I think it looks better then on the seat...

audiobaun
05-03-2012, 04:23 PM
Does the seat fold down? If so why dont u just mount it on the back seat

amp will get hot, and prob shut down...#1 reason why amps bite the dust with exception of wiring wrong ohm load...heat!

audiobaun
05-03-2012, 04:40 PM
you could roll it down with jl lettering straight,and bring the amp approx 2in up from the surface(may have to make another rack mount piece)cut approx a 3in oval opening at bottom area for your wiring to come through, and home depot sells a light weight rv/out door grey carpet looking rug 6x8 for like $20, and spray adheesive for about $4wrap it up slice the opening for wires come through.do a bottom piece too/plate to be able sit flat to screw to surface, andbe able to attatch a 2x2 block flat to that, and screw the amp plate to that for stability.when mounting that amp too,i recommend you place like 5-6 washers under each foot to get the amp off of the flat surface to help for air circulation rather than sitting flat collecting heat.you will have enough carpet left to wrap your box also.thats what i have done for amp rack exposed in several vehicles, and looks good/secure also..not expensive to do, but looks like it cost to have had it done..just my 2cents:D

audiobaun
05-03-2012, 04:43 PM
by the way..nice n clean install,and looks great

rdlyn13000
05-03-2012, 06:16 PM
Good info man! I have noticed that sense I mounted that map I think it's cutting out a little? Even smelt a little electrical smell so I shut it down. I think I'll get some spacers on there ASAP!

audiobaun
05-03-2012, 06:21 PM
Good info man! I have noticed that sense I mounted that map I think it's cutting out a little? Even smelt a little electrical smell so I shut it down. I think I'll get some spacers on there ASAP!

that will help out..later on..if you can swing $30 or so..i recommend a crossflow fan has /puts out approx 50+cfm keep her running even cooler since amp is mounted in trunk.can be wired off of amp remote, and supply/ ground so comes on/off when amp kicks on and off:)

rdlyn13000
05-03-2012, 06:40 PM
That's a great idea as well! I'm trying to swap the 500 watt out for a 1000, I'm not sure if the 1000 will run cooler or warmer then the 500 but either way a fan is a good idea...

It's weird when u had the amp just "floating" around back there it never got warm but now it does sense I mounted it. Looks like I'll be throwing spacers in tonight!

rdlyn13000
05-04-2012, 12:16 AM
Ok spacers are installed, hopefully she runs cooler now! I ran into a very weird wiring issue the ill get more in depth to tomorrow. Until then kelp the info coming!

audiobaun
05-04-2012, 12:20 AM
Ok spacers are installed, hopefully she runs cooler now! I ran into a very weird wiring issue the ill get more in depth to tomorrow. Until then kelp the info coming!

good deal man...curious to find out the issue...always curious:D

rdlyn13000
05-22-2012, 02:14 PM
got a new amp and need some ideas for where to mount the amps. heres what i have right now, what can I do to make it look better?

P.S. dont mint the wood blocks all over, they are just temporary so the box doesnt slide around...

http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/d57453be.jpg
http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/40481a57.jpg

gckless
09-06-2012, 06:39 PM
got a new amp and need some ideas for where to mount the amps. heres what i have right now, what can I do to make it look better?

P.S. dont mint the wood blocks all over, they are just temporary so the box doesnt slide around...

http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/d57453be.jpg
http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/40481a57.jpg

You ever figure this out?

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 08:27 AM
You ever figure this out?

Yeah everything you see in the pic is gone Lol! Now im running a 12-zv3 in a custom box off an saz1500 and Kinetik HC2000...

subzero
09-07-2012, 08:30 AM
Yeah everything you see in the pic is gone Lol! Now im running a 12-zv3 in a custom box off an saz1500 and Kinetik HC2000...

post pics

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 08:37 AM
Ok give me a few minutes

goingdef
09-07-2012, 08:38 AM
Yeah everything you see in the pic is gone Lol! Now im running a 12-zv3 in a custom box off an saz1500 and Kinetik HC2000...

you know when noticed this bumped up, I thought to myself if this guy is anything like the rest of us the whole system has been changed by now! And you have LOL!

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 08:41 AM
you know when noticed this bumped up, I thought to myself if this guy is anything like the rest of us the whole system has been changed by now! And you have LOL!

HAHAHA oh yeah A LOT has changed!!! Re-wired car with a couple runs of zero gauge, deadener all over, all interior speakers changed and amped, purchased a meter and built a burp box, been doing a lot of testing and about to go to my first comp on the 16th!! Lol

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 08:44 AM
Its not pretty right now because of all the testing ive been doing. Once the comp is over I will clean it all up.... Pics arent 100% current but pretty close to what it looks like now...

http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/B791766C-793A-44F7-B96E-B577CABDE54D-1711-0000020C31F0C01D.jpghttp://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/BA7CEDD3-8A75-45AD-B6BA-4E1EE0BAA087-1649-00000139D393FC9D.jpg
http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac211/RDLYN13000/D97DB9EE-1498-442B-961C-1BF88CFFDBCB-5127-0000043E6199A9C0.jpg

subzero
09-07-2012, 08:46 AM
nice. gave me some ideas. feel free to check out my build logs.

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 08:49 AM
Yup I'll take a peak...

gckless
09-07-2012, 08:50 AM
Like that box! The decal is nice too :)

What you got now is a pretty good setup if you are changing stuff out and testing, except for the amp mounted to the box. I had originally thought you were going to go with a cleaner, more permanent install. Then again, you might have thought that back then too! Things change quick :thumbsup:

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 08:56 AM
Hey subzero I fail at internet, can you PM me links to your build logs if you dont mind....

And yeah I originally was going for clean and would still like to some day but the bug bit me hard!! I dont like the amp mounted on the box either but Im tight on space in this car. Im going to pull everything out tonight and move the battery into the spare tire are then hopefully find a better spot for that amp...

The box is very nice as well, gets down like a mutha! I cant even get my burp box to out do it Lol

gckless
09-07-2012, 09:05 AM
Well man, if you are constantly going to be pulling boxes in and out, the back of the seat next to your other amp is a perfect spot. Or maybe it's time for a false floor? :naughty:

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 09:25 AM
Where would I do a false door?

gckless
09-07-2012, 09:44 AM
I guess I just assumed it was like mine. :/ Maybe not. I have a plastic peice covered in carpet that sits over the spare tire and covers the rest of the bottom of the trunk. I take that out and it's all stamped metal, and theres no flat spots. I'm going to assume yours is different based on your reaction.

rdlyn13000
09-07-2012, 09:52 AM
Yup mines different lol