PDA

View Full Version : 5000w for 130$?



Foote11
12-23-2011, 02:04 PM
Amazon.com: Boss PH5000D Phantom 5000 Watt Class D Monoblock Amplifier with Remote: Car Electronics (http://www.amazon.com/PH5000D-Phantom-Monoblock-Amplifier-Remote/dp/B0032FOKX8/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top)

i was lookin around on amazon and i stumbled on this little guy... i think its way over rated or a ****** amp im buying a mofo122x and i want a nice amp to power it what yall think of this guy?? would i need to replace my alternator and get a cap for this? itll be running at 2 ohms

Mitch86
12-23-2011, 02:06 PM
No, no and no... Way overrated and not worth a penny. If it seems too good to be true, it is. :D

Kangaroux
12-23-2011, 02:06 PM
You'd be lucky if that amp put out 200w.

mylows10
12-23-2011, 02:06 PM
makes a great paper weight

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 02:10 PM
lol....

Vossy
12-23-2011, 02:14 PM
makes a great paper weight

Not if it's windy

RRR37
12-23-2011, 02:19 PM
What do the mofo's take, around 1500? Look into hifonics for a 1600 or 1700w. Should be able to find one close to that price. They are decent budget amps

ChevyRidinLow
12-23-2011, 02:41 PM
dont get this and dont get the mofo, all junk.

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 03:12 PM
dont get this and dont get the mofo, all junk.

they are ok. i dont think the mofo's are junk.

assassin1840
12-23-2011, 03:17 PM
there junk i had them for my first system years upon years ago and i blew one with a 900 watt amp and that was a so called 900 watt amp lol both p.a.

Audio4ever
12-23-2011, 03:19 PM
it cost to be the BOSS!!!!!

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 03:21 PM
hm... i had 2 15 mofos together at one time, then ran them seperate on the saz 2000d. and they did fine.
i never blew or nothing. of course they got hot after some abuse but other then that they held up. my friend bought them
and still has them.

sacsking916
12-23-2011, 04:09 PM
they are ok. i dont think the mofo's are junk.

you're also not that loud either :D :rolleyes:

bubbagumper6
12-23-2011, 04:11 PM
Nice reviews...


i've got it hooked up on two 12" 1000 W rms pioneer double coil, and this amp give the max out of the speakers. I've got to upgrade so i can maxamize on the wattage given off.

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 04:21 PM
you're also not that loud either :D :rolleyes:

im happy with my numbers. people paying grands to get loud? i just bought a sub got a box and amp & louder then alot of ppl who compete "Everyshow" in whatever org their in. im not worried about what people think about my numbers.

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 04:22 PM
and i have $700 in it. only because some stole my sundown. before i had about $475

bubbagumper6
12-23-2011, 04:23 PM
im happy with my numbers. people paying grands to get loud? i just bought a sub got a box and amp & louder then alot of ppl who compete "Everyshow" in whatever org their in. im not worried about what people think about my numbers.

lol, don't get butthurt now, I'm sure he was just screwing with you...

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 04:24 PM
and im not trying to be a smart a*s toward any competitor with that statement.

bgowdy31
12-23-2011, 04:25 PM
thats why i said i wasnt being a ***... lol i was just saying

CAT MAN
12-23-2011, 04:59 PM
dont get this and dont get the mofo, all junk.

mofo 15s are ok for the price. but i would get an sa 15 instead.

xmakeafistx
12-23-2011, 05:07 PM
trollface.jpg

Bettr n' Revrse
12-23-2011, 05:54 PM
Wrong section as well!

myjaja
12-23-2011, 07:55 PM
"I do recommend this amplifier you won't be disappointed. I also recommend if you are thinking about buying this amplifier to upgrade your electrical system although this is a monoblock and is able to work @ 1 OHM you need to have the right amount of consistent amps charging your system along with keeping a consistent voltage. I recommend you upgrade you alternator to a high output the highest you can find for your car, also optima battery yellow top designed for loud music and extra accessories on your vehicle and use 0 gauge wire for positives and grounds as it can allow up to 350 amp of current flow."

LOOOOL read the comments, theyll keep you entertained.

nu2spl
12-23-2011, 08:12 PM
What do the mofo's take, around 1500? Look into hifonics for a 1600 or 1700w. Should be able to find one close to that price. They are decent budget amps

mofo take 1500?? no they dont,my buddy blew his on my AB 150.1 @1 ohm which is no were near 1500 per sub,they are trash,completely.

Wattser93
12-23-2011, 08:40 PM
No funky pup jokes yet?

martin8
12-23-2011, 08:46 PM
am i the only one that sees this for 165.76 not 130? lol

mylows10
12-23-2011, 08:56 PM
What do the mofo's take, around 1500? Look into hifonics for a 1600 or 1700w. Should be able to find one close to that price. They are decent budget amps

if i had those mofo's the only thing they would take ,is a trip to the trash can

J31Rob
12-23-2011, 09:07 PM
am i the only one that sees this for 165.76 not 130? lol

I don't think anyone looked after Boss was mentioned.

myjaja
12-23-2011, 09:13 PM
if i had those mofo's the only thing they would take ,is a trip to the trash can

thats a waste, id put up against the outlet

martin8
12-23-2011, 09:30 PM
i also think my deck puts out more power than that amp lol jk

myjaja
12-23-2011, 09:44 PM
i also think my deck puts out more power than that amp lol jk

your deck probably puts more than your power acoustik amp as well. lmao kidding

joshy629
12-23-2011, 10:11 PM
wrong forum bro

Skip01
12-23-2011, 10:27 PM
RMS power output: 1800 watts x 1 chan

On another site, prolly would do a solid 1200-1500

globalminds_ent
12-23-2011, 11:45 PM
mofos are loud but don't hit deep buy a skar vvx and obsidian 12d2 a brand x XFL 12 or a lanzar opti1232 same price but these get loud like the mofo 12 and hit 10x deeper and just have better sq all around for an amp go with a hifonics brz line u can get for around that 130 mark

globalminds_ent
12-23-2011, 11:48 PM
your deck probably puts more than your power acoustik amp as well. lmao kidding
Pa amps get loud lets not get to over dramatic with the pa dissing

n8skow
12-24-2011, 12:35 AM
It has 4-gauge inputs, and 80 amps of fusing... I'd expect around 1200 watts RMS
Being Boss though, expect that to be at like 5% THD...



RMS power output: 1800 watts x 1 chan

On another site, prolly would do a solid 1200-1500

Germ305
12-24-2011, 12:55 AM
I'd sh*t my pants if I came across a true 5k rms @ $130.

nu2spl
12-24-2011, 01:07 AM
It has 4-gauge inputs, and 80 amps of fusing... I'd expect around 1200 watts RMS
Being Boss though, expect that to be at like 5% THD...

umm ok but if you calculate it out at 10 amps of fusing for every 100 watts of power then 80 amps is only 800 watts,so where are you getting 1200 watts from?

serjr711.
12-24-2011, 01:36 AM
My Mofo's get loud and deep. All who are bashing probably never owned any. They are decent for the price. As with any sub its all about clean power and the ENCLOSURE. I'm powering 2 12 in Mofo's on a DAT 2500.1 and they're taking it with ease. Now Boss is a different story.(JUNK)

CAT MAN
12-24-2011, 01:37 AM
my mofo's get loud and deep. All who are bashing probably never owned any.as with any sub its all about clean power and the enclosure. I'm powering 2 12 in mofo's on a dat 2500.1 and they're taking it with ease. Now boss is a different story.(junk)

amen

n8skow
12-24-2011, 12:54 PM
My initial guesstimate was actually a bit too high after doing the math, but where are you getting 10 amps from every 100 watts of power??

V (voltage) x I (current in Amps) = P (Power in Watts)
So with the engine running, we'll say 14.4 volts of input power, and we're limited to 80 amps of current (continuous).
14.4 x 80 = 1152. This however assumes 100% efficiency, which is impossible. Boss doesn't list the efficiency of the amp, so I'm just assuming the typical Class D efficiency of 80%
So take 1152 x .8 = 921.6 watts




umm ok but if you calculate it out at 10 amps of fusing for every 100 watts of power then 80 amps is only 800 watts,so where are you getting 1200 watts from?

Infaredsinsor
12-24-2011, 01:17 PM
Pure garbage!!

n8skow
12-24-2011, 01:19 PM
*update - looking through the photos on SonicElectronix, it actually has 4-40 amp fuses... Thanks Sonic... thanks...(lol, the specs only list 2)...
(Boss PH5000D 5000W Max Class D Monoblock Power Amplifier (http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_23655_Boss-PH5000D.html?gclid=CLqksamkm60CFQ3DtgodDDH8mA))

Soooooo
14.4 x 160 = 2304 watts
calculate for 80% efficiency
2304 x .8 = 1843 watts with engine running

nu2spl
12-24-2011, 01:25 PM
My initial guesstimate was actually a bit too high after doing the math, but where are you getting 10 amps from every 100 watts of power??

V (voltage) x I (current in Amps) = P (Power in Watts)
So with the engine running, we'll say 14.4 volts of input power, and we're limited to 80 amps of current (continuous).
14.4 x 80 = 1152. This however assumes 100% efficiency, which is impossible. Boss doesn't list the efficiency of the amp, so I'm just assuming the typical Class D efficiency of 80%
So take 1152 x .8 = 921.6 watts

ok but there is a much more accurate way to measure power which i learned from a 30 year car audio veteran

V(ac)/A(ac)= IMP then V(ac) squared/IMP=POWER(WATTS) that is a much more accurate measurement

NoLoud4U
12-24-2011, 01:30 PM
You guys are forgeting one very important factor in your formula.. Its BOSS

n8skow
12-24-2011, 01:32 PM
Well, pure garbage marketing anyway...
Without having the amp to actually clamp and test, this discussion is purely academic...
Just saying, the fusing is going to effectively limit how much real-world power this thing will do.

Looking at Boss's numbers though:


5000W Max x 1 @ 1 Ohm
3500W Max x 1 @ 2 Ohms
1800W RMS x 1 @ 4 Ohms

I believe they are either running 18 volts to get the '5000 watts peak @ 1-ohm', or a combination of other tricks like a modified square signal input, or 20,000Hz test tone - something you'll never see in actual use.


Pure garbage!!

n8skow
12-24-2011, 01:44 PM
I can foresee a little discrepancy in calculating the AC output side of the amp from the DC input... but the formula you've listed is just another way to arrive at the 'calculated' number - (depending on what measurements you have available)... and there are many useable formulas in Ohm's law.
Ohm's Law Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/ohm/ohmslawcalculators.asp#13)

Without having hard data (voltage and amperage outputs from the amp) we can't use your formula in this instance (till someone can provide some actual numbers)... but it's also flawed to a degree in that it assumes a static impedance, whereas the impedance across a subwoofer is going to be reactive and change as the coil(s) heat and cool.

Either of these formulas will get us in the same ballpark.
:cool:


ok but there is a much more accurate way to measure power which i learned from a 30 year car audio veteran

V(ac)/A(ac)= IMP then V(ac) squared/IMP=POWER(WATTS) that is a much more accurate measurement

nu2spl
12-24-2011, 02:00 PM
I can foresee a little discrepancy in calculating the AC output side of the amp from the DC input... but the formula you've listed is just another way to arrive at the 'calculated' number - (depending on what measurements you have available)... and there are many useable formulas in Ohm's law.
Ohm's Law Calculators (http://www.the12volt.com/ohm/ohmslawcalculators.asp#13)

Without having hard data (voltage and amperage outputs from the amp) we can't use your formula in this instance (till someone can provide some actual numbers)... but it's also flawed to a degree in that it assumes a static impedance, whereas the impedance across a subwoofer is going to be reactive and change as the coil(s) heat and cool.

Either of these formulas will get us in the same ballpark.
:cool:

well the imp is at the imp rise,one frequency test tone.so its not flawed,its just not a formula you can use playing music

9515ROB
12-24-2011, 02:03 PM
it will do 1600rms

n8skow
12-24-2011, 02:13 PM
Okay, but do you take the impedance at the first second of the tone? 3rd second? 5th second? See what I'm getting at?
The impedance will differ at all 3...

The formula(s) assume a perfect world, but we're talking about measuring imperfect human constructions. Again, either of the formulas being discussed should arrive in the same ball-park, but claiming one calculation being more accurate than the other is pretty relative, their both a piece of the same whole...

26529460


well the imp is at the imp rise,one frequency test tone.so its not flawed,its just not a formula you can use playing music

nu2spl
12-24-2011, 03:02 PM
Okay, but do you take the impedance at the first second of the tone? 3rd second? 5th second? See what I'm getting at?
The impedance will differ at all 3...

The formula(s) assume a perfect world, but we're talking about measuring imperfect human constructions. Again, either of the formulas being discussed should arrive in the same ball-park, but claiming one calculation being more accurate than the other is pretty relative, their both a piece of the same whole...

26529460

you are making this way more difficult than it needs to be because,yes its all a calculation and yes it a piece of the whole,but if you have done this out put test there is a point where the imp rise stops rising,it does level off and yes again its all an imperfect test because the longer you play a given tone your voltage and amperage is dropping.i use the third second because the TermLab needs 2-4 seconds for an accurate reading but i know people that use the 2nd second,its all inaccurate though if you think about it.

---------- Post added at 03:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:02 PM ----------


it will do 1600rms

ok yes 1600 junk watts form a junk amp.

n8skow
12-24-2011, 03:55 PM
Was just pointing out you can't really claim one method is more accurate than the other - with the variables involved.
Kinda moot point if we don't have the numbers to plug into the formula you shared anyways...





you are making this way more difficult than it needs to be because,yes its all a calculation and yes it a piece of the whole,but if you have done this out put test there is a point where the imp rise stops rising,it does level off and yes again its all an imperfect test because the longer you play a given tone your voltage and amperage is dropping.i use the third second because the TermLab needs 2-4 seconds for an accurate reading but i know people that use the 2nd second,its all inaccurate though if you think about it.

---------- Post added at 03:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:02 PM ----------



ok yes 1600 junk watts form a junk amp.

thevic24
12-24-2011, 07:12 PM
it will do 1600rms
for about 6 seconds......


and then.....















































































http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t82/thevic24/grable.jpg
boom!

CerwinVega_Fan
12-24-2011, 08:01 PM
power acoustik mofo 15 - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P9qMOs2igmw)

CAT MAN
12-24-2011, 08:02 PM
90% install 10% equipment

kreapin
12-24-2011, 08:40 PM
Hard to believe a boss amp got 4 pages in 1 day.

A few years ago a customer came with a boss amp, we opened it to take peak at the internals......... 3/4 of the amp was empty space.

Wattser93
12-24-2011, 08:44 PM
I believe they are either running 18 volts to get the '5000 watts peak @ 1-ohm', or a combination of other tricks like a modified square signal input, or 20,000Hz test tone - something you'll never see in actual use.

I think they're pulling it out of their a$$.

We don't need to justify their measurements, it's pure hogwash. They could label that thing as 20K RMS if they wanted to, and some kid would buy it and slap it in their prefab box with 2 Dual subs and some flashing lights, and brag about his 20K watt amp making his system the "loudest on the block". Boss products are aimed at the guy looking to rattle his trunk, even if it sounds like sloppy a$$. They aren't aimed to please hobbyists like us that have knowledge, their inflated numbers are there to take advantage of impulse buyers.

The reality is that that amp wouldn't put out 5K RMS if it was hit by lightning.

kreapin
12-24-2011, 08:49 PM
/\ /\ /\ hit by lightning...lol /\ /\ /\

Blaza33
12-25-2011, 10:13 AM
hey i know someone getting 170db with one of those amps and 2 kicker comp 15s... i meet him on craigslist

bgowdy31
12-25-2011, 10:20 AM
hey i know someone getting 170db with one of those amps and 2 kicker comp 15s... i meet him on craigslist

lol.... seriously????

J31Rob
12-25-2011, 10:25 AM
Don't listen to these weetodds. Buy that amp. 5000w PEAK?! For $130?!?! Bro. Seriously, these guys are misleading you.

---------- Post added at 10:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:24 AM ----------


hey i know someone getting 170db with one of those amps and 2 kicker comp 15s... i meet him on craigslist

Yeah mane. Tell 'em how I does!

9515ROB
12-25-2011, 10:32 AM
I love how everyone is making this more harder than what it is. Its the same for every fused amp even if the stats are BS then look at the fusing if there are at them up and Times them by 10.

If you would acutal look at the specs for this amp it really aint over rated but yall and to big of dumb assesss and are hooked on the MAX. We all should know it doesnt matter what the hell the max rms is. Anyone one can put on there amp that it does 10,000 billawatts or something stupid like that

Here are the specs how about yall take a close look its rated at 1800rms

RMS Power @ 4 ohms 1800 watts x 1 channel
RMS Power @ 2 ohms Not Specified
RMS Power @ 1 ohm Not Stable
Peak Power Output 5000 watts x 1 channel

The amp is also 2 amps strapped that is the reason why it has 2 power inputs and is not stable at 1 and 2 ohm. So now that yall feel like a bunch of Dumb Fu(ks because yall dont have any idea what you are talking about yall can shut the fu(k up

bgowdy31
12-25-2011, 10:47 AM
Don't listen to these weetodds. Buy that amp. 5000w PEAK?! For $130?!?! Bro. Seriously, these guys are misleading you.

---------- Post added at 10:25 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:24 AM ----------



Yeah mane. Tell 'em how I does!


are you doing the 170?

sacsking916
12-25-2011, 11:35 AM
lol.... seriously????
:wow:

are you doing the 170?

You are too gullible.


How has this thread not been closed and deleted yet

9515ROB
12-25-2011, 11:36 AM
it should be now. They should delete all post but the last one i did and leave it to that