PDA

View Full Version : JL 10W6V2 Box question

gsxr8021
01-21-2012, 06:45 PM
Ok I am new here so hello all. This is my dilema, I currently have 2 Jl10w6v2d4's being driven by a JL 1000/1. I have had the setup in both sealed and ported boxes, built by a local shop. I would much rather build my box myself this time. I am putting a roll cage into my car and the current box wont work with it. So I am going to either build the box into the car or build two boxes. I listen to Techno 99% of the time. Usually Break beats, Dub step, or Hardcore (if you dont know what hardcore is youtube the Prophet, it is big in Europe). I personally dont like the current box as most of the bass is on the higher range of Htz and it hits fast. I feel it was poorly designed though. Which is one of the reasons why I want to build my own box. I own all the tools needed and am confident that I can build a better box than I paid for last time. The Mathmatics dont worry me as I have a masters in Accounting and am a few hours shy of a econ degree as well. Which Econ is mathmatics heavy. Accounting is not so much even though a lot of people think so, you never need anything more than a four function calculator. I also build cabinets with my friends dad for several years before I went to college so I can get around in a shop. Ok the facts:

1. 1995 Mustang gt
2. Subs JL 10W6v2 *2
3. Amp JL 1000/1
4. I am thinking about changing the Head unit from the Alpine I have now to something else. Any suggestions.

The question is should I build a sealed box for each sub based on JL's specs or even a little more or less air space, or should I build a ported box but if so I need to tune it so it will play lets call it pom pom base well, another option would be to put in a 3rd 10w6 in a sealed box. I dont know if this would be all that good with my AMP and I dont want to add another amp or I will have to get another Alt and I dont want to go down that rode.

pro-rabbit
01-21-2012, 06:49 PM