PDA

View Full Version : To port or not to port...



agarabaghi
12-06-2011, 12:13 PM
So i finished my box, but the port had not arrived yet so i left it sealed. Im running an SA10 on ~1000watts from an Audiopipe APSM1300.

Im very impressed with how it sounds. I had a similar box in the same setup for an SXX, but I believe the box was too small for the SXX. The SXX sounded great also, but the SA10 seems to be tighter and punchier, not sure which is louder.

The box looks like this, and you can see where the aero port would go.

http://img708.imageshack.us/img708/9246/imagevmgp.jpg

The interior volume of the box is: 1.39 ft^3 before displacement of the sub...
This would yield approx: ~1.27ft^3 after speaker displacement.

Im not sure how much displacement a 17" long 4" wide aero port will displace, but according to the calculator on psp-inc
17" long flared port would give me about 37.5hz tuning.

Is that tuned a little too high? Should i just keep it in the sealed box?

Dr. Slam
12-06-2011, 01:02 PM
If you like how it sounds why not leave it as it is? It isn't gonna stay as tight and punchy once you go ported

agarabaghi
12-06-2011, 01:04 PM
Am i risking any damage to the speaker in such a big sealed box? I think the recommended sealed size is like .7 ft^3

Dr. Slam
12-06-2011, 01:14 PM
I doubt you'll damage that sub. You should be ok

pro-rabbit
12-06-2011, 01:14 PM
That enclosure is to large to go sealed. If you want adjust sound do it with the port. Make it longer to lower tuning and see where that takes you.

agarabaghi
12-06-2011, 01:38 PM
SO i will potentially damage the sub? It seems to be playing fine, and it not over extending it's self at all.

Where do i get longer ports? I would need something like 20" flared port to get it around 35hz. Can i get a longer middle section?

pro-rabbit
12-06-2011, 01:39 PM
SO i will potentially damage the sub? It seems to be playing fine, and it not over extending it's self at all.

Where do i get longer ports? I would need something like 20" flared port to get it around 35hz. Can i get a longer middle section?

Yea, if you look around you can find 6ft long sections that you can cut down.

agarabaghi
12-06-2011, 01:48 PM
and hint as to where?

Oh, check our your box plans modifited... I put basically a \_/ top and front to get closer to the sides and then ill carpet.

http://img577.imageshack.us/img577/6249/imagenwh.jpg

http://img851.imageshack.us/img851/3190/imageaxep.jpg

pro-rabbit
12-06-2011, 01:51 PM
Looks much better. Sorry I didn't get back to your PM the other day. I was out of town for a bit and as always I get far to many PMs lol.

As for the port, let me see if I can track them down for you.

agarabaghi
12-06-2011, 02:00 PM
No worries. It confused me for a while, but this time i built the box with the boat next to us so we could do some test fits. Let me know if you find any ...

chapdawg1971
12-06-2011, 02:40 PM
Look up Derrick824, he makes them and they are nice. He's on another forum.

agarabaghi
12-06-2011, 03:00 PM
what forums/ is derrick824 his user name here?

agarabaghi
12-09-2011, 09:16 AM
I went with 3" x 15" aero port, which puts my tuning a hair over 30hz. Holy crap is it louder. It his some of the notes that the sa10 in the small sealed box can't duplicate.

Songs like Put On make everything from my chest to my boat tower rattle. Very please with the results!