PDA

View Full Version : Size of Aero port?



agarabaghi
12-07-2011, 02:34 PM
So Im pretty sure my internal vol of my box is ~1.3ft^3 after sub displacement.

According to the PSP-Inc.com tool I can run a 3" diameter, 15" long aero port to achieve a 30hz tuning.

This is for a 10" SA10, is this going to be too small of an aero port. I accidentally order the 3" version instead of the 4, and I dont feel like breaking my other box to reuse the port in there.

Advice?

Sneakysh13
12-07-2011, 02:39 PM
Whats the amount of power you plan on using?

agarabaghi
12-07-2011, 02:40 PM
running an apsm1300 @ 1 ohm ... so ~1000watts... probably slightly less as i don't think that amp does True True rated

kushy_dreams
12-07-2011, 04:47 PM
you will probably experience some port noise at high volumes. Make sure you seal up the hole where the port mounts, don't just secure it with 4 screws.

SMS
12-07-2011, 06:23 PM
you will probably experience some port noise at high volumes. Make sure you seal up the hole where the port mounts, don't just secure it with 4 screws.

How did you come up with this, not doubting you just courious.

agarabaghi
12-07-2011, 09:39 PM
Yea, i had a similar box slightly bigger with a 4" port and there was not much port noise if any. i keep forgetting to tell people that this is going in a boat so there is a lot of open air, therefor im not worried about port noise so much ...

im just afraid of damaging the sa10 in such a big sealed box.

Ive heard that 3" size ports on a lot of power will cause noise because of hte air pressure...

hispls
12-07-2011, 09:51 PM
The problem with too small a port beyond noise is that port will eventually fail to control the cone... I suspect 3" aero is borderline adequate.

agarabaghi
12-07-2011, 10:01 PM
hmm im not familiar enough with aero ports or ports in general to know what that means. I would suspect that it should be better than running the sa10 on 1000wrms in 1.3ft^3 sealed box