PDA

View Full Version : how do you determine port width?



canadiankush
01-12-2012, 03:23 PM
ive researching and cant find anything on it.

brandinooooo
01-12-2012, 08:14 PM
|-----------------|
side to side?

Kangaroux
01-12-2012, 08:15 PM
The award for the most useless thread of the year goes to...

Wattser93
01-12-2012, 10:16 PM
ive researching and cant find anything on it.

It's the width of the port. FYI.

But port width isn't the only thing, a port has a height, width, and a length, there's more to a port than just width.

Dirtrider4eva
01-12-2012, 10:22 PM
hmm...
for a square or round port..
use the equation
LV = (2.35625x10^4 x (diameter of vent)^2 x (number of ports) divided by (box voulme) x (frequecy)^2) - (diameter of vent) x (k)
k = free end
for one end use .732
for two use .614

or.... for slot port
(box volume) x (desired cubic " per foot (12-16")) / heigth
that will give you an approximate if the length is 16" long and you want 40hz

canadiankush
01-13-2012, 03:33 AM
what i meen is should i make the port 2" wide or 5" wide.... i know how to find length

do you guys not get what im saying?

EDIT: its a slot port.

my box is 21"W 19"H 23"D. im looking to tune it to 32hz for a BA G2 15

subzero
01-13-2012, 03:37 AM
Subwoofer Enclosure Calculators, Fraction to Decimal, Parallel, Series, Port Length and Volume Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#porsq)

RE AUDIO - Box Calculator (http://reaudio.com/box.php)

canadiankush
01-13-2012, 03:49 AM
Subwoofer Enclosure Calculators, Fraction to Decimal, Parallel, Series, Port Length and Volume Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxcalcs.asp#porsq)

RE AUDIO - Box Calculator (http://reaudio.com/box.php)

ok... theres still no port WIDTH just length. and im already using the first site.

brooklynjoy2008
01-13-2012, 04:37 AM
Go to bcae1.com and use th calc there

subzero
01-13-2012, 04:37 AM
are you reading them right? both site ask for the width.

http://i703.photobucket.com/albums/ww35/brianncns/widthdescription.jpg

canadiankush
01-13-2012, 12:15 PM
does it not matter if i have 1.5" port width or 5" port width as long as the port length is right? all it says is to add the port width, so do i choose a random width?

CHEMMINS
01-13-2012, 12:46 PM
Whats the height of the port?

canadiankush
01-13-2012, 12:52 PM
Whats the height of the port?

17.5"

CHEMMINS
01-13-2012, 12:58 PM
You have a slot port that is 17.5" high. So I am guessing this is a vertical port. I would not go smaller than a 2.5" wide port. No bigger than 3". Calculate depth after.

canadiankush
01-13-2012, 01:07 PM
You have a slot port that is 17.5" high. So I am guessing this is a vertical port. I would not go smaller than a 2.5" wide port. No bigger than 3". Calculate depth after.

Thank you! 2.5 is what i had planned to use.