PDA

View Full Version : Where to get 6" aero port?



ThatChevyGuy
12-22-2011, 12:48 AM
Is there anywhere that sell 6" aero ports cheaper than PE with the tube? Thanks

pro-rabbit
12-22-2011, 12:52 AM
partsexpress.com

ThatChevyGuy
12-22-2011, 12:57 AM
PE=parts express...
I've decided to go with 2 4" instead, I can live with that price.

ThatChevyGuy
12-22-2011, 01:01 AM
Okay one more question, Im new to aero ports. Say i have an enclosure with two 4" ports and i use 8" as my port diameter, and my total port length needs to be 30", i would make each 4" port 15" correct? (dum dum)

tommyk90
12-22-2011, 01:04 AM
Okay one more question, Im new to aero ports. Say i have an enclosure with two 4" ports and i use 8" as my port diameter, and my total port length needs to be 30", i would make each 4" port 15" correct? (dum dum)

Whats your box specs.

No, using 8" in your measurements instead of 2 4's will not yield the same numbers.

2 4's is 25.12 square inches of port area

1 8" is 50.24 square inches of port area.

That will totally change what the calculated length would be.

thehardknoxlife
12-22-2011, 01:12 AM
Okay one more question, Im new to aero ports. Say i have an enclosure with two 4" ports and i use 8" as my port diameter, and my total port length needs to be 30", i would make each 4" port 15" correct? (dum dum)
Huh? What are you using to determine port length? If your using 8" as your diameter then your results will be skewed using 4" ports. two 4" ports doesn't equal one 8". In fact one 8" aero is double the area of two 4"....Futhermore, usually the online calculators are for each port. If the results were correct, it would be for each port.

robertoyoung08
12-22-2011, 01:26 AM
i just dropped 50 on a 6" aero last week. sooo ******. i couldnt find it any cheaper than parts express either. 4 inch aeros are reasonably priced. the 6 inch are just ridiculous. lucky you, that you can just change to fours. =(

ThatChevyGuy
12-22-2011, 08:59 PM
Oh, i didnt know this.

Boomsday
12-31-2011, 07:15 PM
Make your own :fyi:

Mr.sparkle
01-01-2012, 07:35 PM
can any body answer me a question ? a box i have built recommends a 6" port 9"long .my question is does the port have to be all inside the the box .?if not will it affect the tuned freq ? any help thanks

mylows10
01-01-2012, 07:39 PM
no it doesn't and yes it will change the freq,because now the box internally is larger

Mr.sparkle
01-01-2012, 07:53 PM
ok thanks often wondered

USAFbro
01-01-2012, 07:58 PM
Go to lowes or homedepot, buy big tube of 6" pvc for like 17$ then cut down to size , get heat gun and form flares with some type of circular bowl. like this - How To Make Home Made DIY Flared Aero Ports Out Of PVC - YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzdnlBkG2mI)