PDA

View Full Version : enclosure build with 7-8k of power



myjaja
01-30-2012, 02:20 PM
Im building a new enclosure thatll be 36.5 x 14.25 x 23.5 which will be 5.68 cu ft gross. Itll have two 12" aq hdc4's, so after displacement and bracing, itll be down to around 4.75 cu ft. Im going to have an external 10" flared port thats about 25.5 inches long tuned to 37 hz.

I currently have a saz-3500d but Im going to add another one. So my question is, will my hdc4's handle about 7-8k of power in that enclosure or do I have to go smaller?

thanks

basscort2009
01-30-2012, 02:23 PM
,Overpowering 12s I would go 1.5 to 2 cubes each no more then 2 or ur cones are gonna hate u

T.I.K.
01-30-2012, 02:33 PM
Im building a new enclosure thatll be 36.5 x 14.25 x 23.5 which will be 5.68 cu ft gross. Itll have two 12" aq hdc4's, so after displacement and bracing, itll be down to around 4.75 cu ft. Im going to have an external 10" flared port thats about 25.5 inches long tuned to 37 hz.

I currently have a saz-3500d but Im going to add another one. So my question is, will my hdc4's handle about 7-8k of power in that enclosure or do I have to go smaller?

thanks
I wouldn't put 7-8k on such a big box, they'll be fine with the power you have now, but I would definitely tighten up the box if you decide to add another sundown.
Also, you might want to do some research into whether or not the HDC4 coils can thermally handle that much power.

pro-rabbit
01-30-2012, 02:41 PM
i have personally tested the HDC4 on burps with close to 7k(on one).

It will fail with that kind of power daily though.

myjaja
01-30-2012, 02:42 PM
I wouldn't put 7-8k on such a big box, they'll be fine with the power you have now, but I would definitely tighten up the box if you decide to add another sundown.
Also, you might want to do some research into whether or not the HDC4 coils can thermally handle that much power.

Oh trust me, I read up a lot on aq hdc4s. I read that they put the new aq 3500.1 amps .5 ohm on a single hdc4 and even two aq 2200.1's strapped at a .25 ohm on them too.

A while back when I had only one 12" hdc4, I had it in a pro box that was 2.75 cu ft and after sub displacement, it was down to like 2.34 cu ft net running off my sundown saz-3500 at .5 ohm. It never got stinky or warm or anything. But I just wanted to double check. So I should bring it down to at least 4 cubes net?

myjaja
01-30-2012, 02:43 PM
i have personally tested the HDC4 on burps with close to 7k(on one).

It will fail with that kind of power daily though.

So youre saying Im just better off with my single saz-3500?

pro-rabbit
01-30-2012, 03:09 PM
I would just would just run a lower rms daily is all. They will take two for burps.

myjaja
01-30-2012, 03:19 PM
I would just would just run a lower rms daily is all. They will take two for burps.

This is going to be for daily.. Then maybe I can just sell my amp and get a sundown saz-4500 for daily. Because Im still trying to get in the 150 range on music. I can only run the amp in .25 ohm or 1 ohm. I wish I can run it in between. :( lol

Moble Enclosurs
01-31-2012, 01:03 AM
Better to have more power than not enough though. :D

05trailblazer
01-31-2012, 01:32 AM
also have to consider box rise