PDA

View Full Version : jacob and dbeez thank you my V3's made it look at these monsters



tdford5
03-10-2012, 05:08 PM
thanks to these 2 gentlemen got my v3's today and let me say wow they are MONSTERS and jacob even signed the dust caps for me
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm316/buckeyesr1/015.jpg
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm316/buckeyesr1/017-2.jpg
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm316/buckeyesr1/018-1.jpg
http://i299.photobucket.com/albums/mm316/buckeyesr1/020.jpg

sundownz
03-10-2012, 06:13 PM
Hope you enjoy them !

05fronty
03-10-2012, 06:14 PM
hmm what iz that?

Kangaroux
03-10-2012, 06:15 PM
hmm what iz that?

Tweeters

tdford5
03-10-2012, 06:18 PM
yeah if i can keep my saz 3000 from goin in protect mode im lost on this one

05fronty
03-10-2012, 06:21 PM
jacob sign my nightshade!!!!!!!

tdford5
03-10-2012, 06:27 PM
jacob sign my nightshade!!!!!!!

hope i didnt start a trend here jacob.lol

05trailblazer
03-10-2012, 07:15 PM
never sell them!! nice looking subs though no doubt!!

tdford5
03-10-2012, 07:19 PM
never sell them!! nice looking subs though no doubt!!

Hell i couldnt afford to ship them.lol

05trailblazer
03-10-2012, 08:29 PM
Hell i couldnt afford to ship them.lol
lol so what box size are going for??

tdford5
03-10-2012, 09:18 PM
well had one being built by starr mountain but tornado's kinda threw that in a bind ,so right no in my old sa box which is bouts 4 cubes

05trailblazer
03-10-2012, 09:34 PM
well had one being built by starr mountain but tornado's kinda threw that in a bind ,so right no in my old sa box which is bouts 4 cubes
kinda small i wonder how they'll sound. whats wring with that saz amp of yours?

tdford5
03-10-2012, 10:02 PM
keeps going into to protect but i think i found out the problem..i did think a bad ground could cause
Bad voltage drops???

Kangaroux
03-10-2012, 10:07 PM
A poor ground connection will cause voltage drop because of the high amount of resistance

tdford5
03-10-2012, 10:10 PM
A poor ground connection will cause voltage drop because of the high amount of resistance

So my stupid *** running ground from the battery instead of off the chassis for the amp could be the
Problem?? Man i feel dumb...

Kangaroux
03-10-2012, 10:14 PM
So my stupid *** running ground from the battery instead of off the chassis for the amp could be the
Problem?? Man i feel dumb...

Should have practically 0 resistance running it straight from the battery. If you are getting bad voltage drop maybe your battery isn't in great condition? A dying battery will cause heavy voltage drop

tdford5
03-10-2012, 10:17 PM
Ok.how do.u.check.this?? Its a brand new battery..xs power 3400..should i.move the ground back to
The chassis like i once had it?

Kangaroux
03-10-2012, 10:23 PM
Ok.how do.u.check.this?? Its a brand new battery..xs power 3400..should i.move the ground back to
The chassis like i once had it?

You can try grounding it to the chassis and see if it helps any but I don't think it will be any improvement, a direct ground to the battery is the best ground you can get.

VWBobby
03-10-2012, 10:31 PM
What kind of alternator are you running? not enough amps = dead battery/voltage drops.

dbeez
03-10-2012, 10:58 PM
He has a singer 270 or so and try to check where the rear batt is grounded a bad ground will cause massive voltage drop as in dc circuits the ground is the return path

pro-rabbit
03-10-2012, 11:07 PM
Those look sick!!! They should work out ok in the old enclosure, but with the extra weight and such it may have some issues with flex perhaps as it wasn't really built with the those massive tanks in mind lol. Tuning will be altered a bit as well do to displacement.


Get these in installed already and let is know what you think.

dbeez
03-10-2012, 11:13 PM
Those look sick!!! They should work out ok in the old enclosure, but with the extra weight and such it may have some issues with flex perhaps as it wasn't really built with the those massive tanks in mind lol. Tuning will be altered a bit as well do to displacement.


Get these in installed already and let is know what you think.
He did he can't really work them out as he is having issues.

pro-rabbit
03-10-2012, 11:27 PM
Ah, missed that part. Is there a thread on it?

dbeez
03-10-2012, 11:46 PM
yeah if i can keep my saz 3000 from goin in protect mode im lost on this one

Right here in this thread rabbit.

dbeez
03-10-2012, 11:48 PM
I am pretty sure he has a grounding issueissue as he is having bad voltage drop. We had this issue once in a buddies explorer I took a wire grounded his Batts to the alt bot and wham voltage stayed up much better.

tdford5
03-11-2012, 05:26 AM
RABbit yes they are freakin loud in the sa box u built me,,,@ dbeez yeah going back today and shorten all power wires and i made dual inputs for my sundown so im goin to install the ground inputs this morning asap i hope this works ,thanks all for the quick responses much appreciated , dbeez glad to see u made it home ok thanks again bro

Bettr n' Revrse
03-11-2012, 05:40 AM
Those are monsters... I wanna see a new version of the Z

dbeez
03-11-2012, 05:49 AM
That is the new version of the z unless you want to see a v4 come out.

tdford5
03-11-2012, 05:59 AM
Ok im off to see if i can tackle this problem..i hope its the ground will soon find out thanks all

Bettr n' Revrse
03-11-2012, 06:21 AM
That is the new version of the z unless you want to see a v4 come out.

Thought these where night shades?

Canaan
03-11-2012, 06:53 AM
The SA Zv3 is a pretty sick sub.

We tried a D1 Zv3 in Cory's truck in 2.5cuft@36hz on an IA20.1 (original version) just to see what it would do. We already had the box built...I was just a demo box we had around the shop for the sound-room. We have found that in-vehicle, this sub needs a smaller box and lower tuning though. We plan to do a center console box in Cory's '04 quadcab ram very soon. Thinking ~2-2.25cuft @ 30-32hz...just have to crunch some #'s and nail down the design.

Even though the current box is somewhat off from what the Zv3 wants in this vehicle, it still performs amazingly well. I just want to tweak the design to tailor it to Cory's listening habits better.

I have to say, the Zv3 is insane for the $. People that buy Kicker L7, Memphis Mojo, RF T2, and other mainstream subs would be very sad when they get outperformed by the SA-Zv3

sundownz
03-11-2012, 11:06 AM
Thought these where night shades?

New Z v.3 model is similar in heft to a Nightshade... the coil is bigger than the NS v.1 and the motor just as strong but with less distortion :)

It was close enough to the NS v.2 that we decided to move ahead to the NS v.3 model.

groundpound4200
03-11-2012, 12:07 PM
How do I get a pair of those?

pro-rabbit
03-11-2012, 12:58 PM
Ok im off to see if i can tackle this problem..i hope its the ground will soon find out thanks all

If you need some help feel free to call me, I would be happy to help if I can.

Almost a shame that you don't have a box with a viewing window with those...lol they look so ****.

RAM_Designs
03-11-2012, 01:06 PM
Keep your ground to the batt and add another directly to the chassis as well. But first, check your voltage at the amp when it goes into protect to see if voltage is even the issue.

pro-rabbit
03-11-2012, 01:11 PM
Dmm will be your friend today. Lol

If I have an issue like yours I normally check things in a quick check order.

Check front voltage with engine off then on.

Check voltage at the back battery with enigine off then on.

Check voltage at the amp with engine off then on. Then again while playing.

I also check the speaker wiring at the amp as well.

sundownz
03-11-2012, 01:45 PM
How do I get a pair of those?

They are for sale through all local and online dealers :

Find a Dealer (http://www.sundownaudio.com/index.php/dealers.html)

pro-rabbit
03-11-2012, 01:51 PM
They are for sale through all local and online dealers :

Find a Dealer (http://www.sundownaudio.com/index.php/dealers.html)

Sent you an email the other day, sir. :fro:

tdford5
03-11-2012, 03:55 PM
here guys watch the videos i posted on this
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/amplifiers/537950-saz-3000d-going-into-protect-mode-help-2.html

Bettr n' Revrse
03-11-2012, 05:08 PM
New Z v.3 model is similar in heft to a Nightshade... the coil is bigger than the NS v.1 and the motor just as strong but with less distortion :)

It was close enough to the NS v.2 that we decided to move ahead to the NS v.3 model.

Awww ok I just read something about the new NS and didn't know you where doing a V3 Z so I assumed it was the new NS... I may very well try one out but need to get my TC built first...

groundpound4200
03-12-2012, 12:07 PM
They are for sale through all local and online dealers :

Find a Dealer (http://www.sundownaudio.com/index.php/dealers.html)

I thought these were the Nightshade V.3 haha. Email headed your way as well....

sundownz
03-12-2012, 12:25 PM
The NS v.3 is a based on a larger motor than these ;)

Kangaroux
03-12-2012, 12:34 PM
The NS v.3 is a based on a larger motor than these ;)

What's the diameter on the motor?

disturbed471985
03-12-2012, 12:39 PM
What's the diameter on the motor?

Big LOL.. From my understanding no 10" NS...... By the way them beast look beautiful..

sundownz
03-12-2012, 12:42 PM
The Z v.3 is 220mm slugs (commonly called 9" but actually 8.66) -- the NS v.3 is 250mm slugs (commonly called 10" but actually 9.85)

Kangaroux
03-12-2012, 12:43 PM
The Z v.3 is 220mm slugs (commonly called 9" but actually 8.66) -- the NS v.3 is 250mm slugs (commonly called 10" but actually 9.85)

Nightshade 8, make it happen lol

sundownz
03-12-2012, 01:04 PM
Nightshade 8, make it happen lol

LoL... well the X-8 frame is designed to bolt to a standard pattern... so if you wanted an 8" that you couldn't mount in the hole we could build one whenever those are done.