PDA

View Full Version : Engine Noise/Whine from Pioneer Head Unit



jadyn123
01-02-2012, 08:07 PM
Installed a Pioneer head unit a week ago. Has been working fine until yesterday when I started the car it made a loud noise. Later when diagnosing the problem I realized the whine varies by engine rpm. I tried different grounds and grounding the rcas. I dot believe I grounded them right however, because it didn't play music loud at all after I did so. I may try again later.

Anyways, the deck makes engine whine with the engine on and a weird popping sounds with it off.

Any ideas what it could be?
Why would it start having this problem after working fine for a week?
Thanks!

mylows10
01-02-2012, 08:15 PM
ground the deck and move the rca' or speaker wires away from other wires if possible

05trailblazer
01-02-2012, 08:37 PM
Rca, try putting speaker wire around your hu rcas that should be a temp fix

05trailblazer
01-02-2012, 08:38 PM
If you google it your find a forum of how its done! Also try what ^^ he said if that doesnt stop the engine noise

jadyn123
01-03-2012, 12:51 AM
Well I tried grounding the RCAs again. All it did was muffle the sound coming out of the speakers. Any other ideas?

CHEMMINS
01-03-2012, 01:03 AM
Get a ground loop isolator and put it inline.

mylows10
01-03-2012, 01:07 AM
that cuts the signal back.move the rca's away from other wires if possible or change them to better made ones.could be a bad rca

jadyn123
01-03-2012, 09:57 PM
Purchased a new RCA cable and it didn't help.
Perhaps I'll try requiring the entire thing, I used the pervious owners wiring.
Should I ground the ground wire from the harness directly to the head unit and then run another wire from the head unit to the chassis/body?

kmoto
01-03-2012, 10:14 PM
Pico fuse?

snakeye
01-05-2012, 04:07 PM
Pioneer is infamous for this problem, I believe it is the pico fuse that blows and causes the noise to come thru. their is a way to solder a resistor in its place to fix the problem, i have seen a few posts online showing the process. i found it easier to just ground the rca's; the most effective way being to ground them to the unit itself. When i grounded the rca's straight to the chasis i still had some noise come thru. I have seen this problem in a number of units and this always solves it.

disturbed471985
01-05-2012, 04:08 PM
like mylows said above ground the rca's on the HU. U blew the pico fuse either do that or toss the unit. If u say u already did this plus tried new rca's then well its toss time

alsa2009
01-05-2012, 08:13 PM
Did you hot swap your rcas (plugging rcas into deck while vehicle is on or key switched back). If so then it might be the pico fuse like stated earlier. I hot swapped my rcas on my old pioneer deh-p6000ub.

Heres a link that might help out, detailed and all....it help me way back when

Pioneer headunit pico fuse fix *56k* - HondaCivicForum.com (http://www.hondacivicforum.com/forum/audio-visual-electronics-10/pioneer-headunit-pico-fuse-fix-*56k*-75438/)