PDA

View Full Version : sub box



purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 06:54 AM
Hey guys I have a couple questions.
I took the upper part of my back seat out and built a set up for my 10" Alpine and 12" Pioneer.
My first question is how deep should I build this box? I have a feeling it is too shallow and when I pull the back off it seems to have more thump.
My second question is are port holes ok just cut out or should I install tubes in the holes?

26530163
26530164

Bettr n' Revrse
01-30-2012, 07:25 AM
Before you go any further just stop for a bit haha... Not meaning to sound rude but you have a lot to learn before you go any further... First of all in a little confused as to what the pic if for and what setup do are you trying to run?

Bettr n' Revrse
01-30-2012, 07:28 AM
Awwww never mind I see, I missed the second one since I'm on my phone... First off do not mix subs in size, brand, voice coil or anything it's always a bad idea... IMO you need to take eveything out and start fresh cuz there is a lot that needs corrected jjudhing from a quick glance

MANTI5
01-30-2012, 07:35 AM
Not sure if this is trolling by Dr. Subwoofer or not. If not then yes, you need to start all over.

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 07:35 AM
Ok. Can you tell me where to start. I have a center barrier so that each sub is basically separated. And I know about the not mounting amps to the back of the box. That I have done already.

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 07:39 AM
I have had this in since July and it works alright but it doesn't pound quite like I think it should. I know it's a small set up but it's what I can afford right now.

Bettr n' Revrse
01-30-2012, 07:40 AM
Ok. Can you tell me where to start. I have a center barrier so that each sub is basically separated. And I know about the not mounting amps to the back of the box. That I have done already.

I'd start by taking out your amps and subs and picking a set (1 amp and 1 sub) you want to use or sell both and we can suggest something better...

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 07:45 AM
Ok so I guess I would go with the Alpine sub and amp.

Bettr n' Revrse
01-30-2012, 07:49 AM
I would as well... Work on getting the pioneer stuff sold so you can save to get a box built for the type r and that will be the next step... Is that a second batt?

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 08:08 AM
Ok. Yeah that is my second battery. It is a Exide Orbital XCD. It is frame grounded and hooked up with welding cable.

---------- Post added at 08:08 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:07 AM ----------

Should I go ported box?

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 08:21 AM
What about this one?
26530165

T.I.K.
01-30-2012, 08:34 AM
What about this one?
26530165

Ported means there is an orafice somewhere on the bow, out of which, air can escape.

If the box has a hole, it probably meets the criteria.

MANTI5
01-30-2012, 08:36 AM
You need to have a box made that is designed for the sub you're using.

J31Rob
01-30-2012, 09:01 AM
You need to have a box made that is designed for the sub you're using.
This.

Your setup needs an extreme overhaul. Not trying to be rude at all.. but if you ever want to have a worthy sounding system you definitely need to scrap what you've got, give us a budget & restart the build.

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 09:05 AM
Thanx. I know that no one is being rude. This is all I have right now. I lost my job and I am trying to make due with what I have. My kids are first.

J31Rob
01-30-2012, 09:06 AM
Then my suggestion is scrap the smaller sub & build a properly designed box for the larger one.

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 10:19 AM
ok thanx

pro-rabbit
01-30-2012, 10:21 AM
If you are on an basically no budget, then just pick up some cheap sealed enclosures off a local. Would be the best bet at this point. I'm not going to suggest using both subs, but do what ever you want as it is your car/install. Just get ride of what you have now. Those prefab sealed enclosures will do a better job then what you have currently.

purplemotoman
01-30-2012, 10:28 AM
Thanx. If my circumstances change then I will be looking to upgrade

Bettr n' Revrse
01-30-2012, 05:41 PM
That is what I would do as well... Get a prefab sealed box and then maybe make sure its sealed with some extra wood glue or something else on the inside edges...

purplemotoman
01-31-2012, 06:55 AM
Thanx

Bettr n' Revrse
01-31-2012, 06:58 AM
Thanx

No problem...

Joseph7195
01-31-2012, 07:31 AM
Mr. Purplermotoman, I wanna welcome you to the Forum! You are one patient fellow, and I know you will have what you want in a system soon. Those Type R's are a good first sub for anyone to have. There is a lot of information available to you (I think the search feature is fixed) and it will come in handy when reviewing specific brand names and models. I can relate when it comes to wanting a great sounding system and having kids to, lol. If you ever have any questions, search, or start a thread, or shoot me a PM. I will be glad to help you!