PDA

View Full Version : Sale/trade between Murph and DaveVT



murph
02-16-2012, 11:54 PM
I am selling/trading my phoenix gold xenon 1200.1 for $100, PPI a404, and a Rockford 501x from DaveVT.
2653058926530590

DaveVT
02-17-2012, 12:06 AM
That is correct.

murph
02-21-2012, 06:02 PM
amp has been shipped ups workers are ******* to all who read. Will send the code when home.

DaveVT
02-21-2012, 11:51 PM
Ok, got the tracking info. Ill confirm when it arrives. Hopefully you packed it to withstand WW3 lol

murph
02-21-2012, 11:54 PM
Ok, got the tracking info. Ill confirm when it arrives. Hopefully you packed it to withstand WW3 lol

lots of peanuts and bubble wrap

DaveVT
02-23-2012, 09:20 PM
Arrived today, package in good condition. UPS seems to have taken care of this one. Cant hook it up due to rain. Will update soon.

DaveVT
02-24-2012, 03:38 AM
Murph was this amp ever worked on by anyone?. I found a tiny piece of solder inside the case that had not been melted and some of the components have excessive solder on them. Also, since I cant hook up the amp yet I decided to pop the cover and have a good look at the beast. There are 2 components I can see that need replacement asap. I wouldnt dare hook it up til they are replaced. Im going to edit this post with some pics of what I found. Also, the gain was maxed when I checked it.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d148/Raven2201/Xenon%2012001/IMG_0133.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d148/Raven2201/Xenon%2012001/IMG_0131.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d148/Raven2201/Xenon%2012001/IMG_0130.jpg

murph
02-24-2012, 02:46 PM
Murph was this amp ever worked on by anyone?. I found a tiny piece of solder inside the case that had not been melted and some of the components have excessive solder on them. Also, since I cant hook up the amp yet I decided to pop the cover and have a good look at the beast. There are 2 components I can see that need replacement asap. I wouldnt dare hook it up til they are replaced. Im going to edit this post with some pics of what I found. Also, the gain was maxed when I checked it.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d148/Raven2201/Xenon%2012001/IMG_0133.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d148/Raven2201/Xenon%2012001/IMG_0131.jpg
http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d148/Raven2201/Xenon%2012001/IMG_0130.jpg

Not from my knowledge was it worked on I got it in trade from cerwinvegafan. I turned it the wrong way when shipping it I meant to turn the gain the other way. It ran flawlesly set with a dmm but a cheapo 20 dollar one. I will have to talk with him then about it but I never had any issues running the amp. It is running on 5/6 years old so I wouldn't be surprised if it looks somewhat rough but it was running perfect when it was lasted hooked up.

Edit: Also that solder was not there when I shipped it out but I did not look at the caps and those two look pretty bad. Pm me about what we are going to do about this.

murph
02-25-2012, 01:14 AM
Problem is going to be resolved. He is getting a quote for repair and we will work out what the rest of the trade will be based on cost of repair.

Edit: Also the solder piece I believe was actually part of my rca that broke when I pushed the stuck metal piece through.

DaveVT
02-27-2012, 09:49 PM
$114 for repair, currently reworking the deal.

DaveVT
03-02-2012, 06:39 PM
Package shipped today via UPS and packed very well lol.

murph
03-08-2012, 10:25 PM
Package arrived in great shape a few days ago. Worked it out very well and hope to do business again.

CAT MAN
03-08-2012, 10:45 PM
:uhoh: dave and his bad deals lately..... hope this works out for ya

murph
03-08-2012, 10:46 PM
:uhoh: dave and his bad deals lately..... hope this works out for ya

he got the amp fixed and we made the trade different.

CAT MAN
03-08-2012, 10:47 PM
he got the amp fixed and we made the trade different.
:boobiez:

mazdakid
03-08-2012, 10:52 PM
Or Murph sent a bad amp.
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/wiring-electrical-installation-help/535267-fuse-problem.html

mazdakid
03-08-2012, 10:57 PM
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/amplifiers/535190-amp-made-whistling-noise.html

murph
03-08-2012, 10:57 PM
Or Murph sent a bad amp.
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/wiring-electrical-installation-help/535267-fuse-problem.html

two of the smaller caps were blown out the bottom. I ran the amp with no problems the whole time I had it and never even though to check the internals. Did not intend for this to happen and the trade was adjusted accordingly.

mazdakid
03-08-2012, 11:00 PM
you had problems with the amp and put it up for sale a week later. pretty shady

mazdakid
03-08-2012, 11:02 PM
You got lucky he wouldnt hook it up and try it. His name isnt the best here either though so everyone would probably try to blame him anyways.

murph
03-08-2012, 11:06 PM
The whistling I found out not to be from the amp. My power wire came loose and it made that sound when the amp would turn off and the fan would wind down. Please don't call me shady when you don't have the full story. I sold it because I am upgrading power.

mazdakid
03-08-2012, 11:11 PM
:uhoh: dave and his bad deals lately..... hope this works out for ya

see. everyone would blame him.
and it is shady

DaveVT
03-08-2012, 11:43 PM
Well nice to know id be at fault no matter what.

Murph the whistling could have been the caps venting but either way its fine. Amp is fixed, our trade was handled smoothly and we are both pleased so its all good. Only odd thing is the gain has to be rather high (85-90% max) but that could be due to my 2v pre outs.

Anyway as I said we are both pleased. Just cant wait for my enclosure to be finished for my SA-8's :)



:uhoh: dave and his bad deals lately..... hope this works out for ya

Once you've hit the 10 year mark as a member and done as many deals as I have you tell me how perfect your record is. Things dont always work out the way they should. ;)

murph
03-08-2012, 11:47 PM
Well nice to know id be at fault no matter what.

Murph the whistling could have been the caps venting but either way its fine. Amp is fixed, our trade was handled smoothly and we are both pleased so its all good. Only odd thing is the gain has to be rather high (85-90% max) but that could be due to my 2v pre outs.

Anyway as I said we are both pleased. Just cant wait for my enclosure to be finished for my SA-8's :)
No call today lol. Anyways it could have but it seemed to be to be from the fan and stopped once I re crimped the connection. You could use a eq instead of a new headunit that does 4v+ so the gain doesn't have to be so high.