PDA

View Full Version : Too little port area?

divebombvt
03-23-2012, 12:34 AM
I am putting a kicker L5 15" in a 6.59 cu ft box(6.4 after displacements) I am using one 6 inch adjustable aeroport tune to 27.5hz-35hz. The port is completely external and of course flared to cut down on port noise. I know that I am no where near the 12-14" per cube rule, im only pulling about 4.42 per cube right now. To keep the port external each port needs to be no longer than 12". Should I get some 10" pvc and flare it myself, or get another 6" aeroport or two and just leave some of the port in the box, how much does internal versus external port effect outcome. I'm just a daily driver, no spl, a little flex would be cool :)

Falcons
03-23-2012, 12:35 AM
thats a wide range of tuning you got there lol

divebombvt
03-23-2012, 12:43 AM
Ha, I just cut 3 insert pieces to add together and tune. I can do 27.5 30 32 and 35 roughly. I could get down to 26.65 if I add everything, but I am thinking that might be a little low lol

thats a wide range of tuning you got there lol

wickedwitt
03-23-2012, 12:45 AM
You need more port than that. Try finding another couple 6"s or do like you said and build one.

divebombvt
03-23-2012, 12:48 AM
In order to do either I would have to put some of the port in the box, how much will this effect the amount of air it pushes. This setup I am describing is just so its not sealed while I figure out a tuning I like. Still under construction so throw ideas my way

Moble Enclosurs
03-23-2012, 03:04 AM
There are too many figures to do before you will know what exactly will happen when you partially load the port(s) into the box, but I will say that if you are looking for a more daily driver setup, you have two things you can automatically improve on before even a design can be figured. You are looking at the design in a different way than it should be viewed right now.