PDA

View Full Version : spl



Mr.sparkle
12-26-2011, 04:36 PM
help newby here i have just fitted in my bmw a audiobahn ah2300htc amp powering a audiobahn 15" quad 2hmm immortal sub in a 5 ltr ported box tuned for 35htz amp drive by 8v line driver .sub fires directly into cab through parcel shelf. problem is important only getting 125 db.amp is turned up full gain no clipping no overheating .....any ideas HELP !!!!

Kangaroux
12-26-2011, 04:38 PM
You are clipping the holy bajesus outta that sub if you have an 8v line driver and the gain all the way up. What meter are you using to check your SPL?

Imtjnotu
12-26-2011, 04:57 PM
firing in to the back of the trunk has been shown to be louder

also u are clipping.....gains all the way up hahahaha ya man ur clipping

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 04:58 PM
interesting

Falcons
12-26-2011, 04:59 PM
firing in to the back of the trunk has been shown to be louder

also u are clipping.....gains all the way up hahahaha ya man ur clipping

What are you talkin about man? Gs a volume knob. Turn it up and you gets more deebeez. Plus it's a super amp that doesnt clip

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 04:59 PM
firing in to the back of the trunk has been shown to be louder

also u are clipping.....gains all the way up hahahaha ya man ur clipping

but it doesnt overheat :rolleyes::laugh:

05fronty
12-26-2011, 05:00 PM
hmmmm

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 05:00 PM
What are you talkin about man? Gs a volume knob. Turn it up and you gets more deebeez. Plus it's a super amp that doesnt clip

flames and chrome add debeez

Mr.sparkle
12-26-2011, 05:46 PM
i turn up the gain but there is no clipping it is running 1ohm on both channels is this right any helpful answers much appreciated what sort of db should i get ? thanks

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 05:52 PM
i turn up the gain but there is no clipping it is running 1ohm on both channels is this right any helpful answers much appreciated what sort of db should i get ? thanks

168.547 db

Mr.sparkle
12-26-2011, 06:04 PM
**** me you serious what am i doing wrong

ahole-ic
12-26-2011, 06:38 PM
**** me you serious what am i doing wrong

Probably running too large of a fuse. Anything over 60 amps is too big. Get smaller fuses and get louder.

Mr.sparkle
12-26-2011, 06:59 PM
err i know this is naughty but not running any fuses. two battery straight to amp

bread0710
12-26-2011, 07:08 PM
err i know this is naughty but not running any fuses. two battery straight to amp

you naughty person :up2somet:

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 07:09 PM
**** me you serious what am i doing wrong
everything

err i know this is naughty but not running any fuses. two battery straight to amp

thats why bruh. you need max of a 75a fuse. dont listen to ecrack he isnt loud :up2somet:

ahole-ic
12-26-2011, 07:10 PM
err i know this is naughty but not running any fuses. two battery straight to ampWell there is your problem. Add a 25 amp fuse and you'll be in the 150's before you know it. /thread. this guy has officially been pimped.

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 07:23 PM
Well there is your problem. Add a 25 amp fuse and you'll be in the 150's before you know it. /thread. this guy has officially been pimped.

so if he puts a 50a fuse will be do 155s????

CAT MAN
12-26-2011, 07:28 PM
obvious troll

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 07:35 PM
obvious troll

you and i both know trolls dont exist on this site bruh

edit: i love your sig bro

CAT MAN
12-26-2011, 07:36 PM
you and i both know trolls dont exist on this site bruh

edit: i love your sig bro

lol but he might be serious who knows so lets be nice....



my sig is awesome :D

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 07:43 PM
lol but he might be serious who knows so lets be nice....



my sig is awesome :D

i am/is/was being nice :thumbsup:

kramer_212
12-26-2011, 08:22 PM
You are clipping the holy bajesus outta that sub if you have an 8v line driver and the gain all the way up. What meter are you using to check your SPL?

this ^ its probally only 2.5 rms though i see it all the time.

05fronty
12-26-2011, 08:25 PM
wut

sacsking916
12-26-2011, 08:55 PM
:waycrazy:
wut

kushy_dreams
12-27-2011, 12:00 AM
this thread = :rotflol:

VWBobby
12-27-2011, 12:17 AM
wow.....I just don't know what to say to this. :eyebrow:Start by reading the manuals for all the equipment you own. Especially under Installation. Go to the manufacture's website to download the manuals if you don't have them.
Also visit Car Alarm, Car Stereo, Mobile Video, and Cruise Control Info for Installers (http://www.the12volt.com) and read the technical pages about installation. You really need to set your gains correctly. Not doing so will damage your equipment even if you think its not "overheating", which I Guarantee it is!

Mr.sparkle
12-27-2011, 05:07 AM
how does running a smaller fuse make you louder ?

Mr.sparkle
12-27-2011, 05:14 AM
Isnt that like saying put a smaller engine in your car to go faster? what's the theory behind the smaller fuse to go faster ?

Germ305
12-27-2011, 05:22 AM
Engines and car audio are two separate things. Like comparing apples to oranges bruh. Follow these guy's advice and you will get loud in no time flat.

Mr.sparkle
12-27-2011, 05:25 AM
i have had systems in my cars now for 20 +years it is def not clipping or over heating .if anything the system dint seem to be working hard ,there is very little cone movement ,how much difference will the box size make im building a 5 ltr box as per manufactures intruc but at mo its in a 1.7 cu ft box

CAT MAN
12-27-2011, 05:30 AM
you have to know the way of the pup to understand :fyi:

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 12:16 PM
bass note and the fuse blows (60 amp) also no louder Help!!!!!

CAT MAN
12-28-2011, 12:17 PM
bass note and the fuse blows (60 amp) also no louder Help!!!!!

:rotflol: you tried it? guess you're serious....

ahole-ic
12-28-2011, 12:23 PM
bass note and the fuse blows (60 amp) also no louder Help!!!!!

Epic win

wickedwitt
12-28-2011, 12:23 PM
I want to know why he blows a 60A fuse on that setup. You are drawing WAY too much amperage, or your voltage is dropping to insane numbers. Start from the alt, check voltage and every connection with the stereo off. That is round 1 of many rounds of fixing this thing.

Jakerrr
12-28-2011, 12:30 PM
He is trolling hard, or just doesn't know how to wire. You probably have a dvc wired in series instead of parallel and the amp sees a large ohm load.

ahole-ic
12-28-2011, 12:32 PM
I want to know why he blows a 60A fuse on that setup. You are drawing WAY too much amperage, or your voltage is dropping to insane numbers. Start from the alt, check voltage and every connection with the stereo off. That is round 1 of many rounds of fixing this thing.

That amp draws tons of current and has virtually no output. it's one of the most inefficient amps ever designed. It would start a fire much easier than power a subwoofer.

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 12:46 PM
lol that amp has 4 -40 amp fuses in the end ! .0 gauge and 2 gauge everywhere 2 battery holds 14 volts on the notes 127 db head unit powers line drivermono signal. 8v head unit driver and amp on have a dedicated power line high quality cable and connections throughout .... ps i am a mechanical electrical engineer .big bass is witch craft!!

Falcons
12-28-2011, 12:49 PM
lulz itt

ahole-ic
12-28-2011, 01:02 PM
lol that amp has 4 -40 amp fuses in the end ! .0 gauge and 2 gauge everywhere 2 battery holds 14 volts on the notes 127 db head unit powers line drivermono signal. 8v head unit driver and amp on have a dedicated power line high quality cable and connections throughout .... ps i am a mechanical electrical engineer .big bass is witch craft!!
You're doing it wrong.

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 03:01 PM
2x 1 ohm load as per spec to amp .what am i doing wrong?

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 03:04 PM
You're doing it wrong.what am i doing wrong ???

05fronty
12-28-2011, 03:07 PM
engrish

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 03:26 PM
engrish

engrish is supposed to meen what ? i thought you guys might help

9515ROB
12-28-2011, 03:43 PM
dude i use to have the same set up no joke hahaha.... O wow. That was back when i knew it all lol.

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 04:08 PM
dude i use to have the same set up no joke hahaha.... O wow. That was back when i knew it all lol.

i don't know it all that's why im after help ! I've checked all the basics idont know what to do next!!!

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 04:09 PM
dude i use to have the same set up no joke hahaha.... O wow. That was back when i knew it all lol.

i don't know it all that's why im after help ! I've checked all the basics idont know what to do next!!!

9515ROB
12-28-2011, 04:11 PM
buy new and better equipment is what i did and its hard to get a bmw loud anyway because most of them trunks are sealed

Mr.sparkle
12-28-2011, 04:14 PM
what db was you making?

ahole-ic
12-28-2011, 04:30 PM
what db was you making?

I've personally seen rob do a 153 and change without breaking a sweat.

CAT MAN
12-28-2011, 04:32 PM
I've personally seen rob do a 153 and change without breaking a sweat.

hot and sweaty is good tho :cuddle:

05trailblazer
12-28-2011, 05:22 PM
whats the update?

Vossy
12-28-2011, 05:38 PM
Curious... what meter did you use? I'm not searching this thread if it was answered thoughl.

Mr.sparkle
12-29-2011, 05:13 AM
i don't know off the top of my head will check tonight a.d let you guys know later.i do it was a cheap one .only go s up to 130 db also gonna do a amps check later for a laugh .from what i have read here are both rubbish ?is basicly my amp and speaker junk ?

brodeisel
12-29-2011, 05:16 AM
Yeah basicaly

Mr.sparkle
12-29-2011, 05:29 AM
well that's cheered me up. what db can i hope for ?.not hoping to won comps just a loud an low system for the road

brodeisel
12-29-2011, 05:32 AM
Have you checked any of your grounds? That could be a huge problem on why its not loud.

disturbed471985
12-29-2011, 05:34 AM
^^^ no one can tell you what you will meter every car and install is different. Even if I had the exact same car and equipment our numbers would be different. It’s just a number man just have fun that’s why you got into this hobby in the first place I assume. No disrespect to anyone chasing numbers. If I had deep enough pockets I would prob get the itch. But if numbers is what your after then be ready to build many of boxes and be prepared to spend many of weeks testing and I mean alot of testing... Hows the weather across the pond anyways???

myjaja
12-29-2011, 05:56 AM
i have had systems in my cars now for 20 +years it is def not clipping or over heating .if anything the system dint seem to be working hard ,there is very little cone movement ,how much difference will the box size make im building a 5 ltr box as per manufactures intruc but at mo its in a 1.7 cu ft box


nvmmm, im tired.. lol

jaeguerra909
12-29-2011, 06:06 AM
lol this is pretty funny but help the poor guy out

Mr.sparkle
12-29-2011, 06:17 AM
how can one sub be out of phase ?

myjaja
12-29-2011, 06:23 AM
how can one sub be out of phase ?

lol sorry, read wrong..

So its a quad voice coil? How do you have it connected?

Mr.sparkle
12-29-2011, 02:55 PM
2 coils together ++ & -- to one side of amp measured 1 ohm and same with other side the db meter is a precision gold weighting a or c up tp 1%0 db

ahole-ic
12-29-2011, 03:05 PM
You must be super quiet then. A wet fart would max that meter out.

sacsking916
12-29-2011, 03:26 PM
lol that amp has 4 -40 amp fuses in the end ! .0 gauge and 2 gauge everywhere 2 battery holds 14 volts on the notes 127 db head unit powers line drivermono signal. 8v head unit driver and amp on have a dedicated power line high quality cable and connections throughout .... ps i am a mechanical electrical engineer .big bass is witch craft!!
:eyebrow:

You're doing it wrong.
this

what am i doing wrong ???
everything man. did you try a 50a fuse???

sacsking916
12-29-2011, 03:48 PM
2 coils together ++ & -- to one side of amp measured 1 ohm and same with other side the db meter is a precision gold weighting a or c up tp 1%0 db

http://lib1point5.files.wordpress.com/2011/11/what-me-worry-715605.jpg

slim2fattycake
12-29-2011, 03:56 PM
they must give anyone an engineering degree overseas...

kushy_dreams
12-29-2011, 03:57 PM
If he had an engineering degree I don't think he would have tried the 60a fuse or use Audiobhan equipment. Theres a reason AB went under then got revived by Pyle.

We are getting trolled.

sacsking916
12-29-2011, 04:03 PM
If he had an engineering degree I don't think he would have tried the 60a fuse or use Audiobhan equipment. Theres a reason AB went under then got revived by Pyle.

We are getting trolled.

or he is, or at least we are all having fun doing it

Mr.sparkle
12-29-2011, 04:27 PM
thought you guys might help rather than just **** take .i thought you guys were into bass ,not working on your comedy acts.i should have gone to halfords .at least they would have tried

sacsking916
12-29-2011, 04:36 PM
thought you guys might help rather than just **** take .i thought you guys were into bass ,not working on your comedy acts.i should have gone to halfords .at least they would have tried

look at your previous posts and you actually expect us to take you seriously???

wickedwitt
12-29-2011, 04:41 PM
thought you guys might help rather than just **** take .i thought you guys were into bass ,not working on your comedy acts.i should have gone to halfords .at least they would have tried

Choice of gear aside (which is why most of your replies are jokes), you can't come in here stating you have a mech. engineering degree, yet be lost as to how to hook up subs. Everyone likes different brands, that's cool. People will joke for a bit but eventually help out. Saying you've spent at least 4 years of secondary school in an engineering field, yet be unable to do something as simple as to test phase and impedance without 100% certainty? That is why no one is giving you the answers you seek.

Come here and say you know nothing and need help. You will get help. Come here and say you know more than people, but be making silly mistakes, you will get nothing.

Just sayin'

sacsking916
12-29-2011, 04:42 PM
Choice of gear aside (which is why most of your replies are jokes), you can't come in here stating you have a mech. engineering degree, yet be lost as to how to hook up subs. Everyone likes different brands, that's cool. People will joke for a bit but eventually help out. Saying you've spent at least 4 years of secondary school in an engineering field, yet be unable to do something as simple as to test phase and impedance without 100% certainty? That is why no one is giving you the answers you seek.

Come here and say you know nothing and need help. You will get help. Come here and say you know more than people, but be making silly mistakes, you will get nothing.

Just sayin'

you aint gotta lie craig, you aint got to lie

Mr.sparkle
12-29-2011, 05:16 PM
before coming on here i checked all the basics amp and sub wired correctly system earth connections amps volts ect not what i expected that's all too quiet .said in post i don't know it all .the kit i have is because it was got cheap. you will have to excuse the spelling as this is all typed on my phone .wasn't expecting insults that's all .big system s are new to me .i build killer bikes have had 6 featured in streetfighters if you have heard of that.and drag race them 7.9 on a road bike which is 35 years old not to shabby .

wickedwitt
12-29-2011, 05:26 PM
before coming on here i checked all the basics amp and sub wired correctly system earth connections amps volts ect not what i expected that's all too quiet .said in post i don't know it all .the kit i have is because it was got cheap. you will have to excuse the spelling as this is all typed on my phone .wasn't expecting insults that's all .big system s are new to me .i build killer bikes have had 6 featured in streetfighters if you have heard of that.and drag race them 7.9 on a road bike which is 35 years old not to shabby .
That is impressive, and an area I have no problem saying I have no expertise in.

I'm not mad either, I was just explaining to you the reason for the rude welcome. People on here have made it their life's work to hate on any big box manufacturer's as well, so you automatically lose respect with them just by using Audiobahn. Is it your fault, no. Is it doing to happen anyways, yes.

Mr.sparkle
12-30-2011, 03:16 AM
like i said it was too cheep to turn down :D

Mr.sparkle
12-30-2011, 11:53 AM
i think i have found the problem! ive had the sub out checking the coils and I've found that audiobahn have wired up one of the coils the wrong.g way round !!!!!!! they have the poss on the negative and the negative on the poss bless them:crap:

hispls
12-30-2011, 12:37 PM
i think i have found the problem! ive had the sub out checking the coils and I've found that audiobahn have wired up one of the coils the wrong.g way round !!!!!!! they have the poss on the negative and the negative on the poss bless them:crap:

In all seriousness you've got some fair advice mixed in with the trolling. Audiobahn is pretty much all show and no go, so have very reasonabel expectations. The sub is probably very inefficient as is the amp (which is likely quite over-rated).

If you have quad coils do you actually have ALL of them hooked up? You can verify polarity by tapping a small flashlight battery to the terminals (+ to +, - to -) and it'll pop out if your phase is correct...not much, but enough to tell if things are working.

So basically **** equipment in a trunk that's so full of steel and sound deadening that you'd have a hard time getting loud with good equipment AND you probably have the sub wired up wrong, or halfway, or a coil out of phase.

Mr.sparkle
12-30-2011, 01:47 PM
thanks I've cut 15"hole in the bulk head ,its helped a bit and cut down on panel rattle all coils wired up correctly now .will test tomorrow .

brandinooooo
12-30-2011, 02:04 PM
:clap:

sacsking916
12-30-2011, 07:11 PM
i think i have found the problem! ive had the sub out checking the coils and I've found that audiobahn have wired up one of the coils the wrong.g way round !!!!!!! they have the poss on the negative and the negative on the poss bless them:crap:

you should've checked on it before hooking it up

VWBobby
12-30-2011, 11:23 PM
You can even use a 9V battery and test the sub to make sure you have the sub in the right phase... It won't hurt anything since the sub should be seeing over 25V when playing..Just touch it to the contacts for a split second so you don't heat up the coils too much.

Mr.sparkle
01-02-2012, 03:13 PM
update sub wired correctly 2x 1 ohm load amp running 2x 1200 .new 0 gauge cable second battery yellow top .volts at amp 14.4v new 5.tr box as spec by audiobahn db is now 127 at drivers seat W T F !!!!!

Mr.sparkle
01-02-2012, 03:16 PM
test tone 37 Hz .my old eminence 10" was better

ahole-ic
01-02-2012, 03:17 PM
update sub wired correctly 2x 1 ohm load amp running 2x 1200 .new 0 gauge cable second battery yellow top .volts at amp 14.4v new 5.tr box as spec by audiobahn db is now 127 at drivers seat W T F !!!!!
Lulz. Where's that 25 amp fuse at?

sacsking916
01-02-2012, 03:46 PM
Lulz. Where's that 25 amp fuse at?

remember we bumped it up to a 50a bruh,

OmegaBunny
01-02-2012, 04:14 PM
So do you have it wired to 2ohm getting 1200w?

05trailblazer
01-02-2012, 04:30 PM
show us some vids please. . .

update sub wired correctly 2x 1 ohm load amp running 2x 1200 .new 0 gauge cable second battery yellow top .volts at amp 14.4v new 5.tr box as spec by audiobahn db is now 127 at drivers seat W T F !!!!!

Mr.sparkle
01-03-2012, 05:42 AM
So do you have it wired to 2ohm getting 1200w?
they claim 1200 w x2 @2ohms.that is what i have done

Mr.sparkle
01-03-2012, 05:44 AM
Lulz. Where's that 25 amp fuse at?
fuse kept blowing so replaced with a 6" nail problem solved!!!

OmegaBunny
01-03-2012, 07:40 AM
LOL your gonna start a fire. They were messing with you about the fuse, you would probably need at least 80a fusing. What size is the box? How well is the box sealed?

Mr.sparkle
01-03-2012, 07:46 AM
i was joking ! its a 5.tr box 18 mm mdf glued screwed silicon sealed and braced.int 6"vent 9" long

bgowdy31
01-03-2012, 08:26 AM
thought you guys might help rather than just **** take .i thought you guys were into bass ,not working on your comedy acts.i should have gone to halfords .at least they would have tried

lol this thread is funny........man id help you....but..... i dont know crap about the quad coil subs. ...HOWEVER, i do like the look and design on the imimortals.
id like to own 1 myself, just to mess with. and im not big on that amp.

bgowdy31
01-03-2012, 08:35 AM
Edit: Immortals

JeepGuy
01-03-2012, 10:47 AM
In one of your earlier posts you said it maxed out at 130 db. It sounds like you have the pyle meter and they are very inaccurate and off by at least 10 decibels.

Mr.sparkle
01-03-2012, 02:45 PM
that dum meter is saying im getting 120+ 1meter from behind the back of the car with the boot closed!!! .how many db could you loose through panel rattle ? my boot is going mad!!! getting a lot more cone movement with the new box don't seem any louder tho

bgowdy31
01-03-2012, 02:58 PM
i gota agree it sounds like a horrible mic. my friend had one he called it a "boomstick" or sum. he competes & does like 156's on a Term Lab, but could only make the "boomstick" show a 129db lmao

sacsking916
01-03-2012, 03:00 PM
bro. get a real meter.

bgowdy31
01-03-2012, 03:13 PM
i gota agree it sounds like a horrible mic. my friend had one he called it a "boomstick" or sum. he competes & does like 156's on a Term Lab, but could only make the "boomstick" show a 129db lmao

who?

bgowdy31
01-03-2012, 03:16 PM
**** how reply my own.. lmao