PDA

View Full Version : WTT Anybody got a Type R?



Cinderella
03-02-2012, 12:55 PM
EDIT: I've come to decide to take the forum's word of advice and keep the products I have, and just be careful w/my gains and other amp settings. If a moderator or helpful forum member comes along, could you explain how to delete a thread?

Hey everyone..I'm kinda' new to this forum, but I'm gonna get straight to it. I purchased a system from a guy about a month ago, and he claimed the sub (a 15" Type R) was being run @ 2 ohms on a Kenwood KAC-9105 giving it 900w. Well, turns out the subwoofer is actually the dual 2 ohm version, and he was running it at 4 ohms, giving it only 500w. I sold the Kenwood and picked up a Hifonics BRZ1200, and I'd like to get rid of my DVC 2 version and trade for a 4-ohm DVC sub to run it at 2 ohms..

This Type R's in great condition, and as you can see, has never been put to more power than it can handle. It's a clean sub and I'd like to trade it for a DVC 4 version, if anybody is willing. I'll also throw in some money if you want. Thanks, guys. :)

http://i42.tinypic.com/2v9dm6v.jpg

http://i39.tinypic.com/33otyjt.jpg

http://i40.tinypic.com/2ywd4rb.jpg

RangerDangerV2
03-02-2012, 01:07 PM
gonna need pics of sub with username and date...

Cinderella
03-02-2012, 01:14 PM
Okay, I'll upload a picture when I get home..I'm in study hall right now. I'm focused on my education. :graduate:

Haha, in all seriousness, I've got a picture on my phone. I'll get home in about 4 hours and I'll get them uploaded.

RangerDangerV2
03-02-2012, 01:20 PM
I is edumacated...

mazdakid
03-02-2012, 03:39 PM
Why dont you just run the sub at 1 ohm with the new amp?

skylineTT
03-02-2012, 03:44 PM
Why dont you just run the sub at 1 ohm with the new amp?

FREAKING THIS! you have an amp that does it's thing at 1ohm.. just parallel the 2ohm coils and run that bish at 1ohm to get the power and let it boogy.

its_bacon12
03-02-2012, 04:03 PM
Prepare for the trolls.

Cinderella
03-05-2012, 01:07 PM
Haha, I don't know, I was considering it, but it'll eventually fry the Type R..I don't want a dead sub..

pro-rabbit
03-05-2012, 01:10 PM
You can use the settings on the amp to have it produce a lower level of power to keep the sub safe. No reason to change your product though.

mazdakid
03-05-2012, 01:10 PM
The type r 15 should have no problem with that hifonics amp at 1 ohm unless you clip the sub to death.

SourDeez
03-05-2012, 01:53 PM
The type r 15 should have no problem with that hifonics amp at 1 ohm unless you clip the sub to death.

Yup

The brz1200 is a perfect match for running the 15 at 1 ohm.

Keep the gain and boosts low. But you will be good to go

Cinderella
03-08-2012, 08:06 PM
Finally got pics uploaded. Sorry about the quality, though. :p:

EDIT: I'm considering keeping the subwoofer, and as others have suggested, running it @ 1 ohm, keeping my amp settings low.

Anybody know how to erase a thread?

Bettr n' Revrse
03-08-2012, 08:10 PM
Do a little search on gain settings... Ive ran a 150 watt sub on a 4000 watt amp just find but you need to set the gains right...