PDA

View Full Version : Ported Sub Box Assistance



dross93ranger
11-27-2011, 09:02 PM
I have a prefab ported Best Buy box...it is loud, but really does not move air at all. I was going to build my own box, but found a local guy on ebay who makes boxes. Will his box make a noticeable difference in sound?

Also I am running an SAX-1200D amp and 2 12" SWR-1243D subs and this is a daily system. What should I get him to cut the tubes to? And what would that tune the box to? I am new to box building and that confuses me.

I do not want to build my own box, been there, done that and it turned out fine (sealed box), but I want to buy one so please don't suggest that.

Here is my current box:

Fierce Audio XED 12" inch in Dual 2 Ported Subwoofer Enclosure PS212.1 Black | eBay (http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=3&campid=5336533469&toolid=10001&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dl l%3FViewItem%26item%3D270849279282%26hlp%3Dfalse%2 3ht_2288wt_956)

And the one I can buy local:

Ported / Vented (Flush Mount) Sub Box Enclosure for 2 Alpine Type R 12s | eBay (http://rover.ebay.com/rover/1/711-53200-19255-0/1?type=3&campid=5336533469&toolid=10001&mpre=http%3A%2F%2Fcgi.ebay.com%2Fws%2FeBayISAPI.dl l%3FViewItem%26item%3D320785670044%26category%3D50 568%26_trksid%3Dp5197.c0.m619%23ht_3467wt_1189)

Fiendstolemyamp
11-27-2011, 09:13 PM
Pretty sure Pro-Rabbit (DC Creations) is going to have a cyber monday sale tomorrow. You could probably get a much nicer box for about the same price.

dross93ranger
11-27-2011, 09:16 PM
Thanks I will check into that, the box I linked looked to be built very well, but I'm guessing it isn't great? It is about the perfect dimensions for my van.

Buck
11-27-2011, 09:38 PM
You need a box with 4-4.5 cubes tuned anywhere from 30-34 hz. If aeros, you need appr. 2 4" or 1 6". If you get stuck I can design you one if you want to build it.

pro-rabbit
11-27-2011, 09:44 PM
Yep that is what I was going to say. I can work with you a price if you want to look at one being built. Just PM me and we can discuss some options for you.

dross93ranger
11-27-2011, 09:46 PM
Why so big? According to the specs for the sub it says I can use 1-2 cubic feet per sub so 3 should be fine? I am not building a competition system, just something to enjoy. Everyone on here says that the box makes a world of difference and that box is much higher quality then anything I could build (with wood atleast).

Buck
11-27-2011, 09:48 PM
Trust me, yo. Done 1 or 2 type r boxes :fyi:

dross93ranger
11-27-2011, 09:51 PM
PMing both of you to see my options I need to keep costs down as much as I can due to having a newborn in the house.