PDA

View Full Version : Pioneer AVIC-Z120BT



gmctrucks
12-05-2011, 03:38 PM
Pioneer AVIC-Z120BT
My brother install this HU in his car and he's having problems with it the GPS isn't as good as his small Garmin he has the screen says he's there and it's off meaning the location isn't working correct.

I did some searching on the internet and many of people say one just has to live with it.

KyleBechtold
12-05-2011, 03:42 PM
mine works fine just saying

06goat
12-25-2011, 09:53 PM
Same here mine worked great when I was using it. Maybe his GPS receiver/antenna(The little black box with a wire that connects to the HU) Is too close to the HU or is getting a bad signal somehow. Its best to put them outside the vehicle >2ft from the HU

West
01-14-2012, 01:07 AM
Try a Firmware update..
AVIC-Z120BT - Flagship In-Dash Navigation AV Receiver with DVD Playback, Built-In Bluetooth and 7" Widescreen Display | Pioneer Electronics USA (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/GPS-Navigation/AVIC-Z120BT)

Definately contact Pioneer support and they may be able to find another solution if the firmware update doen't fix it.

My thinking about the GPS built in head units is this. A tomtom XXL 5in is 78$ with lifetime maps. It is going to cost about tripple that to have it built into your head unit (and sometimes doubles the cost of the head unit vs. one without nav), and it can be difficult to find map upgrades. I am about to return a Pioneer AVIS-930BT because it costs >125$ to get just the nav installed, map upgrade services are scarse, and the RCA outputs are only 2V for a head unit thats over 650$... On the other hand having GPS in the dash is very bad ***, so I can totally understand the appeal.

The experts tell me that the low voltage output probably won't decrease the sound quality, but it still makes me angry that Pioneer likes to skimp on units with nav. Although the Z series has nice 4 v RCA's. :nerd:

Best of luck either way

West
01-15-2012, 10:34 PM
Its because you do not have the unit wired propery... You need to connect the Car Speed Signal Input and Reverse Gear Signal Inputs... I have a thread out on how to do this on older cars, no one has answered yet... I heard some chatter about using the break lights somehow on other forums. Wiring, Electrical and Installation Help (http://www.caraudio.com/forums/wiring-electrical-installation-help/)

West
01-15-2012, 10:48 PM
The solution that Pioneer left out of your installation manual... AND mine... is below
Pioneer is a bunch of A-holes... lol

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/Manuals/Navigation/AVIC-F700BT_InstallationManual0520.pdf

See Pages 12-13

The rear set-up is easily doable... but the speed sensor looks difficult.

West
01-19-2012, 02:59 AM
Well if you have a toyota camry (1999)... here is the solution
http://www.caraudio.com/forums/wiring-electrical-installation-help/532941-avic-x930bt-car-speed-inputs-reverse-gear-inputs-99-camry.html