PDA

View Full Version : bigger = better ??



mwjames
04-23-2012, 01:39 AM
so i'm currently using 2 12inch sony xplod's (hold the laughs please) that handle 350rms a piece, i have them in a box that's only giving them about 1cubic foot each. If i were to double the size of the box would that give more bump?? I'm looking for your opinions and or theorys about it.

I also have a 10 inch alpine type x but it needs repair and 2 12inch audiobahns but i don't feel like running them at the moment.

audiobaun
04-23-2012, 02:00 AM
Look at the specs for your subs, but for me , in most cases, I find that around 1.6-2.4 cu ft ported per 10-12in sub meets my satisfactory.Believe it or not/bash as you may..those Audiobahns will more than likely out perform those Sony subs all day long..IMO:D

ssteele18
04-23-2012, 02:09 AM
Look at the specs for your subs, but for me , in most cases, I find that around 1.6-2.4 cu ft ported per 10-12in sub meets my satisfactory.Believe it or not/bash as you may..those Audiobahns will more than likely out perform those Sony subs all day long..IMO:D

^^ agreed :)

wickedwitt
04-23-2012, 02:10 AM
At your current dimensions, yes, doubling the box size would net you decent gains.

Bettr n' Revrse
04-23-2012, 02:12 AM
My advice is to sell everything and start from scratch...

mylows10
04-23-2012, 02:26 AM
My advice is to sell everything and start from scratch...

^^^^this.and a bigger box will get lower but you'll loose power from box rise

brynm
04-23-2012, 02:31 AM
First question that should be asked, is the box you have them in sealed or ported?

mwjames
04-23-2012, 02:36 AM
it's a sealed box for the sony's. I know the audiobahn's would outperform the sony's but they're rated at 1,000 rms a piece so i'm waiting to to gather a little bit of money so i can build or buy a decent single box. Or to get my alpine fixed

RSDXzec
04-23-2012, 04:24 AM
it's a sealed box for the sony's. I know the audiobahn's would outperform the sony's but they're rated at 1,000 rms a piece so i'm waiting to to gather a little bit of money so i can build or buy a decent single box. Or to get my alpine fixed

doesn't matter if they're 1000rms, all that means is they'll be underpowered on your current amp, so like having it on lower volume. I would definitely port them. I used to have in a 1cf sealed box, now it's in a 2.3cf ported box and god **** what a difference that made.

tc300
04-23-2012, 05:14 AM
Send that alpine to psi and have it turned into a 12 or 15... Sell all the other stuff u have and buy "good" quality amp... You'll be set then!!

Thats the route i would go...

Bettr n' Revrse
04-23-2012, 05:55 AM
Send that alpine to psi and have it turned into a 12 or 15... Sell all the other stuff u have and buy "good" quality amp... You'll be set then!!

Thats the route i would go...

Id just take it apart ans send the motor to Corey if it where me...

tc300
04-23-2012, 06:37 AM
Id just take it apart ans send the motor to Corey if it where me...

Thats SPLaudio correct..???

Bettr n' Revrse
04-23-2012, 06:37 AM
Thats SPLaudio correct..???

Yep

EagleEye
04-23-2012, 07:11 AM
Dear mwjames,

EagleEye
04-23-2012, 07:15 AM
Dear Mwjames,
For 12 inch speakers , if you want best thumps, then the acoustic volume of the enclosure must be of 44 liters as that of in JBL 1215T bass tube model. You will be astonished by the results.

Regards,
EagleEye

tc300
04-23-2012, 07:18 AM
Dear Mwjames,
For 12 inch speakers , if you want best thumps, then the acoustic volume of the enclosure must be of 44 liters as that of in JBL 1215T bass tube model. You will be astonished by the results.

Regards,
EagleEye


Ummmmm.... W H A T.?!!?!! Lol

Bettr n' Revrse
04-23-2012, 07:35 AM
Dear Mwjames,
For 12 inch speakers , if you want best thumps, then the acoustic volume of the enclosure must be of 44 liters as that of in JBL 1215T bass tube model. You will be astonished by the results.

Regards,
EagleEye

Excuse me?

Buck
04-23-2012, 11:25 AM
Do da ported box.