PDA

View Full Version : Bi Wiring?

Tom2000GMG
12-22-2011, 02:53 PM
Im getting the Boston Acoustics SR 50 component set and the description says that they can be bi wired, can someone tell me what exactly that means?

bigblacksnake
12-22-2011, 03:07 PM
separate midbass, and tweeter amp on the crossover.

Tom2000GMG
12-22-2011, 07:26 PM
what are the benefits and do i need 4 channels instead of 2

Nut Hair Trick
12-22-2011, 07:44 PM
Yes, you either need a 4 channel amp, or 2x 2channels. The benefits are that you can adjust the gains for the mids or tweeters separately.It also allows for more headroom. I will be doing this very soon with 2x 2channel amps

Tom2000GMG
12-22-2011, 09:57 PM
sorry im a freakin newbie at this whats headroom and i also have a question about the high pass filter on my amp i have a rockford fogate t400 4 and the sr 50s comin in the mail but anyways how do i use the high pass filter

duanebro
12-22-2011, 09:58 PM
you can use a smaller amp on the tweeter also. That can save some $.

audiobaun
12-22-2011, 11:42 PM
You can run that amp in stereo mode along with a mono load..2ch at stereo, and 2ch bridged at a mono/bridged mode, thus making it a 3ch amp/Bi amp

Why So Cereal?
12-23-2011, 10:01 AM
sorry im a freakin newbie at this whats headroom and i also have a question about the high pass filter on my amp i have a rockford fogate t400 4 and the sr 50s comin in the mail but anyways how do i use the high pass filter

when ppl say headroom, they usually mean having more power than you actually need, thus reducing distortion.