PDA

View Full Version : Box bolts? And other questions



regizzle
12-02-2011, 08:34 PM
K i wanted to wire my speaker to the box and mark what is pos what is neg using steel bolts i suppose?

So it would be 4 8 gauge wires one per terminal that goes to the box and i can quick wire it to either 2 or .5 ohm via the outside of the box.

Does any1 suggest against this concept?

and how do i do it properly? i was thinking bolt +washer + ring terminal +washer + the wood of box + washer + ring terminal +washer + nut.

Is that the proper way to do it, or would there be interference from the wood? >_< CONFUSION!

side note, currently got my 250 amp alternator from mechman last night, installing it today. should i fuse the line? and i should use a 250 amp fuse if i do right? and does the anl fuse box have to be waterproof? Its a 1996 chevy tahoe so the alternator isnt close to the ground so i dont really think theres a chance it'll get wet but yea...

Also, my altertnator has a ground post on it, Where should i put the ground? Same place i have my engine block to frame ground? (already have big 3.)
Reply With Quote

Kangaroux
12-02-2011, 08:51 PM
For the box you should be fine. If you really want to you can put a thin rubber washer up against the wood, but that will only do so much considering the bolt that is in contact with the wood on the threading will be in contact with it. I would suggest using wing nuts on the end just to make it easier to rewire stuff on the fly.

I wouldn't bother fusing the alt. If the connection is tight you shouldn't run into any issues. You should be concerned with the alt randomly putting out a ton of voltage rather than spikes in current.

You can keep your current engine block ground. Grounding to the alt isn't necessary, though it will reduce the resistance of your ground.

bubbagumper6
12-02-2011, 09:13 PM
I would only use ring terminals on the inside of the box. On the outside use these:

http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y292/bubbagumper6/terminalidea.jpg

I found some at my local Menards in the electrical section, they will make your life a lot easier.

regizzle
12-02-2011, 09:30 PM
Those are ******* sick...

and spiking voltage? explain.
and do you suggest grounding the alt? i have extra 0 laying around.

chapdawg1971
12-06-2011, 01:43 PM
I ground my alt. The more the better.

Bggd_GMC
12-06-2011, 01:57 PM
sorry to hijack dont want to make another thread for 1 question...... NOW i have dual 4ohms can i only use 2 bolts insted of 4? like have both subs connected inside the box... i have no reason to be switching ohms

mylows10
12-06-2011, 02:06 PM
yes you can only use 2 bolts ,just connect the + to the same bolt inside and the - to same bolt inside

KyleBechtold
12-06-2011, 02:13 PM
if you want quick disconnects sure.. if its going to be permanent or long term straight to the amp is always fine.. I think it has been shown that if you take the runs to the amp its more efficient..

Bggd_GMC
12-06-2011, 02:13 PM
swwwweeeeeeeeeeeet thanks OR is it better just to drill holes

Bggd_GMC
12-06-2011, 02:15 PM
gotcha coach

KyleBechtold
12-06-2011, 02:16 PM
I always drill holes and do direct connects.. I don't move my box though until it comes out for good.. when you do this make sure you seal the holes up well

Bggd_GMC
12-06-2011, 02:18 PM
sure will..... liquid nails and fiberglasse over...... should seal it up

ahole-ic
12-06-2011, 02:25 PM
I've never liked hoping the current will travel down threads. It's simply not a very good connection. I know a lot of people like ease of hookup/looks vs performance, but it's just not a good connection.

MECHMAN
12-06-2011, 03:29 PM
For the box you should be fine. If you really want to you can put a thin rubber washer up against the wood, but that will only do so much considering the bolt that is in contact with the wood on the threading will be in contact with it. I would suggest using wing nuts on the end just to make it easier to rewire stuff on the fly.

I wouldn't bother fusing the alt. If the connection is tight you shouldn't run into any issues. You should be concerned with the alt randomly putting out a ton of voltage rather than spikes in current.

You can keep your current engine block ground. Grounding to the alt isn't necessary, though it will reduce the resistance of your ground.

Incorrect. The additional ground is necessary with our units. Improper grounding will cause internal damage in the alternator and will be visible upon inspection if returned for warranty service. Failure to use the ground as instructed could void the warranty.

r1banshee
12-06-2011, 03:43 PM
Incorrect. The additional ground is necessary with our units. Improper grounding will cause internal damage in the alternator and will be visible upon inspection if returned for warranty service. Failure to use the ground as instructed could void the warranty.


Any special way of grounding the Alt.?

MECHMAN
12-06-2011, 04:43 PM
Any special way of grounding the Alt.?

On our units where ground studs are provided it is to be grounded directly to the primary battery from that stud. If there is no stud it is to be grounded from one of the mounting bolts directly to the battery.