PDA

View Full Version : 150dB Trunk Build - 2001 Honda Civic Lx - 2 DD 9515G + 2 Sundown SAZ-3500d



Drummer65
01-25-2012, 01:54 AM
So at the age of 19, my goal in this moment of life to hit a 150dB from the trunk haha.

Decided to go with 2 DD 9515g's strapped to two Sundown SAZ-3500d. All the equipment will be in the trunk.


Empty trunk

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1084.jpg


50sq feet of AudioTechnix 60mil

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1087.jpg


2 Batcap 4000's, 1 Batcap 3000's, 1 Deka 8a31

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1090.jpg

Gross Volume 8 cubic feet, Net volume 6 cubic feet. Designed the box myself. Biggest box I could possibly fit in my trunk. Port will be facing inside the cabin.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1091.jpg


http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1092.jpg


http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1094.jpg


http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1100.jpg


http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1102.jpg

kushy_dreams
01-25-2012, 01:59 AM
Looks great, why did you choose to not seal off the trunk and fire into the cabin? Thats the best way to get loud with a trunk. You will gain output if you can get a 45 in the corner of the port to direct the air more efficiently.

myjaja
01-25-2012, 02:06 AM
Looks really good, and I wish I can get 8 cubes in my accord. -sighs-

tc300
01-25-2012, 02:08 AM
And why the 3miss matched batterys...??! Lol


Was that angel on the box help it to fit im guessing..??

tc300
01-25-2012, 02:10 AM
What kind of wood is that also...? Birch maybe..??

Drummer65
01-25-2012, 02:11 AM
Looks great, why did you choose to not seal off the trunk and fire into the cabin? Thats the best way to get loud with a trunk. You will gain output if you can get a 45 in the corner of the port to direct the air more efficiently.

The port will be facing into the cabin, the box is only 13.5" tall so the only option was to have the subs facing up. The port wall that is angled is whats going against the folding seats.

Drummer65
01-25-2012, 02:16 AM
Looks really good, and I wish I can get 8 cubes in my accord. -sighs-

not sure if its smaller then my civic's trunk but if its anywhere close to it i'm sure you could fit 8 cubes. I would have done 2 8" external aero port into the cabin however I wanted to be able to fold the seats up. After port and sub displacement im right around 6 cubic feet.



And why the 3miss matched batterys...??! Lol


Was that angel on the box help it to fit im guessing..??


Its what i could afford haha. Depending on my voltage drop I may have to invest in some D3100's



What kind of wood is that also...? Birch maybe..??

yup birch

Imtjnotu
01-25-2012, 02:20 AM
Box was made by me and my build partner but I couldn't help put this one together because of my sinus infection



Made of birch 3/4"

tc300
01-25-2012, 02:21 AM
Nice wood cutting skillz!! Lol. Box looks pretty solid

Drummer65
01-25-2012, 02:21 AM
Box was made by me and my build partner but I couldn't help put this one together because of my sinus infection



Made of birch 3/4"

TJ and Damien have helped out big time. box design was all me tho haha

myjaja
01-25-2012, 02:30 AM
not sure if its smaller then my civic's trunk but if its anywhere close to it i'm sure you could fit 8 cubes. I would have done 2 8" external aero port into the cabin however I wanted to be able to fold the seats up. After port and sub displacement im right around 6 cubic feet.


Its what i could afford haha. Depending on my voltage drop I may have to invest in some D3100's




yup birch

Like 5.8 cu ft is what I can fit from what Ive tried. My trunk opening is what ruins everything. Im actually aiming for 150 as well. In my 96 accord, I have two 12" aq hdc4's off a sundown saz-3500. Im currently doing a 149.2 off music. If I remember correctly, my box is like 5.79 and around 4.1 net with four 4" pvc ports tuned to 37 hz. Im gonna rebuild my enclosure and have a 10" flared out external port facing inside the cabin and Im going to add another saz-3500.

tc300
01-25-2012, 02:32 AM
Ic... I mite buy a 01 accord this weekend... Gota help my cousin get outa of his marriage. "psycho F'n kunnt wife is the real problem"!! See is hooked on pain killers and has him(and herself) in Financial debt. Really bad situation....

Any chance you would sell the cut for a box like yours.???

tc300
01-25-2012, 02:34 AM
Like 5.8 cu ft is what I can fit from what Ive tried. My trunk opening is what ruins everything. Im actually aiming for 150 as well. In my 96 accord, I have two 12" aq hdc4's off a sundown saz-3500. Im currently doing a 149.2 off music. If I remember correctly, my box is like 5.79 and around 4.1 net with four 4" pvc ports tuned to 37 hz. Im gonna rebuild my enclosure and have a 10" flared out external port facing inside the cabin and Im going to add another saz-3500.

I had the same car you did... The truck opening is what restricts putting a bigger box in... My 03 grand prix in the se way... :-/
Lol.

brodeisel
01-25-2012, 02:43 AM
i have a 2001 ex so im going to be watching this for when i do my build.

Bettr n' Revrse
01-25-2012, 02:49 AM
Hey OP want another 2 of those Deka's? lol...

Imtjnotu
01-25-2012, 02:51 AM
Bro he has no room for his batts now lol

Drummer65
01-25-2012, 03:04 AM
Like 5.8 cu ft is what I can fit from what Ive tried. My trunk opening is what ruins everything. Im actually aiming for 150 as well. In my 96 accord, I have two 12" aq hdc4's off a sundown saz-3500. Im currently doing a 149.2 off music. If I remember correctly, my box is like 5.79 and around 4.1 net with four 4" pvc ports tuned to 37 hz. Im gonna rebuild my enclosure and have a 10" flared out external port facing inside the cabin and Im going to add another saz-3500.

Instead of taking the shortest length of your trunk opening and building a normal square box around that, take the bottom length and top length and build a angled box. I gained about 1.8 cubes by doing angled cuts that fits the trunk opening and back seat wall.


Hey OP want another 2 of those Deka's? lol...

how machh?

---------- Post added at 12:04 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:03 AM ----------


Bro he has no room for his batts now lol

lol yes i do, at least room for 1 more

Bettr n' Revrse
01-25-2012, 03:07 AM
They are still brand new... I was gunna ask 300+ ship cuz I need them gone...

Drummer65
01-25-2012, 03:13 AM
probably don't have room for two more. Once i get the amps in ill see how low my Vdrop is and ill go from there. Shipping is always a ***** for batts sometimes its cheaper to just buy locally.

Bettr n' Revrse
01-25-2012, 03:15 AM
probably don't have room for two more. Once i get the amps in ill see how low my Vdrop is and ill go from there. Shipping is always a ***** for batts sometimes its cheaper to just buy locally.

Ya shipping ***** but Im not too far.... I am just down sizing and dont need 2 of these beasts so I traded for a smaller XS... But I need to sell stuff fast so I can get my new amps...

Drummer65
01-25-2012, 03:24 AM
Ya shipping ***** but Im not too far.... I am just down sizing and dont need 2 of these beasts so I traded for a smaller XS... But I need to sell stuff fast so I can get my new amps...


For sure, i get one amp in hopefully tomorrow the other on Monday. Ill know by Tuesday if i need more batts, I'm guessing i probably will. I'm putting the battcaps on the sides of the trunk so that leaves me the spare tire area to fit all the other batts I need. Ill take measurements to see if i can fit 2 more dekas

Bettr n' Revrse
01-25-2012, 06:29 AM
No problem man just let me know...

Drummer65
01-26-2012, 02:13 AM
http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1104.jpg

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1105-1.jpg

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1107.jpg

TaylorFade
01-26-2012, 02:20 AM
Looks great, why did you choose to not seal off the trunk and fire into the cabin? Thats the best way to get loud with a trunk. You will gain output if you can get a 45 in the corner of the port to direct the air more efficiently.

45's are not automatically a gain, contrary to popular belief.

Why did you decide to port into the cabin that way? Have you tested that orientation? I've NEVER had luck with that. I'm worried you're going to have cancellation issues.

When's the meter time? I'm tuned in for results.

QuietEclipse29
01-26-2012, 02:23 AM
once its all in man or if you need help installing let me know ill roll down to help and we can meter it too.

Drummer65
01-26-2012, 02:27 AM
45's are not automatically a gain, contrary to popular belief.

Why did you decide to port into the cabin that way? Have you tested that orientation? I've NEVER had luck with that. I'm worried you're going to have cancellation issues.

When's the meter time? I'm tuned in for results.

I would have ideally liked to port towards the trunk lid or side firing but the box is touching that wall so the port would have been firing straight into the wall. The batts are on the side so if i couldn't really side fire either. Porting up would have taken up too much cubic feet in the box. Firing the port into the cabin like that was really my only option.

Going to double baffle the box this weekend. I didn't think i would have room to put a double baffle but after seeing how easy the box slides in I should have no problem adding a second baffle. Second 3500d comes in monday so i should have meter results next week :)

Bettr n' Revrse
01-26-2012, 02:36 AM
I need a distro for my batt!

TaylorFade
01-26-2012, 02:41 AM
I wouldn't add any more height to it. You'll just end up choking the subs more than you already are. Can you just brace it instead?

I know the box is already built, and it looks great, but I tell people all the time that stuffing as much sub and box as you can in a trunk can sometimes be counter-productive. I hope it works out for you and you get your number. 150 from a trunk is no small feat.

Drummer65
01-26-2012, 02:48 AM
I wouldn't add any more height to it. You'll just end up choking the subs more than you already are. Can you just brace it instead?

I know the box is already built, and it looks great, but I tell people all the time that stuffing as much sub and box as you can in a trunk can sometimes be counter-productive. I hope it works out for you and you get your number. 150 from a trunk is no small feat.

I would add the baffle on the top of the box so its not taking up any internal volume. You mean if the subs sit higher its going to choke them even more? What if i add another birch sheet on top of the box and allow a flush mount so the subs height wont change. I don't see how adding another baffle on top would hurt the subs even more if their sitting up a little higher. I would round off the edge of the bottom baffle.

Don't think adding supports will help as much as a double baffle, plus its just taking up internal volume the subs are already lacking that as is.

TaylorFade
01-26-2012, 02:54 AM
If you flush mount it, that will be fine. I just don't think you should get them any closer to the roof of the trunk. Even another 3/4". You need as much clearance between the subs and the roof of the trunk as you can get so the pressure can get into the cabin. It's already lagging behind the port. No need to trap it any further.

It is sometimes beneficial to have them loading off of a wall, but I don't think that applies in this case.

Bettr n' Revrse
01-26-2012, 02:54 AM
Can you do threaded rod?

Drummer65
01-26-2012, 03:02 AM
If you flush mount it, that will be fine. I just don't think you should get them any closer to the roof of the trunk. Even another 3/4". You need as much clearance between the subs and the roof of the trunk as you can get so the pressure can get into the cabin. It's already lagging behind the port. No need to trap it any further.

It is sometimes beneficial to have them loading off of a wall, but I don't think that applies in this case.


I see what you mean. I have the rear deck off so ive got factory speaker holes to help get some of that pressure out. I think if i cut away some of the rear deck it will help as well.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n79/drumer65/IMG_1108-1.jpg

Got about 6 inches to the top of the roof

---------- Post added at 12:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:02 AM ----------


Can you do threaded rod?

yeah i was thinking about doing that

TaylorFade
01-26-2012, 03:04 AM
I'm rootin' for you, bro.

BTW- how do you like your front stage? It's like the exact drivers I was going to go with if I did it DIY style. Pm me your impressions if you don't mind.

Adnan
02-06-2012, 09:52 AM
looking good,gives me the confidence I needed to know I can stuff a proper spec box in my 1.7EL for 2 RE SE15s :D
are you running your stock alt? hows the voltage drop with those batteries?

schrummy
02-06-2012, 03:29 PM
what is it tuned to?

DB-Audio
11-15-2012, 04:22 PM
how the hell did you get a 6 cube box in there the box for my 18 is about 4.3 and it barely fits and i have the same vehicle only ex

mazdakid
11-15-2012, 04:33 PM
Build in the trunk.

DB-Audio
11-16-2012, 10:08 AM
ahh ok see i built mine out then put it in can only fit a 3" wide box between the trunk opening