PDA

View Full Version : custom box question



pinoy2o9
03-07-2012, 12:05 AM
pic of my box.....

its 4cubic ft tuned 32hz i ended up painting it with flat black and then a stone type texture color. Not the best but.....
also, would i be able to put two more 4" ports in this enclosure?

http://i398.photobucket.com/albums/pp66/pinoytoy2o9/photo2.jpg

mylows10
03-07-2012, 12:07 AM
paint it ,iy will be fine ,you can round the corners ,and resin the inside

pinoy2o9
03-07-2012, 12:36 AM
what would be the best way to round off the corners?

splwj47
03-07-2012, 12:42 AM
i painted mine. here is how it turned out.
it turned out really good, and i was really happy with it.

pinoy2o9
03-07-2012, 12:46 AM
thats a clean job on ur box. bet that took alot of cans.

splwj47
03-07-2012, 12:50 AM
thats a clean job on ur box. bet that took alot of cans.

i didnt use spray paint, i just used regular paint with a brush, took 3 coats and about 4 hours

pinoy2o9
03-07-2012, 12:54 AM
i would have never thought brushed on paint from lookin at the pics.
should i try that route? or just spray can.

splwj47
03-07-2012, 01:01 AM
i would go with a brush, take ur time do a nice job. it will come out nicer in the end.

pinoy2o9
03-07-2012, 01:18 AM
i think im go with the brush look.
so what should i do with about rounding off the corners?

pro-rabbit
03-07-2012, 01:50 AM
A router with a roundover bit is the best way to round over the edges, the next way would be to snag some sand paper and go to town on sanding.

If you paint the enclosure I highly suggest sanding all areas where wood meet up with another to smooth them out and then bondo them and smooth them to get rid of the seem. It will make the painted enclosure look 10x better then if you didn't all of that.

jirehn
03-07-2012, 01:55 AM
Much better if you paint your box, It is much great.

pinoy2o9
03-07-2012, 04:16 AM
im take a pic of the box so u guys can check it out.
thanks for the info guys.

pinoy2o9
03-11-2012, 05:27 AM
pic up*

Canaan
03-11-2012, 06:56 AM
pic of my box.....

its 4cubic ft tuned 32hz i ended up painting it with flat black and then a stone type texture color. Not the best but.....
also, would i be able to put two more 4" ports in this enclosure?

http://i398.photobucket.com/albums/pp66/pinoytoy2o9/photo2.jpg

Ok, given the power, subs, and vehicle you have....i would stay that it is likely that your hear some some port noise at high volume.

I looked at your post sig...

HU: Kenwood DDX418
EQ: ???
F Stage: (2)Arc Audio KS6006 component front and rear
R Stage: 2 Arc Audio Flatline FL12D4
Box: 4.0 ft^3 2x 4"-port tuned @ 32Hz
Amps: (2)Arc Audio KS1000.1 & (2)Image Dynamics i2300
Wiring: 1/0 xscorpion wiring, Streetwire cbr44s
Electrical: Stinger SPV35 *rear*, Big 3

Here at the shop, I carry Xscorpion and ARC. I know that their products are not lacking in the quality department. (As long as you have Xscorpion Expert-Link 1/0ga that is).


I do not know the actual box specs of your current enclosure, but adding 2-4" ports to the current design would effectively raise the tuning ALOT. Likely ~15hz rise in tuning.

So, I will say this to you. Being online, I can't have personal contact w/ you...but I will treat you as-if you where a customer that walked thru my door here at the shop.

So...I ask you this....

What about your current system do you like?
What about your current system do you NOT like?
Have you listened to a system recently that you REALLY like?
If so, what did that system consist of?

pinoy2o9
03-11-2012, 02:26 PM
I like the way my system sounds. So adding 2 more Ports is pretty much a no no?
I c where u coming from. THANKS.

pinoy2o9
03-11-2012, 02:27 PM
I like the way my system sounds. So adding 2 more Ports is pretty much a no no?
I c where u coming from. THANKS.