PDA

View Full Version : porting a 1 cube box?



winkychevelle
02-05-2012, 12:24 AM
quick question. when i normally port a box i use a minimum 4 inch port. but in my current case im porting a pre-existing truck box. if i use a 3 inch port for the 1.07 cube box i can tune to 30 hz no prob. but i can only only achieve a 30 hz tune and keep the same volume.

now this is a 2012 p3 shallow 10 and rockford recommends 1 cube ported to 47hz with a 4 inch port 12inches long now i know this is not optimal for my listening preferences.

since this is a low excursion sub i figure i can skimp by with a 3 inch port. even if i have to sacrifice output id rather tune it low

and i have talked to rockford directly bout tuning the sub low. they just stated that i would lose output which i can live with if i can keep the sub from interfering with my mids around 70-80hz which i can do now with my 24db slope crossover but i cut out pretty much all the bass

i have a good bit of power on tap considering the subs only rated at 300rms and really doesnt need that imho.

opinions? this is a rockford employee order so im getting a good deal on all of this. the only other sub i will consider is the stereo integrity bm shallow which are darn near impossible to get.

sorry for the long read

hispls
02-05-2012, 12:38 AM
I suspect 3" port would be more than adequate for a single 10" on low power

winkychevelle
02-05-2012, 01:00 AM
im tempted to try a 2 inch port first and get a lil bit more air space but i doubt itll be worth even trying

brandinooooo
02-07-2012, 02:52 AM
Just start with a 3". Gonna go external with the port to save space or use polyfill to compensate?