PDA

View Full Version : box tuning help afte box is built



TexMexThugga
02-28-2012, 01:07 AM
i just built a box for 3 10s 37" wide 12" depth and 12" high. the port is 9" deep and 2.5" apart. i dont know what the tuning is and im sure its too high and if it is how would i lower it ill try to put real pictures tomarrow

26530818

IonRL205
02-28-2012, 01:18 AM
So you're saying you built an enclosure and just put a random sized port on it, not even knowing what it is tuned to?

mylows10
02-28-2012, 01:19 AM
pretty much i think

mylows10
02-28-2012, 01:22 AM
dude your box is tuned to like 50 htz,you need to add alot more port

MANTI5
02-28-2012, 01:24 AM
Well that's different

TexMexThugga
02-28-2012, 08:46 PM
my friend helped me with the port design and how can i lower it to like 27 to 32hz that is the biggest i can make the box because i have a small trunk. can i make the port space smaller and add another board or what can i do?

Mitch86
02-28-2012, 08:48 PM
I'd just build a sealed box to spec if I were you.

TexMexThugga
02-28-2012, 08:53 PM
i had a sealed box and i wanted ported so i made this one

RSDXzec
02-29-2012, 02:36 AM
i had a sealed box and i wanted ported so i made this one

mistake number 1, don't port a sealed box, they're usually too small.

Also a lot of calculation goes into making a port, you can't just put one on.

cyn
02-29-2012, 02:39 AM
spend $40 on mdf/screws/glue and rebuild it.. hit up mobile enclosures / pro-rabbit or buck for a box design to spec for the subs / car they can make it work in there one way or another.... might even be better off going to 2 of the 10"s instead of using all 3

TexMexThugga
02-29-2012, 08:21 AM
mistake number 1, don't port a sealed box, they're usually too small.

Also a lot of calculation goes into making a port, you can't just put one on.
I still have my sealed box I built this one becouse I got 2 sheets for free

RSDXzec
02-29-2012, 08:29 AM
I still have my sealed box I built this one becouse I got 2 sheets for free

ah sorry I misunderstood. Hopefully you made it bigger than your sealed box.

TexMexThugga
02-29-2012, 11:44 AM
ah sorry I misunderstood. Hopefully you made it bigger than your sealed box.
The box is bigger before I had two seperate boxes now I want to find a way I can lower the tuning on the box between 27hz and 32hz

RSDXzec
02-29-2012, 10:26 PM
The box is bigger before I had two seperate boxes now I want to find a way I can lower the tuning on the box between 27hz and 32hz

if you want to lower the tuning you will have to increase the length of the port. So find a way to increase the length externally, then do the maths and find out how long the port should be to make it whatever frequency you desire to tune to. Lucky for you you're trying to decrease the tuning frequency, as increasing the tuning frequency would result in you decreasing the size of the port. Meaning you would have to open up the box.

TexMexThugga
02-29-2012, 11:54 PM
if you want to lower the tuning you will have to increase the length of the port. So find a way to increase the length externally, then do the maths and find out how long the port should be to make it whatever frequency you desire to tune to. Lucky for you you're trying to decrease the tuning frequency, as increasing the tuning frequency would result in you decreasing the size of the port. Meaning you would have to open up the box.
I don't think I have space to make the port longer externally and can I make the port thinner and then make it longer inside? I kno it will be trouble taking the box apart but if it will work ill do it. And can you help me figure out on tuning it because I'm a pretty big noob at this

RSDXzec
03-01-2012, 02:16 AM
I don't think I have space to make the port longer externally and can I make the port thinner and then make it longer inside? I kno it will be trouble taking the box apart but if it will work ill do it. And can you help me figure out on tuning it because I'm a pretty big noob at this

making the port thinner will only increase air speeds and cause port noise, which no one wants.
I can't help much, I'm almost finished my first box design and I'm still making sure it works before I go ahead and build it. What I've told you so far is based on research which I'm sure you can do as well. Have a look at my join date, I've only just got into car audio.

MANTI5
03-01-2012, 02:25 AM
Why did you build a box with a random port length in the first place?

IonRL205
03-01-2012, 02:35 AM
If I were you, I'd sell that box on craigslist or something for like 40 or 50 bucks; just enough to cover the materials to build another and start over.

ShawnT
03-02-2012, 11:13 AM
Why did you build a box with a random port length in the first place?

I would imagine he didnt know any better?? Just a thought

hispls
03-02-2012, 11:25 AM
Try figuring out what you're doing next time. If you can't add more length to the port outside adding length inside will be terribly difficult and further subtract from your internal volume. Nothing you can do to this box beyond sealing it will help.

TexMexThugga
03-02-2012, 11:49 AM
Try figuring out what you're doing next time. If you can't add more length to the port outside adding length inside will be terribly difficult and further subtract from your internal volume. Nothing you can do to this box beyond sealing it will help.

What it I take the port out and make an Aero port?